We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and enjoyable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pension Haydn Munich

Hotel Pension Haydn Munich
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Pension Haydn Munich to your Saves list
Hotel Pension Haydn Munich
Haydnstr 9, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 61 Munich B&B and Inns
Redwood City, California
Top Contributor
178 reviews 178 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Clean and enjoyable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011 via mobile

My family and I stayed here for two nights. We arrived in the AM so our room was not yet ready. We were able to drop off our luggage and enjoy the city, returning later to check-in. We arrived via train and this was an easy, convenient walk from the station. Our room was neat, clean and the location was quiet. Our breakfast was traditional with fresh brotchen, meats and cheeses.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    29
    22
    7
    4
See reviews for
12
21
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We booked this accommodation via hostelbookers ignoring previous reviews which stated it was terrible! We arrived at the accommodation after an 8 hour train trip exhausted! Nobody was at the hostel and when we rang the number provided we were told to find other accommodation at a hotel suggested by the owner.
We stayed at this hotel for the duration of our trip paying 50% more than the original booking.
Seeing as though we didn't even STAY in the hostel we decided to go and ask for our hefty deposit back or to see if we could get the difference in accommodation fees (which was promised during the initial phone call), we were told this was impossible and that our room had been given away to a young family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2011

Everyone knows that Munich is not a cheap place. That's why we decided to stay in this B&B and save some money to spend on a night in the Bavarian State Opera. It was really worth. The walk home after the performance was very pleasant. The hotel is located in a quiet vicinity, though you can clearly hear what the neighbours nextdoor are talking about... This was the only disadvantage. The breakfast was tasty and rich. Very nice family that runs the business is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2010

Overall this place is fine and the breakfast is definitely the best part! you can eat enough to last you until the evening if you want to.

We did have a couple of problems though. Firstly due to the snow in the UK our flight was delayed for 3 hours-I had already previously let them know this but when we arrived we had to wake them up to let us in. At one point we were worried we would be left stranded. The owner did not seem too happy about this and just threw some keys at us which ended up being the wrong room type as we had booked a private bathroom.

The rooms themselves were very clean and the beds were comfortable though it was very cold even with the radiator on full and we had to sleep in hats and gloves!

Location wise it is great-a couple of stops from the Marienplatz on the metro and I guess you could walk in about 25 mins if the weather was good.

For the price it cant be faulted!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2010

The hotel is located a bit further from the centre of the city, but it is not a problem to get there by foot. It took us about 20-25 minutes. To be honest it was the cheapest option in the city, not in the neighberhouds. But we were surprised - becuse stuff was really great. Even at 5.00 in the morning we had very good breakfast. The room was clean and quite comfortable. I reccomend you to go there.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

WE found the Pension Hyden to be very confortable and quiet. We had a room with a bathroom and the room itself was very large by European Standards. the Breakfast was massive and very nice. Owners were very helpful. Only 2 train stops from Marienplatz. Supermarket, Internet Cafe, Restuarants all a few minute walk from Hotel - as well as Oktoberfest Venue. In a lovely are of Munich. It was helpful having read other reviews to know that you enter from the rear of the building. Free parking also available.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2010

Hotels are expensive in Munich, so we were looking for hostels/pension houses. Pension Haydn turned out to be pretty ok and reasonable for the price. It's only a 15 walk to the city center(Marienplatz) and main train station. Room was fairly clean with new modern bathrooms.

Downside was we got a room facing the entrance staircase (so we had to draw the curtains for privacy) and my husband occasionally complained off a funny smell as we entered the room (which I think is from the new carpets being laid). Would recommend this pension.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pension Haydn Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pension Haydn Munich

Address: Haydnstr 9, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Pension Haydn Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pension Haydn Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.