We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cezanne

Le Cezanne
Konradstrasse 1, 80801 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 39 18 05
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #856 of 2,920 Restaurants in Munich
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I can not believe there are not more reviews for this amazing restaurant! I have been there several times throughout the last few years living in Munich and it is probably my favorite restaurant here. It is always full, yet still has a cozy atmostphere. There is a small menu of dishes that are always available, but the majority of dishes are featured on the ever-changing, seasonal menus writtten on a few chalkboards throughout the restaurant. English speakers do not need to worry as the wife of the chef will gladly translate for you. I have tried probably 15 different dishes here (mussels, lamb, duck, fish, dessert etc) and every single one was amazing. I promise you will not be disappointed!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    2
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Superb French cuisine!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

We went to Le Cezanne early this week invited by friends who have been here before. It was an increadible experience! The food was superb. My wife and I both have the same dish, lamb. Probably the best lamb I have ever had.
The service was great and charming environment. For dessert we had the apple tart that they drench in calvados and set on fire tableside. It was to die for!
Great selection of wines and the prices for the dishes were very reasonable for Munich standards.
Summary: great service with a personal touch, fantastic food, nice atmosphere, priced right.
We will be back althiugh we live across town the food is worth the trip on the U-Bahn

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHICAGO
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some of the best French food we have ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

We live in Munich part of the year and this is without a doubt our favorite special restaurant. Run by a husband and wife, the atmosphere is pleasant, quiet and intimate. The cook has worked at 3-star Michelin restaurants and each dish is prepared perfectly with fresh ingredients. His wife is the server and is so friendly and helpful. Nice wine list. In the winter you must try his soups. Be sure and save room for the apple tart for dessert which is made only once you order it. Can't go wrong here.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Visited here on a Friday night. We did have a reservation but the place was not packed. The food was delicious with an interesting choice and lots of fresh food.
The service was also friendly and personal.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant during my 16 day stay in Munich, Krakow and southern Poland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

I found this place in a travel guide and thought that I would try it out as I felt like having some French cooking. Wow was that a great choice. So much so that I went back a week and a half later and again it was very good. The first time I had the sea snails as an appetizer and then rabbit as a main course. The secon time I had an appetizer of tuna carpaccio, steak tar tar and avocado soup. This was fantastic and I just had to take a photo of it. The main course this time was sweetwater fish in a cream sauce favoured with herbes de provance.
The desserts are great too.
It is owned by a German woman who serves and her French husband. who cooks. What a team. Great service and great food.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cezanne also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Le Cezanne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cezanne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.