We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cold swimming pool” 2 of 5 stars
Review of H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen to your Saves list
H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alpspitzstrasse 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly TREFF HOTEL Alpina)   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very cold swimming pool”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We booked this as we wanted a hotel with a pool that was fairly close to the station and close-ish to the skiing.
The location was probably the only positive about the trip.

The pool was ridiculously cold - apparently it was 27 degrees - the internet tells me this is the temp one would expect of an swimmers training pool, not what one would want for relaxing on holiday! When we questioned this at reception we were greeted with an exceedingly aggresive "its at 27 degrees" - yes, well this is too cold - and we were not the only people to attempt and fail to use the pool.

Then, having pre-paid the whole trip i returned home to find an extra night had been taken from my credit card, and by the time this was refunded the exchange rate had changed so I am still out of pocket!

Not impressed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    55
    21
    16
    11
See reviews for
38
75
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

Booked a romantic night away in the mountains but the room was probably the smallest I've ever stayed in - clearly the 'booby prize'. We had booked a 'superior room' so I dread to think what standard would be in comparison. Bed pushed into one corner and the ceiling so low by the window that my partner couldn't fully stand up. No bath, just a shower with a plastic curtain.

We also selected the hotel because it has a pool but the water temperature was so Arctic that we only managed to stay in for a few minutes.

We were unlucky but these things spoiled our overall experience.

On the plus side, staff are friendly and the location is good.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Good location, 2 blocks from the center of Garmisch. Very clean, large room. Hardest bed I have slept in of any German hotel stay. Medium bathroom with a dysfunctional shower head that had to be propped to hold in place. No safe to store valuables. Minibar lacked sufficient items as advertised. The breakfast was not what was advertised, disappointing. WIFI available for a price through TELECOM. This is not a 4 star hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed two nights in november 2012 and we did like this little and cozy hotel.
The room are big and the breakfast is delicious
The restaurant in the hotel is very romantic, but should have the menu in english language.
There are free parking places outside, so, if you arrive early, you won't have to pay to park inside.
The rate was fair and it is located a walking distance from the main street, were most of the good stores and restaurants are located.
Once in Garmish, you can't miss the train to the Zugspitze mountain and the walk through the Partnach Gorge, both are really beautiful and breathtaking attractions.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

thank you for your very nice review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Garmisch-Partenkirchen and in our TREFF Hotel. We hope that we will someday be able to welcome you again.

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Well, not sure about the bad reviews I read below since we have nothing but rave reviews about the Treff Alpina. Location? Excellent! Room? Excellent! Amenities? Excellent! Breakfast? Excellent! From the time we walked in the door until we left nothing but kudos! Our room was big, clean and provided a wonderful view of the Zugspitz. The pool and spa facilities are wonderful and my wife really liked the Beauty Farm. The weather was amazingly nice for mid-November so we decided to hike, we requested a packed lunch from the hotel and "viola" it was ready when we were - 4 sandwiches, fruit, snack bars, drink provided with a smile (not free, but well done). I will say the cleaning staff could pay a little more attention to stocking the mini bar, a ensuring trash bags are replaced, and cleaning in the communal areas, but at the end of the day...? Minor based on the price and ammenities. We could live here and be happy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicole K, Manager at H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a great pleasure having you with us. We are excited about all this praise and thank you for this excellent review. Thank you for your information about our cleaning staff and will discuss this internally. We hope that we someday will be able to welcome you once again with us.

Your team of TREFF Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Nicole Krötz – Online Reputation Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked the hotel for a quick weekend retreat in August 2012. The hotel advertised "warmly decorated, spacious rooms" with balconies providing "views of the surrounding Bavarian countryside" and a spa so we hoped we are going to have a nice weekend in this picturesque Bavarian town we like.

Well, our expectations came far from fulfilled. First, the room we received was nothing like the one shown on the pictures provided by the hotel upon booking. The room was facing a busy street generating a lot of traffic noise, the beautful Alpine peaks surrounding Garmisch were visible only with a lot of fantasy involved, room was reasonably clean but very dark and its small size and sparse furniture (just one old wobbly chair) were definitely NOT something one would expect from a 4 star hotel. The minibar was also inadequate - few soft drinks, just one bottle of beer, no wine, no spirits. Safe deposit box did not work.

Many things in this hotel come in dispensers (such a soap, kleenex etc.). The problem is that the staff generally does not bother to check when the dispenser is about to be empty, which results in a funny situations such as that the soap runs out in the middle of the shower, etc.

The spa - another funny thing. On the first day the pool was out of order completely, on the second day the water in the so called "indoor heated pool" was as cold as in the Baltic sea.

Breakfast was adequate for a 4 star hotel, however, not more than that. Location perfect for Garmisch, the pedestrian promenade just few hundred meters away. For Partenkirchen it is 15-20 minute walk to reach the historical Ludwigstrasse. The train station and its surrounding nightlife area are about 10 minutes on foot. Parking is possible in the hotel's underground parking for a fee, however, as there are plenty of free parking spaces in the surrounding streets we did not bother.

To summarize - we would expect more from a 4 star hotel. Although the price was not exorbitant (we paid little over EUR 100 per night) there definitely are much better deals in Ga-Pa for such price or even substantially less.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street as there is quite a substantial traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I have been visiting Garmisch off and on for the last 10 years. I finally decided to stay at the Hotel Alpina since several of my co-workers recommended the hotel and a majority of the reviews were very positive. When we made our reservations using one of the .com travel sites we requested a double room and a triple room. Upon arriving we were given a double room and double room and a single room with a shared bathroom. We had to wait for the desk clerk to check the rooms to see if they were ready. This was at 8:45pm. All the rooms were small and my double room smelled horrible. When I complained to the desk clerk about the smell I was told they didn’t have any other rooms available because they were completely booked. I had to ask for compensation which they agreed to. It was minimal. My daughter and Niece stayed in the other double room and my sister in-law stayed in the attached single room. They were in first floor rooms facing the street and were woken up at 5am by the delivery truck bringing linens to the hotel. The truck tailgate moved up and down and the carts were pushed over the asphalt into the hotel. My daughter thought a bulldozer was knocking down the hotel wall. This went on until 7am. The breakfast buffet added insult to injury. The facilities were too small to adequately handle the number of diners and any of the popular food items ran out very quickly. You had to hover over those items waiting with plate in hand in order to get anything once it was refilled. The moral of this story is, “If you use a travel .com site to get a cheaper price then expect subpar accommodations.” How this hotel ever received a 4 star rating is beyond me!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Address: Alpspitzstrasse 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly TREFF HOTEL Alpina)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and full of hospitality in a terrific location and a countrified quiescence, but still close to the centre. Let yourself be enchanted of the heavenly scenery with a grandiose view at the Wetterstein-Mountains with the Alpspitze and the Zugspitze.From here you will get to do all the sports activities and you have a short way to the congress house, the spa park, the casino and the 800 meters distant Olympia Stadium.You park in front of the hotel for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treff Hotel Alpina Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Alpina Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H+ Hotel Alpina Garmisch-Partenkirchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.