We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply a great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ludwig

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ludwig to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Colomanstrasse 12, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Salem, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply a great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We arrived at Neuschwanstein castle in a rain storm and had to take cover at the Hotel Alpenstuben’s gift shop where we were informed that there were no more tickets to see the castle for the day. We had planned just to see the castle and not stay overnight but we decided to spend the night and hope to get tickets the next day. Well, the Hotel Alpenstuben was full but they suggested the Hotel Villa Ludwig. Since it was a spur of the moment stay we did get a good price and we even got a ride to the hotel since it was still raining. The hotel has a great location nearby the castle and also has a great view of the castle from its patio. The underground parking was wonderful since it was raining and the staff worked to get us tickets for the next day. Internet connection was good and the rooms are modern and very clean. The staff was excellent when giving us suggestion and information on seeing the castle and information about Fussen as well

Room Tip: Needed a room with two beds but they only had Doubles. Still not sure of the room descriptions in G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We Booked A Room At Alpenstuben, And Were Shuffled Here Because They Had Overbooked. What A Bonus! This Place Was Outstanding. Great Location, Friendly Staff, Great Breakfast! My Only Complaint WasThatThe Wifi Was Not Reliable In Our Room, But Was Good In The Lobby. We Would Stay Here Again In A Heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

this hotel is pretty new. I think it opened late last year. Location is excellent. They also have a nice underground parking garage. I don't know if we picked the wrong day to arrive but when we arrive in the late afternoon rooms were not cleaned, elevator didn't work (we had a lot of luggage and an 85 year old with us). Front office lady was very apologetic and nice. What is also didn't know is that the "family suite" is also the handicapped room. Would have been good to know. Bathroom was very slippery. the second room we had was nicer. Overlooking the castle. As the hotel has no A/C it was pretty hot in the afternoon. furniture and bed was ok but not great. Breakfast was ok. I think I paid too much for the hotel. apparently they have a spa area but I didn't go there. Staff was very nice. if you like a good location this hotel is for you.

Room Tip: pick a room with view of the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I booked this hotel on my way to Italy having no idea how touristy the area was.

The hotel is new, with excellent facilities, underground parking. It is breakfast only with no other restaurant but there are plenty in the area.

It was new and clean. The rooms are a little quirky and not to my taste but that doesn't detract from the quality. Staff were extremely helpful, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one with the LED stars above the bed - so bad that they are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed for one night while visiting the castles, and found this to be a great new hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful, they booked our castle tickets so there was no need to queue up at the ticket office.

The hotel is almost brand new and very nicely laid out- rooms were spacious and comfortable.

Walk to the ticket office area takes about 5 mins.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This is a very new facility - simple, efficient, elegant, comfortable and contemporary. Location is simply amazing - away from crowds, but right below the main attraction - Neuschwanstein Castle. in a sense the hotel is crowned by this "dream castle". We stayed here - in the room # 105 - for several nights and each morning enjoyed a very well organized breakfast in a tastefully decorated dining room. The breakfast service was impeccable and the stuff outstandingly friendly.
The Villa Ludwig offers its guests an impressive parking facility - a well equipped garage in the lower level.
Our overall impression is extremely positive and enthusiastic. We definitely will recommend our friends and relatives to experience the friendliness and hospitality of this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: the location of this hotel is very quiet, but it seems that rooms in the back are the most quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This new property is owned by the same owneres as the Alpenstuben, one of the original hotels near the ticket boot in Hohenschwagau. Just returned June, 2013. We planned to stay 2 nights in Hohenschwangau, ariving late to miss the crowds, which mostly depart starting at 5 PM. Villa Ludwig is just a few minutes walking to the ticket office for the castles. We like to walk, it was 5 minutes no more. The property was new and very clean with great parking. The rooms were large and well appointed. Breakfeast was fabulous. Met the owner when I asked for some siverware for the room, which she personally delivered. Owner could not have been nicer, fluent in English (spent time in San Francisco) and was just delighful. Staff spoke great English and was also very nice. Staying in Honhenschwagau lets you enjoy the area after the crowds have left. It is magical without the crowds. There are several nice places to eat in town, including the Alpenstuben (no dinner at this property), and Fussen is close by car or bus with a great pedestrian zone (don't just drive thru this gem or you will miss it). Our Room 206 (as well as several other rooms) was a suite with a direct view of the castle, very romantic. How nice to have the evening come with this once in a lifetime view. The castle is lit at night and drinking a little wine while looking at it is an exceptional experience. I noticed people walking/hiking next to this hotel and I asked about it. Turns out you can hike up to the castle along a beautiful waterfall path (about 35-45 minutes). Only a few locals do this, but if you love to walk, this is a great find. We walked up to the ticket boot, then to the first castle, followed by a walk up the paved road the buses and horses go on to the second (Ludwig's) castle followed by a hike up to Mary's bridge. We came down (who knew) the trail along the waterfall path that ends next to this hotel. If I had known, I would have walked both ways on this trail, uncrowded and stunning. One of the most beautiful walks ever, and only the locals know about it. Now you do! This hotel is great!

Room Tip: Pay the rew extra euros and have a direct view suite. We ate in the room one night and just enjoyed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ludwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ludwig

Address: Colomanstrasse 12, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Ludwig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ludwig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.