We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as you see from photos, don't trust photos” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Garmischer Hof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Garmischer Hof to your Saves list
Hotel Garmischer Hof
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Chamonixstrasse 10, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
bangkok
1 review
“Not as good as you see from photos, don't trust photos”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2010

Very hard bed, also we are booking for 4 single beds, they confirm to give us all single beds, but later on when we check in, we get only two single very hard beds and one very small sofa bed for 2 persons, the room got kitchen but the door to kitchen is locked, the reception said if I want to open the kitchen door must pay extra money, also no tea pot for tea or coffee in the room, we have to get our hot water from restaurant, don't trust the photos that they display, we have city view so my window view is somebody apartment no view at all, only good thing about this hotel is location, but this is small town anyway, not suggest to stay this hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    38
    13
    8
    4
See reviews for
17
33
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

Stayed with four other family members whose rooms far exceeded ours. We were in a smallish darker double with a long balcoy overlooking the mountians. The other two couples had roomy newly refurbished rooms: one overlooking the main street, the other overlooking the mountians.
Breakfast was wonderful and the location could not be beat. We were here to view thePassion Play at nearby Oberamagau. We had a great time and stayed two nights.
Dinner was included one night with our tour and it was very good. Staff could not have been any more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I was absolutely impressed with this hotel. It's a beautiful hotel located right in the middle of downtown Garmisch. Everything you can ask for is within minutes walking distance. Lots of great shopping acorss the street, great ice cream shops, great restaurants down the street from the hotel, a cafe across the street. Like I said everything and anything you need is walking distance.

The breakfast is included with your stay, and so is the relaxing sauna. The breakfast is very good, it's a great start to a long day of sightseeing and/or skiing. The service during breakfast is great. The sauna seemed to be very relaxing and would have been a great thing to do after a long day of walking, unfortunately I didn't get around to going. Kids are allowed in the Sauna with the parents, just bring a swim suit or a robe for your child. They don't have robes in kid's sizes.

The service at the hotel was great! Very kid friendly! There was no additional cost for a bed for my son. There is no additional cost for kids under 7 years of age. Let me talk about the service.....once we checked in we were escorted to our room and they make sure everything is fine, then we were shown the sauna room where they offer massages and other spa services (for an additional cost). The staff at the front desk were very friendly and helpful.

F.Y.I.
This hotel accepts the VAT form! Just let them know you will be using one when you check in.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chantilly, VA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

Had a great 6 day stay at this hotel. Close to a lot of attractions. The staff was fantastic and very helpful. The room was a wee bit small, but it was just myself in the room and I only slept there. So no problem at all.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

This hotel was really, really great - we showed up without a reservation and were shown a room at the very top with a balcony looking out to the mtns. Headroom was a little low in a couple of spots, but aside from that, the room was quite large and very, very comfortable. Nice thick towels in the bathroom, robes and slippers to wear and access to part of the spa included in the 108 Euros/night rate. They have "budget rooms" for under 100, but this was the first room we were shown and we loved it. Free, fast WI-FI - with routers on every floor. Breakfast buffet in the morning was huge - platters of meat & cheeses, scrambled eggs & bacon, cereals, muesli, yogurt, fruit, breads/buns/sweet loaf. A huge leafed-tea selection and great coffee available as well. Some of the coffee carafes/cream/sugar containers are engraved with the family name of the hotel owners. Mini bar was well stocked and not exorbitantly priced.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, FL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2008

This was the first hotel we stayed at for our honeymoon. The staff was very helpful via email for booking and we received a good price of 108 euro per night. The room was small, but cheery with a large balcony. The breakfast buffet was great, and the small bar in the lobby very convenient for a night cap. We were even able to borrow a corkscrew and wine glasses to enjoy a bottle in our room. As a previous reviewer said, the spa was very nice although we weren't sure what the large foot baths were for. Overall we were very pleased with this hotel

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2008

Just to set the scene - we are neither to fussy nor new to 5-star hotels. Had a fantastic stay here. Beautiful mountain views, helpful staff, fantastic evening chef, and finally, in our opinion, the spa that deserves proper praise. We were dining quite late, and they would keep the kitchen open just for us. The front desk was as helpful, be it the directions, the tickets or the local tips. The room was fairly basic, but spacious and warm. Two single beds shoved together, but still comfortable. Good sized bathroom. Perhaps take this with a pinch of salt as I understand they have rooms of different size.
Now to the spa. Why are they not rated at least 4 stars? The spa is a lot better than those in the 5-star hotels we stayed at. Massive newly refurbished sauna, steam room, foot massage pools, and a selection of massage etc treatments.
The restaurant in the evening was so good we wouldn't go outside for a meal. The setting had a pleasant character, the food and service were on par with expectations. There was some construction work in the hotel nearby, but this did not bother us at all as we were out during the day.
Summary: A pleasant surprise. Delighted.

  • Liked — Restaurant, spa
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Garmischer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Garmischer Hof

Address: Chamonixstrasse 10, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Garmischer Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Garmischer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Garmischer Hof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.