We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cosy hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bavaria

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Bavaria to your Saves list
Hotel Bavaria
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Partnachstrasse 51, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Naaldwijk, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very cosy hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

In a quiet street not far away from the center of charming Garmisch we found this cosy romantic hotel. The family admosphere is all around. We loved it..

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    41
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
20
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leatherhead
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This hotel is just off the centre of Garmisch, so quiet yet convenient. We had a very comfortable room with a new and luxurious bathroom, and a balcony with a view of the mountains. The third bed for my son was a sofa, not ideal, but he was comfortable enough - not sure it would have done for an adult. A very German feel, all the other guests were German, many semed to be old friends returning every year. A taste of real German food and hospitality. We would be very happy to return. Garmisch is a great centre for walking, lots of cable cars and easy to use buses. Don't miss the Eibsee lake for a swim on a hot day, or the great french restaurant, La Vie, just around the corner, if you've had enough German cuisine.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest Lake, MN
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

This was a cute little hotel tucked away right on the river, yet away from the city traffic. The staff spoke English which was very nice, the beds were some of the best we had all throughout Germany & France. We had a double room with a balcony and a HUGE bathroom. We just loved it here. We would come in late (10pm) from a day of travel, and the wonderful man that worked nights would get us 3 beers from the kitchen for 9 Euro. The breakfast was everything you need, light but just perfect. We didn't eat any other meals here. For the price of the room, the location and Garmisch as a city in general, we will definitely be back!

Breen Family from USA, MN & Strand Family from Germany

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo i Rana, Norway
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

We were 3 families staying in 3 different rooms for one night. The hotel is located centrally in GP with good parking facilities both onsite and nearbye.
The kitchen serves an OK dinner, and a modest but good quality breakfast. The coffee was particularly good. The rooms were clean and all our rooms had rather big balconies. The staff was friendly and gave us great service, especially as we arrived late for dinner just as the kitchen was about to close in the evening. The hotel does not have a lift, but carrying the suitcases to the second floor was not a big problem. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to others staying in GP.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2011

Wonderful small hotel with nice rooms, a bed and breakfast feel, and a friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed here for just one night thankfully. I had checked the Trip Advisor rating before booking but can;t agree that it is any better than avaerage and that's being generous. The hotel is shrouded in shrubbery which gives it a rather depressing appearance. It is very dated Tyrolean in appearance, furnishings and decor.
Our room had one combined door / window which could only be open or closed (no tilt facility) and it didn't let much light in. The sombre decor made the room quite unwelcoming.
The TV was postioned over the head of the bed so you couldn't watch it whilst in bed and room seating was minimal. The shower room was OK and all was clean.
Breakfast was typically continental but only a limited choice. We didn't eat at the hotel in the evening.
Can't recommend this one at all.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moba46, Inhaber at Hotel Bavaria, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
Dear Reviewer,
>
> We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay in our hotel.

> We are, however, quite surprised as such a great number of reviewers praised our hotel explicitly. Can they all be so very wrong?
> We hope you'll take the time to read their reviews.

> As to the "limited choice" for breakfast: We serve
> 4 different kinds of bread, rolls and cake,
> 6 different kinds of cold cuts and charcuterie,
> a number of different cheeses and cereals,
> yoghurt, quark, fruit cocktails, fresh
> fruit and 3 kinds of fruit juices,
> boiled eggs, fried eggs, scrambled eggs or ham and eggs.
The choice is yours!

Our hotel is in a prime location in Garmisch-Partenkirchen, amazingly central and yet completely quiet. It is surrounded by a large idyllic garden and bordered by the river Partnach

One last comment: Don't you think it rather improper to compare 3 star and 4 star hotels without mentioning the difference in rates?

Yours sincerely,

Family v.Thurn and Seiwald-v.Thurn
Hotel Bavaria Garmisch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We stayed for 4 nights here and loved everything about this hotel. It was our home away from home. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the breakfast was amazing, with so much to choose from. They also serve a three course dinner if you feel like staying in, with a different menu every night. We had tried their dinner and it was so good, like a home cooked meal. The hotel and rooms are typically bavarian and very cosy, they are also beautifully decorated. The hotel is located in a very quiet street that is a short walk to the main street in Garmisch.
What we loved about this place was the warm, friendly atmosphere and wonderful staff, along with the peace and quietness while taking in the fantastic views of the mountains from our balcony.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Bavaria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bavaria

Address: Partnachstrasse 51, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bavaria 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for old-fashioned heartfelt hospitality? Are you hoping for an exceptionally beautiful and peaceful location in the heart of Garmisch-Partenkirchen? Do you appreciate a big idyllic garden and tasteful interiour design with all modern comforts? Do you want to be spoilt, starting your day with an extensive breakfastbuffet and ending with a delicious three-course dinner of your choice? Then we look foreward to welcoming you at Hotel Bavaria! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Bavaria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bavaria Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bavaria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.