We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice retreat in a very rainy Munich” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arthotel Munich

Save Saved
You added Arthotel Munich to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Arthotel Munich
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paul-Heyse-Str 10, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Einhorn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #109 of 382 hotels in Munich
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A nice retreat in a very rainy Munich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were especially happy with the pleasant seating area in our room, since it rained for the 6 days we were in Munich this time. Staff were uniformly pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was excellent, both hot and cold. And the location, just a couple of blocks from the Hauptbahnhof, was great, especially in view of the weather. Our room was very quiet, in spite of the fact that the hotel seemed to be quite full. We used room service once, when it was just too miserable to go out for dinner, and it was just decent microwavable food at a very reasonable price, but we were happy to have it. We were there May 30 to June 4, 2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

830 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    389
    211
    39
    24
See reviews for
188
165
79
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Funky hotel, lots of quirky works of art in the reception\bar area, each floor in different theme..Bavarian, nature, graffiti etc. Small rooms but very clean. Breakfast..loads to choose from, picnic boxes available if you need to leave early morning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This hotel was a very pleasant surprise for us. The rates are reasonable, and the lobby and rooms are decorated with some very interesting art pieces (each floor has a different theme). The room was contemporarily furnished and very comfortable. The highlight of the hotel is its breakfast buffet, which was the best we encounter on our recent 40-day Europe trip.

Room Tip: We were given a room at the back, which was great as the hotel is on a moderately-busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslin, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here as part of a business trip and as a 3 star hotel I didn't expected it to be anything special. The hotel is currently undergoing some refurbishment, although this was not a big inconvenience.
The room was fine with a TV and i-pod dock, beds were comfortable & the bathroom was spacious. Decoration is good throughout the the hotel with quirky graffiti & art all over the place. The over-bath shower didn't stay on the wall properly & the bath didn't drain, and I got the impression that maintenance could have been better. Curtains didn't cut out the light & my room on the main road was a bit noisy.
The breakfast was excellent (especially for Germany) with a very wide selection of hot & cold food. The hotel staff in general were OK, but a couple were a bit surly.
Great location & good price, so can't complain too much.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the hotel front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Last year I travelled with some friends to Munich for 3 days. We chose this hotel because it is not far from the train station. And we were very satified with this hotel. It is only 5 minutes by walk from the hauptbahnhof. The staff was also very nice. The Room is not big, but enough for 3 girls. I have to say, the bathroom is really huge and clean.
Which surprised us was the breakfast. Many choices and very delicious. All in all, we had a nice time staying there.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amiens, France
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice affordable hotel 5 mn on foot from the central station
Great breakfast
Nice staff
A little worn out furniture in some of the rooms, but ok - nice little welcome chocolate
only minus - slow arriving lifts - but that's really a detail

Room Tip: favour high storey rooms if you are on street side - can be a little noisy as it is a main street in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Hotel in close proximity to station and is within walking distance to shops and underground for wider travel. Free wifi worked well and room was quiet and spacious. Breakfast was good.
Check-in was time consuming as there was only one person on reception who was constantly taking calls and making us wait.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Arthotel Munich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arthotel Munich

Address: Paul-Heyse-Str 10, 80336 Munich, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Hotel Einhorn)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Munich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#58 Family Hotel in Munich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Arthotel Munich 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
arthotel munich, constructed in the Art-Deco style and situated in the heart of Munich, is only a few minutes away from the main station, the Oktoberfest, S-Bahn underground system with very good connections to the airport and Messe (fairground), pedestrian zone and all major attractions and department stores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HotelTravel.com and Otel so you can book your Arthotel Munich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arthotel Munich Hotel Munich
Arthotel Hotel Munich
Munich Arthotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arthotel Munich, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.