We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Same Great Service and Wonderful room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube to your Saves list
Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Viktoriabrunnen 2, 96450 Coburg, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Coburg
Huntington,WV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Same Great Service and Wonderful room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

I stayed 6-30-2011 thru 7-8-11.As always I recieved warm wonderful service and a very CLEAN Room with lots of quiet time and comfort.Wonderful breakfast Buffett every morning,wish american buffett were the same as their buffett.NO problems at all with room and reservation.Will go again in future.

Room Tip: In back of Hotel is the most quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    18
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
8
25
3
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, MI
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2010

The Golden Traube is a lovely hotel, the rooms are smallish by US standards but have lots of storage and are comfortable. Our travel friends had a larger room. Our room on the 4th floor had a wonderful view of the enchanting rooftops and the Vesta Coburg up on the hill. Staff is very friendly and helpful, practically all speak english. The breakfast buffet is lavish with great breads, jams, cheese, really yummy deli style meats and fruit. They also have yogurts and eggs. It was really great food and served till 10:00 am. The restaurant is open for dinner and was superb, they rearrange the room and it doesn't even feel like the same place where you had breakfast.
There is a very nice seating area off the reception area where you can hang out and have a coffee or a cocktail. I really enjoyed our stay at the Traube it gave me a feeling of what the Europeon style of hotel is like.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington,WV
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

Traveling from America to Coburg Germany for over 49 years(Family) The people from Coburg are very friendly and this hotel is the same.I have never had a problem here.Also the food is very good,the breakfast Buffet is very very good way to begin your day!Anytime we have needed something the Hotel staff responded quickly.I also stay with my family here but when we stay at a hotel we always stay here.Convienence to all palces is also a added touch to this hotel.A++ is our review

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We stayed at the Goldene Traube for two nights this month.

What a delightful hotel and what a great position, right next to the entrance gate into the Market square.
Our room was on the front of the hotel (room number 1) and was really nicely decorated and very spacious.
The room had a safe in it and also a small balcony with a view of the gate tower to the left.
The staff were polite, helpful and very pleasant to talk to.
As my German is not very good, it was good to find that everyone spoke excellent English.
We only ate Breakfast at the Hotel as we ate at different local restaurants each evening. Breakfast was very good though, with a selection of cold meats, cheese and the continental breakfast items that you would expect in europe, but also hot eggs, bacon, cereals, fruitjuice etc.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone and think that it should be anyones first choice if visiting Coburg.

Well done to the Management team, your hotel is a credit to you.

  • Liked — Size and cleanliness of room, decoration of room, position in relation to town centre/market square.
  • Disliked — Nothing at all.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2007

Although being on a business trip (yes, the hotel has free WLAN in the lobby !), I would definetly recommend this hotel also for tourist travelers. The rooms are small but nicely decorated and the staff is really helpful (they also ironed my shirt for free).

Forthermore, the pricing is fair and breakfast buffet offers all you need. The hotel is located directly in the heart of Coburg and only a few steps away from the city centre. While parking is limited, I would recommend going there by train and than take a taxi (ca. EUR 5,00) to the hotel.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Small rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2006

We were very disappointed with the Goldene Traube. It is sold as a romantic quaint hotel in this beautiful old German town, but the place wasn't up to its billing--by a long shot. The rooms were very small and in need of fixing up, the beds poor, and they were incredibly hot (it was probably an 80 degree day and there was no air conditioning). The people were OK and the breakfast, while having some good food, was crowded and most of the good things went quickly. Look for another place in Coburg!

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube

Address: Am Viktoriabrunnen 2, 96450 Coburg, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Coburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Coburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romantik Hotel Goldene Traube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.