We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Ludwig

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Ludwig to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Ludwig
Colomanstrasse 12, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Williamsburg, Virginia
2 reviews
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Villa Ludwig for two nights in April. The staff spoke wonderful English and were very hospitable. They welcomed us with beverages immediately and then directed us to the underground parking and then our room. We had a nice castle view. The rooms were all new with modern touches. The hotel was quiet and we enjoyed its surroundings. We appreciated the suggestions the staff gave us for sights to see around the area and neighboring villages. We enjoyed breakfast at Villa Ludwig and its sister hotel, Alpenstuben. The meals there were great as well. We would highly recommend Villa Ludwig!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette S, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Ludwig, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your nice comment. We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel Villa Ludwig.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    15
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
80
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I booked this hotel online through a booking service and was really disappointed in the room. The heater in the bathroom didn't work, the coffee machine didn't work and neither did the television. The bed was as hard as a rock and I couldn't sleep. We stayed on Easter weekend and the hotel was having other problems as well. The view was awesome, the staff speak fluent English and did what they could to remedy the situation, but I wouldn't recommend staying here.

Room Tip: If you stay here, have someone from reception come to the room with you and check everything first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We just returned from a quick trip to Hohenschwangau where we stayed at the Villa Ludwig. Thoroughly enjoyed the experience! Brand new, very nice decor, quiet but still central location. Delightful breakfast buffet, friendly and helpful staff that went out of their way to make our stay memorable! Underground parking for vehicle was a nice surprise and appreciated when the public parking is packed and not free. Perfect location. While others packed in buses we just strolled a few minutes to where we wanted to be. Although I speak german, I appreciated the fact that the staff was very well versed in English. First class hotel, will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: Ask for full castle view room if you call, website indicates which has and has no castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette S, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Ludwig, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our new Suite Hotel Villa Ludwig.
We hope to welcome you again soon as guests to give you our best Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, RL
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

Everything is brand new. The rooms are nicely furnished and there is a very good breakfast. The staff were all very nice. This is a great place to stay and visit the area. The castles are right down the street.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annette S, Inhaber at Hotel Villa Ludwig, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Boca Raton,

thank you for you nice comment. We are glad, you enjoyed your stay in our new Hotel and hope to welcome you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Ludwig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Ludwig

Address: Colomanstrasse 12, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Swabia > Hohenschwangau
Amenities:
Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Hohenschwangau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Ludwig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Ludwig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.