We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In town and close to all the restaurant so no driving.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Roter Hahn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Roter Hahn to your Saves list
Hotel Roter Hahn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bahnhofstrasse 44, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“In town and close to all the restaurant so no driving.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went to Garmisch on March 8, 2013 and we were delighted to stay at this wonderful hotel. We were met by Julie in the lobby with a big chocolate cake and wine. We were made to feel at home as she introduced us to her wonderful family. We had a two bedroomed/2 bath room. Very clean with nice fluffy comforters and pillows. Both bedrooms had tv a must for us Americans. When we looked out our window we could see the mountains. They have a nice indoor pool/sauna. What I liked most about this hotel was that we did not have to drive to explore the town and it was beautiful to visit. Garmisch is a bustling town with charm and elegance. Breakfast was lovely with fruit, meats, salmon and all sorts of breads and cheeses. Stef showed us how to access the internet a must for us. The dining room was delightful and mom came down to eat also. It was great for kids also because they could go and explore the town and it was safe. We will be back next year for sure. A thumbs up from Clarks Summit Pa.
Very private and quiet hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
29
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clarks Summit, Pennsylvania, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We checked in on the 8th of March 2013 and we were greeted by the owners who brought out fabulous German cake and wine. The hotel is in the middle of this beautiful little town called Garmisch so we could walk everywhere. We were shown around the hotel that had a great pool area and the dining rooms that were spotless. It is owner occupied so we felt at home. We had a great view of the mountains from our two bedroomed one bath room. Lovely down comforters and huge big fluffy pillows. We had tv in both rooms with CNN AND BBC a must for us. Julie the owner and her husband could not have made us feel more at home. Breakfast was served everyday with a great selection of breads, cheeses, fruit, ham and salmon and it was included in the rate. We got to explore the town which is beautiful and got to go skiing all within walking distance.

The rooms were warm and cosy and bathrooms very clean. We left on the 13th and felt we left a family behind. We will be back for sure every year just because it was a trip of a lifetime and we enjoyed being in the town with walking distance to everything.

The hotel was very quiet and the town was beautiful -

Thank you Hotel Roter Hahn

Room Tip: Tell the owners what you want and they will put you in the room that fits your needs. They really c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Roter Hahn for one week in January. We were fortunate to be accommodated in a beautiful , spacious corner room. The bed was very comfortable and cozy with a traditional goose down comforter. The bathroom was large, the room was very clean. We even had a good view of the mountains. The breakfast in the morning was delightful.

This hotel is in a good location; easy walking distance to the village and the train station. We rented a car while we were there and parked right behind the hotel. The staff was very helpful and informative. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mountaintrecker
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel is perfectly located for the train station, the old town of Garmisch and also only a short walk from the old town of Partenkirchen. Upon arrival were given a very warm welcome by the receptionist and checkin-in was quick and easy. Our room was located at the front of the hotel. It was a nice enough room, good size, very clean and comfortable beds. Unfortunately there is a lot of construction going on outside the hotel which was a bit of an eye sore from the window and also very noisey first thing every morning. Also the hotel is located on a main road so there's a lot of traffic passing which is also very noisey. Not what you need at 6am after a night on the town!!!! The breakfast was adequate but for the price we paid per night I'd have expected it to have been a bit more varied and some warm foods on offer to. The swimming pool was very nice and perfect for relaxing in after a day hiking.

My only real complaint was that we found the receptionist to be a bit too over bearing. Upon arrival she asked us what we liked to eat and we explained we were vegetarian. She joked that Bavaria is meat eating country and we laughed and said we were both very aware of that. She then told us where we should go to eat and get a good salad and she assumed that's what we'd be doing that and she asked us everytime we saw her if we'd been. It was helpful of her but we don't appreciate it when people assume all veggies eat is salad! As soon we got into our room I got on the wifi and found out there was an Indian restaurant and Mexican within 5 mins of the hotel of which both had plenty of vegetarian dishes (why had she not recommended these?). Also we were asked questions everytime we passed the reception and being reserved people we just found that a bit too much. Some people may like it (in fact it was clear some did) and prefer it to having a miserable stern receptionist. At the end of the day she was very warm and friendly, spoke perfect English and more than helpful!

I'd recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a decent hotel bang in the middle of the town.

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the hotel to avoid noise from contruction / traffic. However it's nice to se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

This hotel was recomended to us by a german motorcyclist we met at a Mcdonalds in Munich whilst my bike was being fixed, we had never met him before and when we told him we were off to Garmish he told us we must stay at this Hotel.

Being cold wet and a bit unhappy we thought well we have nothing to loose, so we rang on the off chance, the staff couldnt have been more helpful and we were booked in for 2 nights.

We arrived at the Hotel some 4 hours later cold very wet, the staff couldnt be more helpful, got us quickly booked in, said all our soaking bike gear would dry in the room and later provided with newspaper to help dry out my soaking boots. The staff told us where to get a good quality meal and told us we wouldnt starve in Garmish.

We went up into our room , it was clean and tidy and quite large with plenty of storage space, wardrobes ect and a little electric safe, which is always nice.

The bathroom was well laid out and stocked with towels shampoo's ect and seemed to have some sort of underfloor heating, and a glass door which sometimes banged when sliding along.

The room also had a balcony that you could sit out on which had views of the surrounding hills.

The room was quite and warm, the beds a good size, slept really well.

The next day were tried the pool, it was really nice to be swimming about looking out of a big window at the rain, the staff provided robes for 5 euros which could be used many times for the pool, it was a nice way to relax.

The staff were very helpful with things to see and places to visit, providing a map of the area and general recomendations.

The Hotel is in the center of Garmish and verything is in walking distance.

There was parking spaces for our bikes and overall we really enjoyed our stay and would definatly return.

Finally breakfast, these are always a treat in Germany and the Hotel Roter Hahn did not dissapoint.

If you like good service, freindly staff, good rooms and a big breakfast this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Found this hotel online by accident, great value, right in the heart of the city, two blocks max from the train station. Exit the train station and turn left, look for the big red rooster on the building and that is it. Rooms are very clean, staff courteous to a fault, very nice to have such a warm reception and delightful people and hotel in a city I frequent on a regular basis. I will surely stay here in the future and recommend it to anyone coming to this city. Not often in Europe does the host bring you a full pot of coffee to your table for breakfast. Excellent, most excellent place to stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, Norfolk, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Steven & Julie could not have been more helpful or plesant, they were very helpful in giving advice on trips out and how to go about doing things. The hotel is perfectly situated at one end of the main street in Garmisch. The centre with lots of choice for food and drink is less than 5 minutes walk. The train station is less than 2 minutes walk, and a bus stop opposite the main door. Parking was plentiful in there own car park situated behind the main desk. The pool and garden are stunning, but we did not get time to use the sauna. Breakfast was good with nice fresh roll, break, cake, fruit, cereal + caffee, tea & juices. I would not hesitate to recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Try to get one out the front of the hotel with a balcony for a view of the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Roter Hahn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Roter Hahn

Address: Bahnhofstrasse 44, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Spa
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#7 Family Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Roter Hahn 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your 3-Star Hotel right in the heart of Garmisch. Hiking, Skiing, Bicycling or relaxing in our indoor pool with sauna & solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Roter Hahn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roter Hahn Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Roter Hahn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.