We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only if other Hotels are booked out.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen

Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen to your Saves list
Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Schuhstrasse 31, 91052 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Erlangen
Kosice
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Only if other Hotels are booked out.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I had a room under the roof, which had only a small window with no view whatsoever, it was cold in there and took almost a day to heat it up. The room was also a bit worn out. The hotel is generally ok, but it has nothing that would make you come back.
I'd prefer Konning Otto or Novotel - both are nearby.

Room Tip: Not the rooms under the roof !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    37
    26
    6
    3
See reviews for
4
8
11
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

A nice European style hotel, with character. I've stayed at most hotels in Erlangen, and most of the others are more of the boring antiseptic chains (Novotel, NH). Not that the Novotel and NH aren't nice, they are my next choices, but I like the service and atmosphere better here.
I generally stay for a month or more, so I like places where you feel like family! Of course they have german style beds (unusual pillows, covers, extra firm mattress) but I haven't found many hotels in the surrounding 30 km any different!

Room Tip: Ask for a double room, not much (if any) more, but much more room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The rooms are clean, smart and cozy but maybe a bit small. The staff is very helpful in the front desk and also in the restaurants. The breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Located in the town of Erlangen, this hotel is clean, smart and offers good food and service. Rooms are generally a reasonable size and fitted out to good standard.
Nice bar and friendly service.
However, this hotel has the worst pillows I have ever found in any hotel anywhere in the world. they are ultra light and so thin you might see through them if you held them up to the sun:
Would recomend youstay at this hotel, but take your own pillows!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

The rooms have no air condition so it gets extremely warm in the rooms, the hotel is also somewhat very humid, it has been impossible to sleep! The staff is really not helpful nor understanding and verging on being rude. For the high price you pay, prefer another one

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bayhofer, Manager at Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen, responded to this review, August 24, 2011
Dear traveller,
thank you very much for your comments.We are very sorry to hear about your troubles in our hotel.Unfortunately not all our rooms are equipped with air conditioning and during the time you spent here all the air conditioned rooms were sold out. We can understand your discomfort due to the high temperatures.Yet we can not accept your comments concerning our staff behaviour.We would like to point out that you reserved 4 rooms and only upon your late arrival ( after midnight) you informed us that you will need only 3 rooms.Consequently you were informed by our staff that according to your own company contract no shows after 6 pm will be charged. We know that after hearing this you acted very disappointed and we tried very friendly several times to explain the matter wich you were unwilling to accept.Therefore we are unable to understand your comments.

In anyway we would appreciate if you would give us the chance to welcome you again in our hotel so that we can make sure you are getting a beautiful room with air conditioning.
For further questions please do not hesitate to contact the management directly.

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights with business collegues as we were attending a exhibition in Nuremberg. The hotel is approx. 20 driving minutes away from the exhibition centre and is a less expensive alternative to staying in Nuremberg.

The hotel has on property parking, which is not for free. Check-in was fine and the staff very friendly. My room was on the 5th floor and was a bit warm on arrival. Since there was no airconditioning I opened the door to the small balcony.

The room itself is a bit small, but clean and with a good bathroom. The bed was fine, but the pillows are so unbelievably thin that I had to use both available and still didn't get any support for my head. I'm not sure if this is a German thing, but next time I need to switch hotels or bring my own pillow.

Breakfast is in the basement and was nice with a good selection of hot and cold dishes. Good coffee too.

It is a short walk to downtown Erlangen, which has some great bars and restaurants. If you enjoy Thai food, try restaurant ZEN for some nice food (but slow service).

Overall, the people working here are very friendly and service minded, especially in the lobby and bar area. Check-out was slow as it was busy.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

We were party of a large international group attending a local wedding ( apologies to the other quests as we were a bit noisy from time to time). We would recommend dinner here - the food & service in the small restaurant was a wonderful surprise , which we would not have anticipated from the rather average, impersonal breakfast room. Staff were very helpful

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen

Address: Schuhstrasse 31, 91052 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Middle Franconia > Erlangen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Erlangen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen 4*
Number of rooms: 159
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bayerischer Hof Erlangen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.