We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, with only one major hiccup...no easy late night entrance!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Schlosshotel Lisl

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Schlosshotel Lisl to your Saves list
Schlosshotel Lisl
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Neuschwansteinstrasse 1-3, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
“Great location, with only one major hiccup...no easy late night entrance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

One of the most popular attractions in all of Germany (and Europe) is Schloss Neuschwanstein, which is the castle that Walt Disney used to model Sleeping Beauty's and Disneyland's castle after. The town this is located in is Hohenschwangau, which has only a very limited selection of hotels available directly in town within walking distance of its famous landmark, as well as the other castle it contains, Schloss Hohenschwangau.

We decided to go with Hotel Lisl for this trip for 2 nights, and we were very happy with this choice (for the most part). We reserved a corner room, which gives a view of both of the town's majestic castles. The room was very spacious and clean. The housekeeping staff did a good job in the morning of taking care of the room. Unfortunately, the only negative of the room is that there was no free Wi-Fi, which shouldn't be the case in the year 2012.

There is also a restaurant in the hotel, although we didn't get the chance to try it during our stay. The staff is very friendly and helpful. When checking in, they even give you vouchers to get discounts on castle tours and to get into the Museum of the Bavarian Kings for free.

The only negative we found was when we returned late one night. We didn't return until 2:30 AM and the front doors were locked. There was no way into the hotel even with our room key. There was a sign up saying that someone would be back shortly, but that wasn't the case. Eventually 2 other guests came down to the lobby and saw us and tried to let us in, but they couldn't figure out how to open the door either (so they were trapped inside the hotel). They eventually tracked down the one staff member on duty, who was busy vacuuming hallways and then we finally got inside. I'd say this is something inexcusable for a hotel. There should always be someone at the front desk to help out, especially if the front doors are going to be locked. A guest should never have no way back in to the hotel. And for the one staff member present to be vacuuming at that time of night instead of waiting at the front desk makes absolutely no sense. So, when visiting make sure you're back in your room at a decent hour or it may become an extra long night for you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    55
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
21
64
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed one night to tour the castles the following day. We made a reservation for a basic room at the last minute (115 euro). We arrived at about 10 p.m. The front desk clerk was friendly and polite and because we probably looked road weary, threw in free breakfast, which was a pleasant surprise. The room was very modest and small, as was the bathroom. The style hadn't been updated in quite some time. The staff was polite, but unremarkable. But what made the place special was the view. Our room looked directly out to a castle view, which was lit up and beautiful under a full moon. It was mesmerizing and worth the stay alone.

Room Tip: Ask for a castle view room, Neuschwanstein is best if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caldwell, Idaho
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night to see the castles and found this hotel the day we got in. The receptionist was very helpful and nice. Parking was free and internet costs 2 euro for 1.5 hours and you have to be in the lobby area. The breakfast was very good, omelettes, bread, eggs, cereal, juice, coffee, meats, cheese, yogurt and the view of the castle is great while your eating. The town of Hohenschwangau closes down early, so get something from the market if you want anything late, like beer/wine/snacks, other wise the vending machines are the only options. We would reccomend this hotel to anyone visiting the castles or the area looking for a comfortable and quiet place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms on the side facing the castle have an amazing view from the window
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is its location, though there are quite a few other hotels in the same area.
The room is rather small and old. The bathroom is not good for anyone not comfortable in tiny places.
The receptionist was rather rude and curt, especially after we've enjoyed a week of German excellent customer service.
Note: parking is in the open public carpark space 50 meters from the hotel and wifi is only available in the lobby at 2€ for 90 minutes.
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. And, if possible, you should look at staying at a town nearby instead of Hohenschwangau as the place is overrun with tourists and horse carriages (and their smell). The towns are quite close to one another plus the castle is covered in scaffolding so there is no real advantage in staying in this town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

This hotel is average and Ok for a night so that you can visit the castles. It 's a stopover hotel not a holiday hotel. I found the staff friendly - they must see so many people that the occasional lapse into being a bit jaded might be expected. The food on the terrace was good and served with courtesy, as was breakfast. What this hotel really needs is a room make over. If the rooms looked a bit fresher, it might be more of a weekend hotel than a one night hotel. But space constraints would still mean bathrooms were claustrophic. The people were lovely though.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

As it is our 40th wedding anniversary this year we booked a room for 2 days in the hotels Jagerhaus annexe which is just across the road from the main hotel.
The rooms are very large, clean and very comfortable with a view of both the castles from the different windows and is well worth the extra cost.
Breakfast was buffet style with a large choice to suit all tastes. The Japanese tour party which was visiting at the same time had breakfast in an adjoining room.
Evening meals where not available and guests were advised to go to the newly refurbished hotel at the lakeside which has the same owners.
We chose to eat elsewhere as the meals were more expensive at the lakeside.
Please note that this review is for the Jagerhaus annexe and not for the main hotel where the rooms are a lot smaller.
The area is very busy with coach parties starting as early as 8.00am through to 7.00pm.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

For location, services and price it is a really good alternative, but you have to be aware that not all rooms have queen beds. Bathroom also needs some improvement as to take a shower you have to hold the shower fawcet on your hand as there is no self support for it.
Nevertheless it is really wonderfull to be just in the middle of everything in Schwangau. Both castles are just minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for west side rooms, and specificaly for a king/queen bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Schlosshotel Lisl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Schlosshotel Lisl

Address: Neuschwansteinstrasse 1-3, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Schlosshotel Lisl 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Schlosshotel Lisl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Schlosshotel Lisl Hohenschwangau
Schlosshotel Lisl Hotel Hohenschwangau

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Schlosshotel Lisl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.