We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, but a bit pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Muehlstrasse 22, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
BREAKFAST INCLUDED!
West Chester, OH
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, but a bit pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2009

We stayed at the Obermuehle for 4 nights and enjoyed ourselves. We had no problems whiel there. We had a room in the annex which is accessible form both the back entrance or through the passage behind the chcek-in desk. We took our liuggage in through the outside entrance and up the elevator, then used the passage way for meals etc. The rooms are older, but were clean and had a nice balcony with two chairs overlooking the mountains. Never had any odors. We ate dinner there several evenings and found the food to be outstanding. Also the breakfast area was huge. There were breads, cereals, eggs ( hard and soft boiled) meat and cheeses, fruit, yoghurt and all kinds of jams and jellies.
We asked if we could use the table marked Stammtisch in the lobby to play cards, and were told of course . The first night wwe asked if we could get some wine and they had the waiter come out from the restaurant, The second and third night they just called for the waiter as soon as we sat down. The dog,(a standard poodle ?? mix) soon became our buddy and often layed by the table,. He never misbehaved and never left a mess the days we were there. He was very obedient when they called him to go out or to bed. There was free parking and we were well pleased, There was also free wi-fi in the lobby which was nice as we were able to send messages and catch up.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    77
    37
    17
    11
See reviews for
56
89
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2009

I stayed 3 nights in this hotel. I wonder why it is listed as a 4 star hotel ? Maybe because of the small swimming pool they have inside ? I see no other reason. It needs renovation badly. The rooms I seen looked tatty and worn-out, with old, odd-looking furniture. And the bad smell ! I had to change the room because of strange, unbearable smell. The new room was only slightly better. And I had to pay extra. In one room the remote control for the tv did not work, in another it was almost in pieces. Small, old tv sets with German channels only. Limited choice at breakfast for a 4 star hotel. To get to the center of Garmisch on foot you have to walk about 10 minutes along very busy road with no crossings. To the train station about 30 minutes on foot.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

I reserved two rooms for five nights about 7 months prior to our trip, using the Best Western online system. I used American Express to guarantee my arrival, and upon arrival, presented my American Express card for check-in. Five days later, at check-out, was informed that the hotel did not accept American Express, and that I would have to pay by some other method. I asked why was I allowed to check in with the American Express, if they did not accept it for payment. The response was that I should not have been allowed to check in. I have complained repeatedly to Best Western to no avail, with only an offer of a $50 travel card to be used at any Best Western. I will not use any Best Western property and suggest that all travelers avoid this property. There are plenty of other clean, honest hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen from which to choose.

  • Liked — Restaurant
  • Disliked — Management and Staff
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

This hotel was clean and comfortable. However, there is quite a smell in the burrows (YES, Burrows, tunnels, rabbit warrens..) on the way to the rooms. It takes a map to get to the rooms in this hotel.
Each room had a sliding patio door and patio, which was very nice in the evening to go outside and relax. I think they try to make the hotel seem homey, but the lack of modern things just reeks of dated!! Also, BEWARE of the GIANT dog that roams in and out of the hotel. It's friendly only sometimes but it leaves poop everywhere!!
The restaurant in the hotel is less than spectacular. However, there are many nice restaurants within the area and fair prices and the hotel is located within walking distance of the downtown area.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaithersburg, MD
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2008

Two buddies and I just needed a clean place to lay our head at night after skiing and partying. It did the trick, quiet, clean, only thing is don't try to get extra pillows after 10pm... little old man behind the desk was having none of that. hmm go figure, germans can be sticklers for the rules.

  • Liked — Close to downtown Garmisch
  • Disliked — none
  • Stayed April 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorktown, Virginia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

I meant to write this review sooner, but.....

This hotel was awesome. The location is just amazing. There is a view of the Alps, a storybook stream running behind the hotel with a running/walking path, and the rooms are amazingly clean.

The breakfast was very European and different but hearty and good!

I would definitely stay here again!!!!

  • Liked — The View
  • Disliked — Two single beds
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

We travelled to Garmisch from Innsbrook Airport...went by taxi, journey took about 50mins and cost 90euros. The staff at the hotel are efficient and helpful. They spoke very good english, and didnt laugh at my barely adequate German.

The hotel itself is very clean and tidy, however it is very dated and could do with a lick of paint, and some new furniture. We had a room on the first floor which looked onto the swimming pool area. It was noisy, i struggled to sleep for at least 5 days of the trip (im a light sleeper) and the walls of the room are paper thin. The breakfast is adequate and consists of different breads, lots of German meats, cheese, a selection of cereals, fruit, boiled and scrambled eggs, bacon and occasionally German sausage. I would say I have had better breakfasts, but as said it was adequate.

Walking to the town from this hotel is easy, it only takes about 10 minutes, maybe more if you are elderly or have limited mobility.

The town is an absolute delight...very quaint and loads of little cafe's and restaurants. Please go to the Mukkefuck restaurant, its on the main drag approx 300-400 yards heading towards the town. The staff are fab, the food is good and so reasonable.

I would definitely go back to Garmisch, but would not stay at this particular hotel again, unless everywhere else was full.

Getting to the ski area of Kruezeck etc is very easy, you jump on the No.2 and that will take you straight there, you can hire your ski's and boots there and also sort your skipass out. Again the staff are efficient and helpful...had the best time ever skiing.

  • Liked — The location, as its so near the main town area. The staff are friendly and helpful
  • Disliked — Its dated, and noisy. Breakfast could be improved, but there is plenty there.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle

Address: Muehlstrasse 22, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
#9 Romantic Hotel in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Hotel Obermuehle has been family owned and operated since 1634. The hotel is located near the city and Congress Center at the foot of Germans highest mountain, Zugspitze. There is a rustic atmosphere with a superior staff. As their guest, you will receive the utmost hospitality and personal attention. The hotel offers a luxurious heated indoor pool, sauna, solarium and a large garden with lounge chairs for sunbathing. Of course these features are all included in the price of your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Obermuehle
Best Western Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Garmisch-Partenkirchen Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Obermuehle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.