We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attractive hotel in an attractive place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Burgstrasse 97, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Muscat, Oman
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very attractive hotel in an attractive place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The hotel looks like an old palace and stay also simulates a palace. Staff are excellent even though they are poor in English. Food is superb, catering to all kind of customers. There was lot of vegetarian stuff as well. Stayed for long. The chef was very helpful in getting some vegetarian food from nearby Indian restaurants as well when he could not prepare different items every day.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    46
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
36
61
3
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Although the hotel is not in the heart of the town it is a great choice if you have a car. The staff are outstanding. Rooms spacious with good lighting. We've stayed in lots of rooms with poor lighting! Lovely big bathroom with a few extras.
The hotel has a warm family run, traditional feel. Much nicer than the Marriott we came from!
Wifi is free & works well. Amazing pool & leisure area with expansive views of the mountains.
We feel like we are one of only a few people staying here despite a large number of people attending a conference here.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Bell, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Garmisch-Partenkirchen is a fantastic little town in southern Bavaria, near the Austrian border. During winter, it is definitely a ski-resort type of town, but we visited at tail-end of Summer. During this "off season", you can definitely get great rates on rooms at the Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl, which is a gorgeous hotel property.

The staff at the front desk were quite pleasant. Although we only had a one-night stay here, we wished we could've stayed longer. The hotel has ample free parking and is located just outside the main strip of town (about a 3-4 minute drive or a 20 minute walk), which also has plenty of parking, albeit not free during most hours.

Our room itself was very spacious, especially for a European room, and was clean and comfortable. We also had a gorgeous view of the Zugspitze from our balcony, which I'd recommend requesting when making a reservation.

There was also free Wi-Fi in the rooms, which is always nice as we have found this isn't always the case in Germany. This hotel definitely gets our recommendation for anyone visiting Garmisch-Partenkirchen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We arrived in GaPa with no accommodation booked in advance. This hotel looks like a great classic hotel on the outside so we decided to book. We called into reception and the girl was friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the area. We got a nice corner room fabulous nice view. Very comfortable bed. Small old fashioned bathroom. We found the restaurant service a bit haphazard. Breakfast was a bit crazy, no staff and many breakfast items ran out. I had to call to reception twice for service. While we had a car we still found the hotel to be a bit too far outside town. I thought overall it was poor value for money as the level of service did not match the quality elements of the building and reception.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norway
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A lovely hotel with a smiling and helpful staff. The location was great just a short walk from the city. We got two connected rooms that where just great. After 12 hours in the car we slept like children after a lovely dinner in the restaurant
The pool was lovely and the view from the room was incredible.
We spent the next day in the lovely city and liked it so much so we definitely go back there for a holiday this winter. Going to stay at the same hotel and hope to find it just as pleasant in the winter
We highly recommend the hotel

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Was there last week for an International Sales Meeting of my company. First the good points. The reception staff, the restaurant staff and the banquets staff are all just great. Wonderful service and always smiling. The pool area etc is good, though I didn't really get the time to use it.The housekeeping needs t serious look. The toiletries do not get changed at all. So if you are planning to stay for 4-5 days, like I did then learn to ration your soap, shampoo and bath gel as they do not get replenished.

Room Tip: Choose rooms with balcony facing Zugspite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went there and liked it so much that I spent another day there. I found the staff at breakfast bending over backwards to satisfy us. The pool was lovely and the view from the room was incredible. I highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl

Address: Burgstrasse 97, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand chalet-style winter resort hotel with multilingual staff overlooking the town & mountains; 4 km from the train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Garmisch Partenkirchen
Grand Resort Sonnenbichl

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Sonnenbichl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.