We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE REVIEWS ARE SPOT ON!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Edelweiss

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Edelweiss to your Saves list
Hotel Edelweiss
Martinswinkelstr. 15-17, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“THE REVIEWS ARE SPOT ON!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

The family staff members at this charming little hotel are most friendly and accommodating. From the moment we walked in, we felt welcomed. Not only our room, but the entire facility was spotless. Now for the best, dinner at the restaurant was simply amazing! How could they serve such great dishes for so little?

Plenty of free parking and only 3 miles from town. Don't miss out on this one. September 14, 2013.

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    42
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
58
107
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed at the Hotel Edelweiss early September. The hotel was so beautiful! Our room was on the second floor with a balcony overlooking the garden and the sound of the river. Magical view of the mountains from our private balcony! Spotless room, lobby and charming dining room. Every staff member was warm and attentive making us feel very welcome. The owners take great pride in their hotel and are delighted to help with any request. Breakfast was delicious and plentiful served with grace and charm by the staff. The town of Garmish itself is quaint and the locals are very friendly. We were so lucky to take advantage of 3 free summer concerts during our visit.

We were so impressed with our initial impression that after seeing our room we were lucky to add 2 more days to our stay.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the mountains and the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul / Turkey
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed only one night at hotel arriving in the evening but we had the opportunity to enjoy their lovely green backyard before we leave for Munich. The room was decorated with old stuff but it was spacious with a clean big bathroom. Breakfast was delicious and the staff was very kind and helpful. It's easy to find a free parking spot on the street. The city center is very close, only a couple of minutes away by walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Having previously stayed at Hotel Edelweiss we knew what to expect and again we were not disappointed. Our room was a two bedroom family suite complete with a separate living room and bathroom. As well the suite had a small balcony with a beautiful view of the Zugspitze, the highest Mountain in Germany. The staff were amazing with helpful hints and always ready to give a hand. What makes this hotel especially memorable for us are the owners, Mr. and Mrs. Pilhofer, who are amazing hosts. Attentive and friendly there goal is always to ensure that the guest is happy and that has always been our experience so far. Clean rooms, attentive and friendly staff coupled with an amazing buffet breakfast in the morning make Hotel Edelweiss an excellent choice for accommodation if you are visiting the Garmish area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

The Hotel Edelweiss is a lovely Bavarian style hotel situated on a quiet residential street in Garmish Partenkirchen. Garmish itself is a lovely German town with a nice pedestrian walking and shopping street. It takes about 10 minutes or so to walk to the main shopping street of the town from the hotel. The views of the mountains are wonderful. The room was large and clean with a small balcony facing out to the quiet street.The bathroom was larger than most we had experienced on our trip to Europe. The breakfast was excellent with a plentiful variety of items, served in a spacious breakfast room on the first floor. Make sure you leave time to visit the Zugspitz, Germany's highest mountain peak. A fantastic experience, especially when the weather is clear and beautiful. The walk around the Eibsee, situated below the mountain was also a highlight of our trip. Highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Garmische-Partenkirchen is a lovely town surrounded by mountains. The views and ambiance are wonderful. The Hotel Edelweiss has excellent underground parking but booking a space is essential. The ground floor bedroom we occupied was well furnished and spacious and led onto a private terrace with table, two chairs and a sun umbrella. The hotel gardens can be enjoyed all day long but come into there own especially in late afternoon and evening when you can relax and order light refreshments. They do not have a restaurant but offer snacks instead which we found perfectly adequate after a long day site seeing. Breakfast can be taken in the breakfast room or garden. Our visit here coincided with a local beer and music festival and was a high point in our visit. I couldn't give full marks as our room did not have air conditioning and the hotel lacked a full restaurant. However the owner and reception staff are delightful, made us very welcome and even gave my wife a chocolate bar when we left!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights and have to say the owners were very pleasant, and the staff were delightful,. room was basic but had a lovely small balcony. breakfast was plentiful .The garden at the rear was delightful in the evening to sit and have a beer .Good location and staff always helpful when we asked for tourist info. Highly recommended

Room Tip: room at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Edelweiss? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Edelweiss

Address: Martinswinkelstr. 15-17, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Edelweiss reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Edelweiss, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.