We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel with excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Koenigshof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Koenigshof to your Saves list
Hotel Koenigshof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Martin Strasse 4, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Quality Hotel Koenigshof)   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good hotel with excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Stayed there 2 nights. This hotel can your option if you want a hotel near train station. Service was basic, also the rooms were basic. WIFI worked well in our room and it was free. Breakfast was great before the skiing day. Nothing bad to say. Basic hotel with good quality.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    83
    31
    15
    3
See reviews for
32
77
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights. Hotel staff friendly and helpful. Rooms good quslity. A bit nondescript but nice and airy all the same. Good sauna and ski room. Breakfast good quality with squeeze your own orange juice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

The strengths of this hotel include its close location to the train station and the free breakfast which was included in our booking. WiFi is also free but we had problems with getting a signal in our room for some of our stay, so often had to log in from the lobby. Rooms are a decent size but dated in appearance. The service we received was ok, but staff do not go out of their way to be friendly or helpful like they do in some hotels. Our stay was also made less enjoyable than it might have been due to constant complaints from the person(s) staying in the room beneath ours. On returning to our room the first morning of our stay, there was a note under our door (written in German), which we were later told was a complaint about the level of noise coming from our room. We still have no idea what excessive noises we made to receive this complaint, however, for the rest of our stay the person(s) staying beneath our room would intentionally bang on the ceiling (our room's floor) to let us know whenever we sneezed, laughed, turned on the shower or walked on the floor too heavily. I'm still not sure if there was a problem with the floor being paper thin and our neighbor(s) hearing every sound we made, or whether our neighbor(s) were just hypersensitive irritants, either way this situation was annoying. For the record, we did could not hear any noises coming from the people to the sides or above us, so if there was a noise insulation problem it seemed restricted to our neighbor(s) below us. Overall a reasonable stay, but not great.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I am giving this hotel 2 stars because although there was not really anything wrong with the location(next to the train station) or the rooms(a bit small though), we got so HORRIBLY RUDE service at the breakfast room, that I really can't believe it:

The breakfast room was full and we could not find a free table. Finally we saw one and sat down. Before we even started our breakfast a waitress comes by (all the speaking was in german), and tells us that the table is reserved. We get up, realizing then that the table was more decorated than the others, and start moving our food to a nearby table. The waitress was really rude, actually accused us of moving the reserved-sign to the other end of the table and turning it around (needless to say, we did had not done that), and made the whole situation look like our fault. I know that service in Germany can be rude, but especially in an international hotel the waitresses should be able to follow one really simple rule "the customer is always right". We told her that, but she just continued her rude and accusing tone, made us feel bad, and since it was the breakfast, we actually had a bad feeling about the situation almost all day.

I wrote a note about this to the hotel and filled in a feedback form of the hotel chain (Quality hotels), but they have not contacted me yet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Ireland
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in January for a four day break. While the hotel was clean, it was very dated in decor, the bar is so quiet that there is never anyone there. The rooms are small but clean, they don't provide tea or coffee facilities, and do not provide a fridge , even though they advertise a mini bar, the mini bar is bottled water and some crisps.
Sleep quality for us was quite bad, the pillows are awful, like foam chunks packed into a pillow shape, and the noise from the street was loud.
Breakfast was good, but no better than most other european hotels, I did like the fact that you could squeeze your own orange juice, but the que was always too long for to make it worthwhile.
Staff are friendly and this is always an added bonus when staying in a country where we don't speak their language.
The wi fi even though I was given a code didn't work, which is a downside as I had to use data roaming to keep in contact with home.
I wouldn't return to this hotel, as while walking around the area we saw several far prettier hotels, and their price when I checked it out are not much more expensive than the quality hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pavia, Italy
Top Contributor
186 reviews 186 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I spent four days at the Quality Hotel Koenigshof with my husband for a mini winter holiday. The hotel is v. conveniently located at a short walk from both Garmisch and Partenkirchen centres and just across the road from the railway station. It has a covered car park but guests are charged 10 euros a day for it. Rooms are clean but small; the breakfast buffet is rich and good quality (with freshly squeezed orange juice). We had dinner once at the hotel restaurant and it was OK and reasonably priced. This is all very good but it makes the hotel a good 3 stars, not a four stars: there's no fridge in the room, the sauna is very tiny (with only two chairs in the relaxing area!) and -despite what advertised - the wifi connection does not work. We complained about the latter point and had the impression that the staff was used to this sort of complaints (I must grant them that they offered us a small discount as a compensation). The staff is generally nice but uninterested. Had it cost 50 euros a day less, it would have been a good deal at 160 euros per night I would have expected a better service.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Booked this hotel after reading the positive reviews in tripadvisor and booking.com. The fact that it was a 4 star hotel also played a major role in the decision making process. But after staying for 3 nights at this hotel, I must say that it is just an average hotel of 2 star or max 3 star quality. It doesn't have anything to qualify for a 4 star rating!! For example, our room was extremely small and it didnt had any refrigerator. The toilets were also very small. Do not understand how it got a 4 star rating! Considering the price paid for the room, I do not consider this as a value for money option. So my advice would be to book this hotel only if you get a really good price deal!

Positives: Excellent location (very close to the train station, yet safe and nice surroundings with mountain views); Excellent breakfast with wide choice of items, Very clean rooms, room for keeping the baggage and also a room for keeping ski sets

Negatives: Very small rooms (see the attached pics!), Demotivated staff (except one older lady who was at the reception during the morning shifts), wifi access restricted to one device as they give a specific username and password which cannot used in multiple devices

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Koenigshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Koenigshof

Address: St Martin Strasse 4, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany (Formerly Quality Hotel Koenigshof)
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Koenigshof 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Königshof Garmisch Partenkirchen. The Hotel Koenigshof Garmisch is centrally located between Garmisch and Partenkirchen at the foot of the Zugspitze, Germany's highest Mountain.The Hotel is centrally located: the best for shopping, parties, the train station and the ski bus is within walking distance. All alpine activities, you can easily and conveniently start from the hotel. Take pleasure in the snow while skiing, snowboarding, cross country skiing, snowshoeing and sledding. Extensive hiking paths of all levels for the family to professionals, playing golf, horseback riding, swimming in crystal clear lakes and discover the cultural treasures of the Bavarian castles world. Or simply enjoy the tranquility, the healthy air of the Bavarian Alps and the magnificent views of the Wettersteinmassiv.We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Koenigshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Garmisch Partenkirchen
Quality Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Koenigshof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.