We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice European style hotel in the center of Garmisch” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Atlas Posthotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Atlas Posthotel to your Saves list
Atlas Posthotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Marienplatz 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Clausing's Posthotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Michigan
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Nice European style hotel in the center of Garmisch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

After a rough start to our visit... we used an online trade agent, and they were not familiar with the U.S. name - the front desk representative couldn't find our reservation. Complicating the matter she refused to check confirmation numbers when I presented them. It took some prodding. With that said, once these unpleasantries were resolved, service was friendly and excellent.

This is a European style hotel right off the town central square. It is multi-level and an elevator is available.

Rooms: our room was a double, nicely sized, typical European single beds, furnished with too much (unmatching furniture), nice views of the town from most rooms, and in general in good shape. The bathroom in our room was an oversized shower (the other person that had a single room in our group had a tub/shower combo). The bathroom itself was extremely large, and was accompanied with plentiful toiletries.

Common areas: there are a few, mostly around the restaurant. The hotel has a very small front lobby.

Parking: there are about 5 spaces, and the hotel will direct you to free and paid parking places within 2 to 3 blocks. If you have not been to Garmisch, it is a pedestrian town, so walking to your car shouldn't concern you too much.

Breakfast: breakfast was included in our rate. They offered a huge breakfast buffet that included traditional European options, as well as more American offerings. Wonderful selection of fruits and breads as well. There is a self-serve espresso and cappuccino machine, or they have brewed coffee available.

All and all, we enjoyed our stay here, and the rate was a great value for a town that can often be expensive.

Room Tip: The superior room was appreciably larger than the standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    45
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
30
35
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights in February. We were a group some stayed in main hotel rooms very traditional but nice. Others stayed in the apartments across the rad. These were very modern and clean. Nice atmosphere in hotel and in a great location for both town and skiing. Ate in hotel and food and service both good.

Room Tip: Apartments very modern and big. Rooms in hotel more traditional and smaller
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

First, the hotel is centrally located in Garmisch Partenkirchen, in the middle of all the action downtown but still only a 10-minute walk from the train station. Bus stops are right outside the hotel. Rooms were very fairly priced. My wife and I got a two-bedroom suite for $110 Euros. The breakfast buffet was the best we had ever seen in three trips to Europe. It was included in the room rate. The staff was very helpful, especially Felix. And there was plenty of staff in evidence, to handle all guest needs. A very well-run hotel, and guest friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Ok, Location ,location , location! This hotel is slap dab in the middle of everything that you would want to walk to in Garmish. However, the street noise from many rooms is really bad at night so ask for a room in the back of the hotel away from the street. Some rooms are much nicer than others so ask to view your room first. All that said,the hotel was satisfactory, service was good, and the breakfast made up for the road noise. NO AC! so remember your windows will need to be open during the warm months. (we carried a fan with us to give us some relief) the price is right especially with breakfast included. Check your mattress too while you are looking at the room. Some are great, some rock hard.

Room Tip: Choose away from front and sides, try to get a back room if possible in summer. In winter I am sure...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We chose this hotel for its location and availability of an apartment for our family, and yes, the pretty facade helped too! It ended up being a good fit for us as our son (adult) could have his own room and there was a living room and kitchen. You need to request an apartment to get this and the Atlas has several chalets a block behind the regular hotel to accomodate groups like us.
The restaurant in the hotel was fine for dinner and breakfast - everything was presented beautifully and was delicious.
The shower was the only weak point.... when will Europeans mount the shower head on the wall and wrap the shower completely in glass????
Nevertheless, we enjoyed our two nights at the Atlas Posthotel, as well as this gorgeous area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

The first time we stayed at the Atlas Posthotel was 23 years ago during September. It was Oktoberfest and the main pedestrian shopping area was decorated in Bavarian banners and people were everywhere eating sausages and drinking beer. It was a wonderful experiences. The hotel was perfectly located to all the festivities. Remembering this, were booked the Posthouse again and on this visit the hotel was still a charmer, but the main pedestrian area was just a shopping district. The hotel itself is housed in a very old building. There are many aspects of the building that tell of its age, but that's what makes this place so charming and enjoyable.The room we had was huge. It included a sitting room with a convertible sofa bed, a sleeping alcove with double twin beds, an entrance hall and a HUGE, modern bathroom with double sinks, shower and a very big jetted tub. Breakfast, which was included, was a wonderful spread of hot dishes, meats (hot and cold), fresh fruit, baked goods, etc. Parking was a problem since there are only a few spaces available at the hotel, but the front desk had maps to free parking areas that were a close walk away. Overall, we had a very nice experience, and the repeat visit was woth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Juarez, Mexico
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Atlas Posthotel. The price was wonderful and the accomodations great. I would say you can not get a better deal. There were 3 of us and the room we got was big, great view, excellent. The restaurant was also a very good experience, the food great and the live music was very nice. We even took video of the pianist because he was so great at the songs he was playing. Great view of the town and mountains and great breakfast.
The location is also great since everything is very close. Had a little tough time with the parking, but nothing out of the ordinary.
Fully recomend to stay here. You will have a perfect time.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlas Posthotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlas Posthotel

Address: Marienplatz 12, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Clausing's Posthotel)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Atlas Posthotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Atlas Posthotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlas Posthotel Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Atlas Posthotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlas Posthotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.