We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cloudy at the top.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Zugspitze

Zugspitze
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$98*
and up
Zugspitze, Linderhof Castle and Oberammergau Day...
Type: Mountains, Ski/ Snowboard Areas, Sports
Activities: Skiing, Snowboarding
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At nearly 10,000 feet, Germany's highest peak is a popular ski area during the winter and a challenging hiking trail during the rest of the year.
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cloudy at the top.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Wonderful cable car ride up, however, at the top, the clouds settled in. We couldn't see anything. We were warned ahead of time, but we only had the one day to do this. Do not take the cog train up or down as you are in a tunnel most of the time. Staff was rude. We got on the ski lift, and tried to explain we were with another couple, guy would not let us off or them on. Funny thing, he spoke perfect English up top when he told me where the other couple would arrive. Average rating is for staff, not the mountain.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    835
    224
    46
    7
    8
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Intense hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am a beginner at hiking but really wanted to try this with my friends. My friends are experienced hikers and even they had some troubles. Make sure you reserve a hut before starting. We arrived at the hut and they were booked. So we slept outside on the side of the mountain( no tents). The final hike to summit is crazy intense. You hold onto a rope and just work your way up, took us about 1.5 hrs. Be careful of the altitude, If you are not used to it you might get sick. The view from the top is amazing!!!!!! Taking the train down is cheap and easy lol. This hike is best done in two days and make sure you bring lots of snacks and water!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We were staying in Municnd had on our to-do list going to Zugspitze. We talked it over with the owner where were staying and she said, "Go, tomorrow! Best weather tomorrow, rain and clouds soon."

My wife and I hurriedly put together a train timetable. It's a little work to get the regional train from Munich aligned with the Zugspitze Bahn. We left Munich Hauptbahnhof on a regional train to Garmisch-Partenkirchen at 8:12 to arrive G-P 9:33. We used a Bayern Partner Ticket for 26€ purchased from a DeutscheBahn touchscreen terminal, good for out and return. The ZugspitzeBahn left Garmisch once an hour at 15 minutes after the hour. We were trying for the 10:15 departure.

From the regional train arrival at Garmisch, don't enter the bahnhof proper. Walk immediately to your left on the platform about 100m, then walk through an underpass/tunnel for about 250m and you will see the Zugspitze Bahnhof. Fare for one person including tram to the top and return is 50€.

We arrived at Grainau, one of the stops before the rail terminal. Everyone started getting off the train. We don't speak German so we missed that this was a transfer point.

The ride up the mountain is thrilling and the scenery is drop-dead gorgeous! There is a photo-op stop about halfway up the mountain, about 10 minutes or so. When you arrive at the Zugspitze , you travel through a tunnel about 2.75 miles long, not for those who have trouble with tunnels.

Get out and enjoy the scenery. You know you're at the top of the world.

Highly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KMC, Germany
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“It's a mountain with a good view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the "Top of Germany" or say they say. There are two ways to get to the summit; the cogwheel train and then a short cable car or the long cable car from the Eibsee up to the summit. Either way you go it is the same price, €50 per person.

Depending on what you do once at the top will determine the value of this. Of course there are the great views of Austria and Germany, but also plenty of hiking and climbing opportunities.

After our trip up and down we accidentally discovered the cable car on the Austrian side. They charge €37 per person to go to the same place and parking is free. They also offer different events at the summit throughout the year. I highly recommend making the 20 minute drive over to Ehrwald, Austria to reach the summit and save some money.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“not easy for people who are scared of heights”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We were up in the clouds, because we spent only 3 days in the area and had nothing but cloudy days. It is expensive to take the gondola up or the train, but it is something to say you have been on the highest point in Germany. We were with my grandpa, and he really wanted to be on top of Germany once in his life, and it is likely this was the last time in the area.
The ride with the gondola takes 10 minutes, and is really not for scared people - like me.
We were a little disappointed that no souvenir store was open on top, though cloudy, we also got the first snow of the season, and in August it is peak season still. They finally opened one shop while we were there, and it is unbelievably expensive.
What I like is the combination ticket - you can choose if you want to take the train up and a short gondola ride, or do the longer gondola, and you can go up one way and down the other, with the option of stopping at the Gletscher. We decided to take the gondola up and down, because the train ride takes about 40 minutes, half of it inside the tunnel. We didn't know how our toddler would take the long tunnel, so we decided to take the shorter amount of time.
While you pay a daily fee for parking, go take a walk around Eibsee. It is fun, you see some waterfalls, great scenic views of lake and mountains. Takes about 2 hours, depending on your speed and the amount of time you use for snapping pictures.
The gondola has a wheelchair and stroller access from above, you need to send someone in to pay at the cashier and ask for someone to open the gate/door for you. We didn't know and carried the stroller up, but on the way down found out. Signs are kind of missing here.
Make sure to check the weather report, while it was 20°C down in Garmisch, we had snow and ice on top.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zugspitze also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Zugspitze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zugspitze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.