We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Al Torchio Trattoria Vinoteca

Al Torchio Trattoria Vinoteca
Amalienstrasse 42, 80799 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 28 50 49
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 2,811 Restaurants in Munich
Restaurant details
Wroclaw, Poland
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

First of all this a very simple place, there are no tablecloths, service is rather basic, but this is accompanied by really good prices and fantastic food, for appetizers we took eggplant baked with cheese, this was good but not great. But the main dish was a real gem: dorada nuda, fish baked in white wine, wow, it tasted magnificently. And the price for fish was below 20 euro – really good bargain in this city. So quality of food/price ratio in this place is really very high. I would return there for sure, but they have closed for a week starting from 9th of June. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    10
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Taichung, Taiwan
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Amazing service, wonderful atmosphere and good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

First off let me say the service was amazing. The guy was nice enough to sneak us in without a reservation which was awesome because we showed up around peak dinner time. He was very friendly and answered all questions about the menu! I had the steak with vegetables. It was cooked really well and and good flavor. The veggies were a bit bland, but the bread made up for it! The restaurant had a good feel, very quaint and personal. I recommend giving this place a shot. I know I'll be back if I ever make it this way again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming service. Great wine. Good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Went off of TA reviews. We had had our fill of German cuisine and beer. Craving something different. This place had a great wine selection. The server was incredibly charming. And the food was very good. A sweet little spot away from the raucous beer chugging crowds.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great experience, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

We checked out the restaurant based on TA ratings. We had a very nice family meal with great food and smiling service. Bread basket with olive oil was a nice energy boost after a longish walk. The salad with calamari had a nice burst of flavour. In the main course we tried roasted fish and beef steak which were both enjoyable, beef was a bit chewy though for our liking. The wine was good value and we could order by the glass, and we finished with glass of grappa. Would recommend. Pls reserve in advance since it is a smallish place and many walk-ins can not be entertained.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“scent of Italy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

True Italian place in true German surroundings. An oasis of Mediterranean on the concrete-gray street. Menu is short but everything we try was excellent. Extensive is the list of wines. Friendly and quick service. To summarize: place worth to visit, not only if you want to escape from Munchen specialties but mostly if you simply like good food in a good place with its own atmosphere. Restaurant is small and quite popular so booking is recommended. For good weather few tables outside, nice but with all the traffic next to you, so my advice is to stay inside. You need to speak German or Italian to communicate with the staff on more sophisticated level, but otherwise – food speaks for itself. Closed on Sundays. Too far to walk from the center, taxi from Main Station is 10 minutes and Euro 10-12, S-Bahn is close by.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Al Torchio Trattoria Vinoteca also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Al Torchio Trattoria Vinoteca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Al Torchio Trattoria Vinoteca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.