We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TREFF HOTEL Alpina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added TREFF HOTEL Alpina to your Saves list
TREFF HOTEL Alpina
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Alpspitzstrasse 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Cheshire, Connecticut
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My husband and I loved this hotel. The rooms were spacious, updated and spotless. It was about a block from the center of town so it was quiet. It was so nice sitting on our balcony overlooking the Alps! The beds were very comfortable and the breakfast buffet had lots of choices that were fresh and delicious, in fact, the highlight of our stay! It was very convenient and the staff spoke English which made it easy for us too. We would definitely stay here again without a doubt!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    46
    20
    14
    11
See reviews for
31
68
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

I stayed here with 2 friends for a long weekend. The breakfast buffet was impressive in its range and taste. I ate lots of pretzels with joy as well as other goodies like different egg and cheese choices, smoke salmon, breads, fruit and yogurt and musli, etc. My non-vegetarian friends had lots of sausage and meat choices as well. The room was pretty big with a nice door to outside. We spent a little time by the indoor pool and one evening in the sauna/steam room facilities which were very large. The atmosphere was slightly Catskills lodge like in Dirty Dancing, but the staff was amazingly gracious in their Bavarian outfits and smiles. Everyone spoke good English and gave directions and suggestions when needed. I would recommend this. Look for online deals. It wasn't backpacker cheap, but reasonable for 3 people to split and a great location to get to town, the buses and train.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearland, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed here because the room we booked at another hotel was unavailable due to roof problems. That hotel booked us here, and we were skeptical, but found the room size, balconies and views, and central location were much better than where we booked. This was my second favorite room during an eight night trip around Franconia and Bavaria. Everything except the weather was perfect. I loved the balcony overlooking the garden with a beautiful view of the snow covered Alps. Breakfast was great, and the staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

After reading Trip Advisor reviews and comparing to other hotels in Garmisch, we chose Treff Hotel and I'm sad to report it was not nearly as wonderful as the TA reviewers claimed. I was traveling with business colleague so we reserved two rooms. He chose the "single" and I did the "double" thinking it might be bigger. My double reservation stated it was "spacious room with balcony". After checking in, my colleague found his room to be a smaller than US standard single bed in a very small room. It was just one night so he wasn't complaining. On the other hand, my "double" room ended up being two single rooms with a shared bathroom and common area. They gave me keys to both rooms so I did not have to worry about sharing the bathroom with a stranger, but it was quite odd and the rooms/beds very small. We joked that I was "upgraded" to a 2 bedroom suite. LOL. This hotel is old and had strange odors throughout. The locks on doors were all different and did not give you good sense of confidence they would stop anyone from entering. Worst of all, my room smelled like sewer. When asking hotel to move me to another room, they claimed hotel sold out and all they could do was give me free dinner or 20 euro discount on room rate. They did send maid to wash floor of bathroom and spray air freshener plus put a stick up air freshener next to my bed. It was really bad. I ended up keeping door to my room closed as well as door to bathroom...and in bathroom left the window wide open. It is possible I was not my day and I was having bad luck, but even if the room didn't smell like the toilet spilled over leaving nasty waste, it still was far from what I thought I reserved. And...the closest thing to a balcony was stinky smokers balcony about 20 meters down the hall. All that said, if you get lucky with better room and don't mind strange smells, the hotel is short drive to the Hausberg lodge & ski lifts...although it is a very long walk (~1K) so you need to drive. Staff was very nice and did try to accomodate.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VolkerLux, Manager at TREFF HOTEL Alpina, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Dear Mr Lee,

first of all I would like to introduce myself. My name is Volker Lux and I am the general manager of the TREFF Hotel Alpina. I would like to point out that I put very high importance on all guest comments and therefore would like to thank you for spending the time to write one – even if you critisize us. I do not want to mention all of the details again, but i feel very sorry for the occured disadvantages. Unfortunately I did not have the time to meet you during your stay however it would be a great pleasure for me if you decide to spend again your holidays with us.
Please be so kind as to contact me directly in case of booking a room again in the
TREFF HOTEL Alpina Garmisch-Partenkrichen.

For further questions or inquiries please do not hesitate to contact me anytime under the Email: garmisch@treff-hotels.de

Yours sincerely

Volker Lux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Garmisch-Partenkirchen hotels

Darnestown, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Alpina is a traditional Bavarian hotel located near the center of Garmisch. It is convenient to the train station, and main taxi stand, and is an easy walk to restaurants and shopping. The rooms are larger than most Bavarian hotels, and the included breakfast is terrific offering freshly cooked omelets, local cheeses, breads, and meats. The restaurant serves great Bavarian food, and there is a bar in the lobby as well. The staff at the Alpina, from the GM to the desk staff, were all outstanding--friendly, helpful, and fluent in English. There was no request that was not handled with efficiency and courtesy. The view is also incredible. One downside is the lack of reliable wireless Internet access. You must purchase a card to log in, and not all rooms get a decent signal. There is a PC in the lobby which you can use for free. If you are going for an event at the Edelweiss, the taxi is about 9 Euro, or you can leisurely walk it in about 25 minutes. I would not hesitate to stay there again, either for business or family travel.

Room Tip: Check the wireless signal in your room before you commit. Rooms facing the back have a great view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel. Rooms are big and very clean. Beautifully decorated for the holidays. There is just such a cozy feel to this hotel! Morning breakfast was very nice too! We usually stay in the US military hotel Eidleweiss. It was booked this time so we stayed here. Love the US hotel, but this was a wonderful surprise!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, OK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

In September I was staying in this hotel and enjoyed it very much! It's a typical Bavarian building matching in style to the town that looks like an illustration to old fairy tales. The rooms are of decent size with big windows overlooking the mountains. It's clean and comfortable. The stuff is very friendly. They serve good european breakfast. On negative side I have to note that they do not provide such toiletries as shampoo/conditioner, shower gel, etc. But it might be a common case in Germany. Internet is also overpriced (5 euro/hr). The town is small and location is not an issue. Their business center is an old PC in a corner of a lobby. The closest Airport is Munich and the train station is a walking distance, though I'd recommend to call a cab if with luggage.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to TREFF HOTEL Alpina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TREFF HOTEL Alpina

Address: Alpspitzstrasse 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TREFF HOTEL Alpina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and full of hospitality in a terrific location and a countrified quiescence, but still close to the centre. Let yourself be enchanted of the heavenly scenery with a grandiose view at the Wetterstein-Mountains with the Alpspitze and the Zugspitze.From here you will get to do all the sports activities and you have a short way to the congress house, the spa park, the casino and the 800 meters distant Olympia Stadium.You park in front of the hotel for free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hospitality Alliance AG Deutschland, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your TREFF HOTEL Alpina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Treff Hotel Alpina Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Alpina Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TREFF HOTEL Alpina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.