We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a Nice Bavarian Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edelweiss to your Saves list
Hotel Edelweiss
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Martinswinkelstr. 15-17, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
leeds
Top Contributor
213 reviews 213 reviews
205 hotel reviews
Reviews in 174 cities Reviews in 174 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a Nice Bavarian Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel manages to combine an olde world Bavarian style with a modern and well maintained feel which is quite difficult to achieve. Its built in the traditional local style with wooden balconies with colourful flowering plants (ours was huge)and has a nice garden to the rear bordering the river, which you can hear from the rooms.

Our room was large, well furnished, again in antique style, though everything seemed new and was very clean. It faced the road so we had a little traffic noise with the windows open but generally its a pretty quiet road. The beds were very comfy and we slept well (probably helped by walking 15 miles + per day!)

Breakfast was served up to 10 am which is good and was a huge choice of well prepared and tasty options.

The hotel is situated around 10 minutes walk from town (15-20 mins if you go the scenic route along the river), in a suburban road. The hotel charges 5 euros per day for parking in their garage but this isnt really necessary as there did seem to be on -street parking available.

The staff were very friendly and spoke good English and the hotel seemed very well run. We enjoyed our time in Ga-Pa and will return and will aim to stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    44
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
64
115
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The family staff members at this charming little hotel are most friendly and accommodating. From the moment we walked in, we felt welcomed. Not only our room, but the entire facility was spotless. Now for the best, dinner at the restaurant was simply amazing! How could they serve such great dishes for so little?

Plenty of free parking and only 3 miles from town. Don't miss out on this one. September 14, 2013.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Edelweiss early September. The hotel was so beautiful! Our room was on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the garden and the sound of the river. Magical view of the mountains from our private balcony! Spotless room, lobby and charming dining room. Every staff member was warm and attentive making us feel very welcome. The owners take great pride in their hotel and are delighted to help with any request. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful served with grace and charm by the staff. The town of Garmish itself is quaint and the locals are very friendly. We were so lucky to take advantage of 3 free summer concerts during our visit.

We were so impressed with our initial impression that after seeing our room we were lucky to add 2 more days to our stay.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the mountains and the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul / Turkey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed only one night at hotel arriving in the evening but we had the opportunity to enjoy their lovely green backyard before we leave for Munich. The room was decorated with old stuff but it was spacious with a clean big bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was very kind and helpful. It's easy to find a free parking spot on the street. The city center is very close, only a couple of minutes away by walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having previously stayed at Hotel Edelweiss we knew what to expect and again we were not disappointed. Our room was a two bedroom family suite complete with a separate living room and bathroom. As well the suite had a small balcony with a beautiful view of the Zugspitze, the highest Mountain in Germany. The staff were amazing with helpful hints and always ready to give a hand. What makes this hotel especially memorable for us are the owners, Mr. and Mrs. Pilhofer, who are amazing hosts. Attentive and friendly there goal is always to ensure that the guest is happy and that has always been our experience so far. Clean rooms, attentive and friendly staff coupled with an amazing buffet breakfast in the morning make Hotel Edelweiss an excellent choice for accommodation if you are visiting the Garmish area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Hotel Edelweiss is a lovely Bavarian style hotel situated on a quiet residential street in Garmish Partenkirchen. Garmish itself is a lovely German town with a nice pedestrian walking and shopping street. It takes about 10 minutes or so to walk to the main shopping street of the town from the hotel. The views of the mountains are wonderful. The room was large and clean with a small balcony facing out to the quiet street.The bathroom was larger than most we had experienced on our trip to Europe. The breakfast was excellent with a plentiful variety of items, served in a spacious breakfast room on the first floor. Make sure you leave time to visit the Zugspitz, Germany's highest mountain peak. A fantastic experience, especially when the weather is clear and beautiful. The walk around the Eibsee, situated below the mountain was also a highlight of our trip. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Garmische-Partenkirchen is a lovely town surrounded by mountains. The views and ambiance are wonderful. The Hotel Edelweiss has excellent underground parking but booking a space is essential. The ground floor bedroom we occupied was well furnished and spacious and led onto a private terrace with table, two chairs and a sun umbrella. The hotel gardens can be enjoyed all day long but come into there own especially in late afternoon and evening when you can relax and order light refreshments. They do not have a restaurant but offer snacks instead which we found perfectly adequate after a long day site seeing. Breakfast can be taken in the breakfast room or garden. Our visit here coincided with a local beer and music festival and was a high point in our visit. I couldn't give full marks as our room did not have air conditioning and the hotel lacked a full restaurant. However the owner and reception staff are delightful, made us very welcome and even gave my wife a chocolate bar when we left!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Martinswinkelstr. 15-17, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Edelweiss 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.