We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great name, even better food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Bistro Mukkefuck

Cafe Bistro Mukkefuck
Zugspitzstrasse 3, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rhineland-Palatinate, Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great name, even better food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

First of all the name is funny. Try saying it in front of your kids... or try typing it in the TripAdvisor review (it will flag your review for profanity). We came here on a friend's recommendation. We walked in on a Saturday night with no reservation hoping we could get a table for four. The staff was very helpful, offering us two two-top tables near each other (our boys are 12 and 7, so they enjoyed the opportunity to act like grown ups).

The menus are printed in German and English, although the inserts for the daily specials are only printed in German. Our waitress was happy to answer any questions we had about the options on the menu. My wife and I ordered off the daily special menu, and our kids went for the spaghetti option. The potato soup mentioned in numerous other reviews is amazing, and the side salad they make could be a meal in itself. Many other diners in the restaurant had the full-size salads, and they looked amazing.

Our entrees, gnocchi and ricotta-stuffed spinach pasta, were absolutely amazing, and my 12 year old declared the kids' spaghetti to be "the best he's ever had".

Overall Impressions:

Staff: Friendly and eager to help. We knew we might not be able to get a table without a reservation, but they were more than happy to accommodate our family.

Ambiance: Great small seating area. Close enough to feel intimate, but without feeling like you're creeping in on the people sitting around you.

Food: Our appetizers, salads, soup, and entrees were great. We plan on coming back here when we're in Garmisch again, although hopefully earlier in the day to try their potato pancakes.

Kids: This would be the one caveat if you have picky eaters. In our experience, most German restaurants have the fallback of chicken fingers and/or cheese pizza for kids menu options. At Mukkefuch, the ONE and ONLY kids menu item is the kids' spaghetti. Our kids loved it, but just something to think about before you march the little ones into the restaurant.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    23
    7
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
369 reviews 369 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Best Schnitzel and potato soup in Garmisch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Yes, I did say that! Why? Because on their specials menu they had a "Munich style" schnitzel. It said it was stuffed with meat. Well, it's actually coated with horseradish, wrapped in proscuitto and then breaded and fried like schnitzel. It was amazing. They also have the best kartoffelsuppe (potato soup) that has fresh pureed veggies and topped with fresk leeks. It's creamy, but the leeks brings out that freshness. We also had the potato pancake (huge) with fresh mushrooms, emmantaler cheese and tomatoes. I highly recommend this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A wonderful slice of Bavaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

We went to this restaurant as part of a group and took over most of one of the rear rooms (though there were tables that other folks were able to use also). The food was excellent, and the service fast and friendly. The prices were reasonable. The room's atmosphere was wonderful with its warm and cozy decor. The room was decorated with impressionist prints, wood coffered ceilings and had a large warming stove in a corner. Seating included the typical wall benches and chairs. You felt a bit like you were in the great room of someone's private home. We had our own accordionists with us who played for our enjoyment, for the other guests (judging from their response). One of the guests even joined in, playing the spoons. We were not rushed in any way, and the staff was very accommodating, We thoroughly enjoyed this restaurant and would certainly go back in a heartbeat. You can see our experience at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OBrsPxevm8E

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A name that makes you giggle, but food that makes you want more!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

We ate here based off of the reviews we read and they were definitely accurate - this place is DELICIOUS! Small, cozy atmosphere with mouthwatering authentic German cuisine...we were practically licking our plates! We ate here for lunch at first and enjoyed our meal so much that we came back for breakfast...YUM!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spangdahlem, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Après ski lunch ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Great lunch stop. Unfortunately we were to late for the potato pancakes. The garlic herb butter and baguettes were enough reason to stop. The tomato and mozzarella salad and potato soup sealed the deal. Our server spoke perfect English.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Bistro Mukkefuck also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Cafe Bistro Mukkefuck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Bistro Mukkefuck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.