We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full of Memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Eibsee Hotel

Save Saved
You added Eibsee Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Eibsee Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Am Eibsee 1-3 | Eibsee, 82491 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Niceville, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Full of Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I first visited this hotel during the mid 1960s as a junior US Air Force officer and was lucky enough to be given a senior officers suite. At that time the hotel was managed by US forces in Germany. About 20 years later I visited again, this time as a senior officer; however, by this time the hotel had reverted to German owners. The hotel is nestled on the shores of Lake Eib (see meaning lake in German) and the lake is nestled at the foot of the Zugspitze; in my opinion Germany's best ski area. The walk around Lake Eib is, if memory is correct, about two miles and is absolutely beautiful. A cog wheel train station to travel to the top of the Zugspitze is a short walk to the hotel. The food and service remained excellent during this almost 20 years. I just googled the hotel and the web site shows some of the beautiful surroundings. The rate is nominal in my opinion, especially for a great hotel located in one of the most beautiful settings in Bavaria. I had to choose a visit date which is false, last time in mid 1980s, in order to get this review accepted.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    48
    34
    12
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
51
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonn, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This was our second visit to the area and I can say the things have changed ... to be better if that is possible for such a wonderful place. I can't prise enough the working staff and the management of the hotel and the restaurant for their understanding, their flexibility and the uttermost friendliness. This kind of things are not in abundance in some of the similar areas in Germany especially when you are a family with small kids.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel! The rooms are not very exciting, especially in the back of the hotel (a little loud with the dumpster and air conditioner). However- the food was delightful, the views amazing, and the service was fantastic. We enjoyed using their boats, bikes, hiking equipment and spa services. We also were highly impressed with their prompt response of overnighting our forgotten passports to our next hotel. THANK YOU for making our time so wonderful!

Room Tip: Avoid the back of the hotel (forest views) the view was fine but it was near the AC unit and dumpste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beaumont texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Beautiful, relaxing setting! Our meals at lakeside and in the hotel restaurant were excellent. Our room was very comfortable,and overlooked the lake. We enjoyed cocktails in the bar each night. Our bartender was wonderful! Being from Texas, my wife wanted a margarita after seeing it on the bar menu. She is extremely picky when it comes to margaritas and claimed it was one of the best she has had. We visited Eibsee 37 years ago and was not disappointed on our return visit for our 40 wedding anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

The location alone is worth a stay at this hotel. Nestled between the Zugspitz and Eibsee gives the hotel an unparalleled panorama. The room, while sufficiently large, needs a little updating, and heavier curtains to keep out the early morning light, but was comfortable. The hotel has excellent food and the staff are very gracious. If you are skiing Garmisch, it will take you about 10 minutes to the lift, but the train station in Grainau is only a few minutes away.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night during a weekend getaway to the Garmisch area. We checked in during late afternoon and were unable to see the glacier or lake due to thick fog. But were amazed by the lakefront view we awoke to the next morning, it was absolutely breathtaking to see the lake, mountains and stars out the hotel room window!!! We enjoyed a relaxing evening by the heated pool, a delicious dinner for two offering local and seasonal items made to order. The breakfast was a gourment spread and was a perfect meal to start the day before heading up to the glacier. The staff were very accommodating, they allowed us to stay parked in the hotel lot for the entire day after checking out while we visited the Zugspitz area. Hotel decor is older traditional bavarian style and the hotel could benefit from a renovation but the room were clean and comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a lake front room, at least for one night, the view before and during sunrise is a memorable ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel and I can only say it was fantastic I cannot praise it enough we had a Lake/Mountain view it is worth the extra money for this, the rooms where clean and comfortable and the restaurant staff where fantastic especially Hans Peter he exc elled himself with his German Hospitality even going fishing with my husband on his afternoon off thank you very much Hans Hope to see you next year.

Room Tip: make sure you have a lake/mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eibsee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eibsee Hotel

Address: Am Eibsee 1-3 | Eibsee, 82491 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Eibsee Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Eibsee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Eibsee Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.