We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, service so so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of MEKONG Vietnam Restaurant

MEKONG Vietnam Restaurant
Schuhstrasse 4, 91052 Erlangen, Bavaria, Germany
09131 / 20 20 09
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 236 Restaurants in Erlangen
Cuisines: Asian, Vietnamese
Restaurant details
TLV
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, service so so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

I was there with a friend. The place have plenty ogf dishes to chose from.
Each of us got a sour sweet soup, that was just ok. But the main dish was excelent. Beef well made and the veggie mix of the dish was good.
I think for the price, around 10eur, the dish is rather small. But if you eat it with the rice, thats comes free on the table, we werr exactly satisfied - not more nor less.
Worth a second visit.
The service was so so, as the waitress cames to us 50 times to take the food order, but once we ordered, we werent approached even once for a beer refil.
Other then that all ok.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    17
    1
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Great food, great prices, great service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

A friend took me here for dinner. I'm not generally a fan of Vietnamese food, but I will definitely go back to Mekong! Lots of choices on the menu, the food was excellent, and the service was very fast! Servers were very friendly and helpful. Normally I prefer Thai food, but the next time I'm in Erlangen, I'll skip Thai and head for the Mekong and Vietnamese! Highly recommended!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niederndorf, Deutschland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“tolle Erfahrung, leckeres Essen; great experience, delicous food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Meine Frau und ich waren am Sonnatg Mittag im Mekong und es war echt super. Leckeres Essen mit netten Add-Ons wie ein warmes Tuch für Hände und Gesicht nach dem Essen. Dazu ein unauffälliger Service. Wir kommen wieder.

My wife and me went here for Lunch on a sunday and are absoltely happy about the choice. Great food plus nice add-ons like a hot&went towel afterwards. Discreet service, nicely decorated room. We'll come back

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“No, no, no”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I'm Asian and I have travelled extensively in the southeast. There is nothing authentic and good about this place. If you like oily noodles and fried rice, go and visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Small restaurant, with a reservation recommended for weekend evenings. Delicious, authentic dishes with great service!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MEKONG Vietnam Restaurant also viewed

Erlangen, Middle Franconia
Erlangen, Middle Franconia
 
Erlangen, Middle Franconia
 

Been to MEKONG Vietnam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MEKONG Vietnam Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.