We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Partnach Gorge

Partnach Gorge
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Canyons, Geologic Formations, Outdoors
Attraction details
Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

I had read about this place here on this site and knew I had to visit on our recent trip to Germany/Austria. It was a little difficult to find at first and you have to walk quite a ways but it's worth it. We parked near the Olympic ski jump and walked through the stadium, which was quite cool to see. There are horse and carriage that can take you up to the entrance of the gorge if you wish but they are a bit pricey and we like to walk. I read so many reviews that said you WILL get soaking wet, so I was all worried about my camera and brought ponchos. We barely got a few drops of water on us. The one thing I didn't see mentioned is how dark it is when walking through the caves. I'd suggest bringing a little flashlight. It was a gorgeous place and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Once past the main part of the gorge, there was a rocky area where a lot of people had built towers out of the rocks. I don't know how the idea started or now long that has been going on but it was a sight to see. Of course, we had to build our own rock tower. We choose to go back the way we went in, through the gorge,but there seemed to be at least 2 others ways to get back. Beautiful place and well worth the time.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    434
    108
    11
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must see!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

It is must see! You will not be dissappointed. But take raincoats and trekking shoes with you! It takes 25-30min to reach it from the parking then it is 30-40min of pure joy!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

This was a wonderful hike. It's closer to a 30 minute walk from the parking lot to the beginning of the gorge. There are a couple of huts along the way to get a drink or a snack, but you are better off packing in a lunch, snack, drinks, etc. At the other end of the gorge is a nice river bank that is great for a picnic. If you plan your day, you can even continue hiking in the Alps on the other side of the gorge and visit one or more of the famous huts that are scattered throughout the alps. These huts are not something we are used to in the US, but you can get good food and drinks at them. Some of them even offer overnight accommodations. When you are at the other end of the gorge, walk over the bridge and you'll see a sign that shows the different trails to hike and different huts. There is one that is only about a 30 min hike. I wish we would have planned better as we would have trekked to one of the huts. They seem fascinating.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Visited the gorge on recommendation of another traveler. Glad we did. However, be ready for a bit of a walk as parking is a long way from beginning of Gorge.vstill worth it!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“a different experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

It is a reply beautiful place, you can shoot really nice pictures. Be aware when it rains, because it is slippery and muddy, and inside the gorge gets dark.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Partnach Gorge also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Partnach Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Partnach Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.