We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“idylic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eibsee Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Eibsee Hotel to your Saves list
Eibsee Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Eibsee 1-3 | Eibsee, 82491 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
scotland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“idylic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

we drove down to lake eibsee from munich - about 1.5hrs on great roads.

first impression is stunning setting right on the lake.

check in was very efficient - we had a fantastic view over the lake.
free wifi was good!
we booked direct with the hotel and opted for the breakfast and evening meal too.

the menu was excellent each night and the waiters were very friendly - food was very good - better than we expected.
we ate out on the terrace on the third night as weather was excellent.

breakfast too was very good with all you would expect - omelettes etc made to order.

as mentioned the location of this hotel is stunning, right below zugspitz, Germanys highest mountain.

we were there for 3 nights and used it as a base to visit neuwswanstein castle, partnich gorge, and a trip up zugspitz on the cable car too (these are 3 things I would highly recommend doing!!!)

we also walked around the l;ake which took around 2 hrs - I would suggest making up a couple of rolls at breakfast and talking these for a bite to eat and take your time going round lake as views are stunning.

the town of garmish has a lovely precinct and lots of places to stop and have a beer ar cake - great atmosphere.

when we visited neuswanstein we did not do the tour and were happy we didn't.
we drove and parked in the first car park, caught the silver bus which took us up to the bridge above the castle and walked back down from there.
after seeing the hills and people walking up the way we knew we made the right choice.

we then had lunch at a lovely restaurant down by the lake in wengen.

when doing the partnich gorge we again did it the easy way by getting chairlift up to the hotel and walked down the way - although on hindsight getting the chairlift just to the left of the skijump and walking down may have been better as we had plenty of time and it was over all too quick. so if you have all day then this would be the way to do it - the way we did it only took maybe 3 hrs total with an hour at the restaurant at top of chairlift.

for me zugspitz was well worth the money - the view was amazing - and I didn't even go down and visit the other areas up there as it was a last minute decision to go up. we did not go up sooner due to clouds but after going up on the last morning I found that I was way above the louds anyway and think that if the weather is ok at botom then go for it.

all in all this was a good base to stay and although some parts of the hotel could do with refurb it is still a 4 star hotel for me.

good swimming in the lake - especially for kids as there are free canoes etc for guests and trampolines, table tennis etc.

nice and peaceful at night which was good although if you are after nightlife then you need to go into garmish.

overall this whole area is stunning and if anyone out there is in two minds then go! you will not be disappointed.
this was our first trip to barvaria, indeed Germany, and we will def go back.
the cleanliness was also very noticeable - everywhere was spotless and immaculate.

Room Tip: go up zugspitz - get a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    40
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
65
Solo
0
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Take a peaceful bushwalk through the forest with wonderful scenic views of the lake.
Staff: Very helpful
Location: Prefer the bus - stop right outside the hotel
Room: Lake view - excellent
Food: Average food, needs a major upgrade - (please see my other reviews). Take the bus to
Garmisch-Partenkirchen and visit the excellent Kaffeehaus Kronner (see attached photo).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our Australian family of five enjoyed a week in this gorgeous hotel in a family suite on the half board package. While the weather was terrible (May 2013), the hotel itself was a delight and in particular the Rundweg (the path around the lake) and the restaurants. Staff were so friendly and the quality of the food was excellent. We loved the meat fondue experience in the Tavern!
Nearby Garmisch is a pretty town and the ascent up the Alpspitz was terrific. We would love to come back when the rain stops to hike these spectacular mountains!
The only thing we would fault is the bad internet connectivity throughout the hotel and particularly in our room. Certainly something to remedy in such a large 4 star beauty.

Room Tip: Families could ask for a junior suite - in addition to the main beds, they include two other bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Great value hotel for the price. It is remote location, but you get the best view and natural beauty of Bavarian mountains. The around the lake path is great for running, biking or walking. About 8,5 kilometers with fantastic views and scenery. Unforgettable! Simply like in a fairy-tale!

The hotel staff is extremely nice and helpful and food is great quality!

The only downside is that the hotel is always decorated with fresh flowers (huge bouquets) that provoke allergies. They look beautiful tough!

Excellent spa center and pool area! Rooms are very clean and spacious!

