We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book a table - you don't want to miss out !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Freisinger Hof

Freisinger Hof
Oberfohringer Strasse 189, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 95 23 02
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #117 of 2,867 Restaurants in Munich
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Book a table - you don't want to miss out !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We were lucky to get a table as we didn't book much in advance - so glad we could enjoy dinner here. Beautifully prepared and presented classic dishes from the Alpine regions of Germany and Austria . The restaurant is very attractively decorated and although busy, the staff were extremely helpful and courteous. Even with a full restaurant the atmosphere is relaxing and a quiet conversation across a table is no problem.
We had to travel across the city for a concert so didn't have time for dessert - which is a good reason to return at the next opportunity !!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    44
    8
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“Top quality food from one of the best in Munich”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have eaten here twice in the last 2 weeks as I travel a lot to Munich on business; by the way you should stay at the hotel here too which I have also written a review of ...
You definitely need to reserve here for dinner as it was full both times I was here; the staff are extremely friendly and very knowledgeable of the food and wine. Their specialty is the "tafelspitz" which is boiled beef and is delicious. However all the choices on the menu are excellent and certainly let them offer you some excellent German and Austrian wines.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow - excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Really delicious food, great service, good seating and very friendly to boot. They also provide accommodation apparently, which I understand from a friend who knows, is comfy. Comments around the table from people who eat out on expenses all the time include 'wow', 'that's super tasty', 'really delicious,' 'gorgeous wine....'

The waitress was perfection personified - what more could one want - I really don't know - perfect and one of my best restaurants ever

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Upscale Bavarian Fare, beautifully served”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We have eaten at plenty of Bavarian restaurants, and this one is a cut above the others. The decor is traditional Bavarian with paneling, white tablecloths and yellow wall color above the paneling. Service was well paced and the waiter was attentive. The atmosphere was lively but still quiet. It is not set up like a Biergarten.

We ate both lunch and dinner there on the same day. At lunch we were in a group of Americans and Germans. At dinner it was just me, my wife and adult daughter. The menu was the same for both lunch and dinner. I had pan fried chicken for lunch. This was very good. Coating was light and chicken moist. It was served with a German-style potato salad that was also well prepared. My daughter-in-law had the duck with all the fixings. It came as an intact half duck which was crispy on the outside, tasty and tender. My son had the Weiner Schnitzel which appeared typical, served with fried potatoes. My wife had the prawn salad for lunch which she describes as tasty.

My daughter had the salmon for lunch. It was served on a bed of mashed potatoes with a rich, creamy sauce. For dinner she ordered a goat cheese salad which she enjoyed. She especially liked the måche´, and the goat cheese wrapped in bacon was also a treat.

So, everyone enjoyed the food, decor, service, wine, beer and the entire experience. This is known to be a little higher end restaurant and is very popular. Try to have a reservation. Parking is on the side of the building or underground under the hotel next door.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

although we arrived late in the afternoon, they still served us. We were very grateful for that;
We had steak, was not great quality but we enjoyed it. Dessert they forgot to serve, i had to ask for it but i didn't mind, we had time.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freisinger Hof also viewed

Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Freisinger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freisinger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.