We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel with a mountain view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen to your Saves list
Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mittenwalder Strasse 2, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Buckinghamshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Excellent value hotel with a mountain view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Some of the reviews I had read really worried me but on arrival, we were pleasantly surprised. The building is not very pretty but inside it is all nicely decorated and the reception was very welcoming. The room itself was fine - nothing to complain about at all and very comfortable for the four of us - two adults and two children. The bathroom was very small but nicely fitted out and decorated. The best thing was the view from the bedroom window - straight up to the mountains. We ate in the restaurant as it was raining and everyone was just too tired to out. Again, we were very pleasantly surprised - the food quality was excellent - lovely local dishes well-cooked and presented and not bad value for a hotel. The staff were great and made up the dishes the children wanted which made a refreshing change. The wines by the glass were lovely as was the local beer and all good value too. All in all, this hotel was far better than expected and we'd definitely return again, either if skiing or as a summer hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a mountain view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    160
    90
    18
    21
See reviews for
107
150
23
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

We stayed in this hotel after a day at Ludwig's castles, in our way to Austria.
Overall, I felt it was very good value for money. Rooms were good sized, comfortable and clean, although one could feel they were somehow old. The hotel has a small gym and small indoor swimming pool. Breakfast was excellent.Reception staff was friendly and ready to help with any questions.
As for location, I felt we were in the middle of nowhere as it was May and the whole town was asleep. Fortunately we had a car to reach the village center for dinner.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

Expected more from this hotel. Wireless Internet is not free - a 9euro supplement is payable. When I stayed, both the sauna and steam room were switched off.

As an A Club Gold member I expected more. However, I was able to redeem my vouchers even thoughmy stay was 'prepaid'. An average hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conisbrough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

Don't be put off by the exterior, which unfortunately doesn't fit in with the surrounding town of Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious and clean, and the breakfast buffet was fantastic.

I would definitely recommend a stay here. I booked through a cheap website and got a room including breakfast for a very reasonable rate. For the money I paid, I was delighted with the hotel.

Roughly 10-15 minutes from the station by foot.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen

Address: Mittenwalder Strasse 2, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#4 Casino Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#4 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#13 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen 4*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen, located in the town center, has 117 comfortable rooms equipped with Wi-Fi. The hotel has a pool, sauna and steam room and can also provided massages and beauty treatments, carried out by external businesses. A fitness center is also available and the hotel has a clay tennis court, golf practice nets, bicycles and sleds for you to use in your leisure time. 7 meeting rooms can accommodate events with up to 200 guests, and parking is free of charge.Newly renovated meeting rooms with modern technology including a studio rhetoric. Various groups working spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Mercure Garmisch Partenkirchen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Hotel Garmisch-Partenkirchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.