Room Tip: Don't miss the opportunity to visit this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Teenage daughter and I had a lovely stay at the Eibsee Hotel during a long ski weekend in Garmisch-Partenkirchen mid-February 2013 (during UK school holidays).

The hotel is close to a stop on the Zugspitzbahn cog-railway which can take you to the top of the Zugspitze ski area or to the bottom lifts of the "Garmisch classic" ski area. The hotel location is very practical if you want to ski the Zugspitze ski region, but a bit less so if you want to ski in Garmisch Classic because of the train times (you'd get to the pistes late and leave early). A taxi can get you to Garmisch Classic earlier but, of course, means extra cost (compared to the price of the combined cog-railway/ski-lift pass). Not sure if the ski bus from Garmisch Classic comes as far as Eibsee.

The hotel also is close to a (very steep) cable-car that whisks you all the way to the top of Zugspitze. There's a ski hire shop in the cable car station and the cost of your ski hire can go on the hotel bill ! The ski hire shop man can also collect the equipment he's rented you from the hotel boot room at the end of your stay.

The hotel itself was a lovely luxurious base. Our room was a large twin. The restaurant food was excellent. The staff were extremely helpful. We arrived way before check-in time on Friday and wanted to leave much later than check-out time on Sunday. Asked hotel ahead of time and told we'd have use of facilities for changing/storing luggage. In fact, had access to our room from our arrival at around 10.30am.

Ooh - and the hotel is on a lake with a beautiful view !

In case it helps...we flew to Munich (for work, on Thursday). Took 7.30am Friday train from Munich main station and on the Zugspitze slopes above Eibsee before 11.30am (having hired equpment at the Eibsee cable-car station). Some folk on the train from Munich clearly came skiing in Garmisch on a day trip !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend at the start of June to attend a friend's wedding. There aren't really enough superlatives to describe our experience of this place.

The building is reasonably old but has the perfect look for this location which, by the way, is totally idyllic. The rooms were nothing to write home about, but they were clean with all the amenities you'd expect. We also had a pretty good rate of around €130 per night as everyone for the wedding was staying and my friend had done the negotiation up front. We had an awesome view of the lake from our room.

The staff are absolutely amazing. They would do anything for you. Our initial experience on the day of arrival was to hit the bar (at around 6pm). The bar was unmanned because it was not yet open, but they opened it for us and made awesome cocktails. On the day of leaving, we had to leave the hotel at around 11am and we asked them if they could make us a packed lunch, which they said they would be delighted to. My partner did not have any hiking boots, but of course, reception had some (new ones) to loan her for our walk around the lake.

Breakfast at the hotel restaurant was really something special. They have a massive spread and you can tell they're buying high quality fresh ingredients: fresh salmon, beautiful cheese, perfectly cooked eggs.

The lake setting is amazing. We only spent a short amount of time here, but we'd go back in a heart beat and do it again! You will surely love staying at this hotel as we did!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We first saw this hotel when staying in the area last summer, and resolved to return for a special winter break in the snow. We were not disappointed! We travelled by rail from our home in Cheshire to the cog-railway station opposite the hotel door, and travelling up and down the valley on the little railway and the local bus service was all part of the fun - there is no need to have a car on this holiday! All the staff we encountered were friendly and helpful and plenty spoke excellent English. Staff training is obviously taken seriously and service is unfailingly stylish with attention to detail. The restaurant is excellent - the fact that it is very popular with locals says it all - and the menus very creative. We dined in the hotel three nights, and each time started with a range of salads, some imaginative starters, a consomme, and a selection of main courses which always included fish, vegetarian, poultry and red meat choices. Although fairly international in style the menus reflected characteristics of German cuisine. The meal continued with a choice of sweets or cheese and coffee. Again the service was friendly and attentive and there is a good wine list. The room was warm and spacious and spotlessly clean and the two beds enormous and comfortable. The TV received mostly German channels, naturally enough, as well as BBC World News and CNBC. The only slight disappointment was the swimming pool which was rather cold and the area needs freshening up.

Room Tip: We decided not to go for the more expensive rooms with the lake view - in February it was dark most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Eibsee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eibsee Hotel

Address: Am Eibsee 1-3 | Eibsee, 82491 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eibsee Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Eibsee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eibsee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.