We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Freisinger Hof

Freisinger Hof
Oberfohringer Strasse 189, 81925 Munich, Bavaria, Germany
089 / 95 23 02
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #123 of 2,690 restaurants in Munich
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Oslo
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Haven eaten at this restaurant twice, we have had two very different experiences here. The first time, in August, we had no expectations (except the bib gourmand in the Michelin Guide), and were pleasantly surprised by the tafelspitz and the service. Our second visit was last week, but this time we weren't as impressed. The service was slow/non-existant, and allthough the main courses were well-prepared, the desserts were a disappointment: creme brule which was more like a runny custard with a caramelised cover, and served with a nougat ice cream which didn't complement the flavours at all.

Would recommend the savoury dishes, but try to avoid Sundays - these seem to be the busiest.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    48
    32
    7
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Beersheba, Israel
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“All that glitters...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We didn't reserve and still got a table on Sunday. The service is very fair. The food and drinks are in general tasty. To us occurred a peculiar thing: we ordered a duck and got a bird which looked no doubt like a duck but tasted (good) like a chicken :-)! Prices are not the lowest in the branch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etang la Ville
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A very enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We ate at this high quality restaurant twice during our short stay in Munich: it's deservedly very popular and booking is advised. Very good local cuisine. Friendly and helpful staff. Good local wines. You can easily spend quite a lot on a meal in Munich and feel that it was not merited: this restaurant proves that there is good value for money to be had.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
levittown, pa.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“a great restaurant in a great neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

freisinger hof is an Inn and restaurant. they serve austrian and bavarian food. very classy and a good value on top of it! a family owned business and you could tell. very busy place even during the week. we went on a Monday night and it ws jamed. would recomend a reservation. the food was probably one of the bettor meals we had in munich! we stayed at the Sheraton arabellapark and it was a 5 minute cab ride! wish we had more time to go back. service and food impecable!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Fantastic Austrian 'cuisine' and wines in Munich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 via mobile

We visited this restaurant in connection with a stop-over in the hotel on a travel from Belgium to Slovenia. Although fully booked out on a Saturday night, the friendly and professional staff did their utmost to get us a table. The menu is mostly meat-based and typically Austrian/Bavarian but the preparations are exquisite and make you feel like in a Michelin star restaurant. Very good selection of Austrian wines from 29€ a bottle onwards.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Freisinger Hof also viewed

 
Munich, Upper Bavaria
Munich, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Freisinger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Freisinger Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.