We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Live a real fantasy castle...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neuschwanstein Castle

Neuschwanstein Castle
Neuschwansteinstrasse 20 | Schwangau Ortsteil Hohenschwangau, 87645 Hohenschwangau, Bavaria, Germany
83-62-939880
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$193*
and up
Private Tour: Royal Castles of Neuschwanstein and...
Type: Architectural Buildings, Castles, Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: Group tours/walking tour
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Yet another of the eccentric King Ludwig II's magnificently odd architectural creations.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Live a real fantasy castle...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The experience was extraordinary…Is like living a fantasy story of Disney, and as a matter of fact it is, because this castle was the inspiration for Disneyland's Sleeping Beauty. You have to take horse carriage to get to the castle, or a 15 minute walk, uphill. The most adventurous can walk, uphill again, to a bridge over a marvelous water fall.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,588
    1,408
    441
    159
    64
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best attractions in Bavaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Bavaria is a special state in Germany with its breathtaking lakes and mountains. And Neuschwanstein is definitely a jewel in the crown of Bavaria.

Situated close to Fussen at the south end of Bavaria, you can reach this attraction by car/train from Munich. Here are some tips from my visit.

1. Usually you don't need more than 5-6 hours for the visit. So a day trip from Munich is good enough, you may not need an accommodation in Fussen (typically)

2. From Fussen train station, a bus service connects you to the castle. Otherwise, you can hire a cab for about 10 EUR one way

3. There are 2 castles: Neuschwanstein (the main and attractive one) and Hohenschwangau

4. ** Most Important ** You need to buy a ticket with a time slot to visit the castles. If possible, buy it online the previous day before your visit. Otherwise, reaching at 11 AM on a busy day - the earliest slot possible may be around 4 PM. And usually by around 12-1 PM you cannot buy a ticket for the day!!! (Website: http://www.neuschwanstein.de/englisch/tourist/admiss.htm)

5. To go up there are 2 options: Bus and Horse carriage - prefer the Horse carriage as it takes you closer to the castle. But both these modes have a long queue and keep this in mind to reach the top in time for your time slot

Again, be prepared for crowds and try to reduce your luggage as much as possible. This will make your visit more comfortable. And, don't miss the serene Alpsee nearby!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful castle, crappy tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The castle itself is beautiful and the walk up to the castle is refreshing. However, the tour with the castle staff was mechanical and boring, with no attemp to entertain.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
421 reviews 421 reviews
234 attraction reviews
Reviews in 224 cities Reviews in 224 cities
442 helpful votes 442 helpful votes
“Liked it Even Better than I thought”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I found the castle fascinating. The staff in the welcome center where you pick up your ticket were a bit gruff and rude, but our tour guide was absolutely top notch and knowledgeable. He could answer any question and brought the story to life. We opted for the bus to get to the top and was glad we did. When you get dropped off, there is a fork in the road for the bridge and the other fork goes to the castle. We made the mistake of going to the bridge first and then continuing on that path which we thought led to the castle. It got narrow and a bit scary. We luckily turned around or we would have missed our turn. The castle is a bit hard to find and we didn't find adequate signage. You wait outside for your tour to be called. The interior of the castle is gorgeous and ornate, but they do not allow pictures so you have to buy their books in the gift shops. According to our guide, King Ludwig was not mad, just a bit eccentric. He built this castle with his own funds so he wasn't spending the people's monies. Glad that I went.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
“Neuschwanstein castle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

Is the most beautiful I ever seen I am not going to see an other castle more beautiful than this one

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Neuschwanstein Castle also viewed

 
Linderhof, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Neuschwanstein Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neuschwanstein Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.