We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing walk through Spring!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Partnach Gorge

Partnach Gorge
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Geologic Formations, Canyons
Attraction Details
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing walk through Spring!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

During a marriage retreat in Garmisch, we had family time and decided to walk the gorge. It was a beautiful spring morning and it had been an easy winter. The gorge was absolutely beautiful! It was a great walk through waterfalls and dark caves. At times it was so dark I had to use my cell phone flashlight to get through. The walk back we opted to go a different way and ended up walking through the Bavarian mountains which provided some breath taking pics! This is a MUST do in Garmisch and just another reason why I love this part of Germany so much!
Need to know: can be wet and slippery so make sure you have sturdy shoes on, if you have any medical conditions or other health problems be very careful. I am an asthmatic in good physical health and I had to whip out the inhaler at least once during our hike up the mountain back to the car.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    317
    84
    8
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Filderstadt, Germany
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Winter Wonderland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We have only been to the gorge in the winter and it was incredible! The frozen waterfalls are so neat. The walk through the caves can be rather dark at times, so bring a flashlight. Wear shoes with good tread because it gets extra slippery in the winter months. I would not suggest trying to bring a stroller, because the path gets narrow and is too way. We loved it!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What is there in a Gorge....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Well I was not sure to do as an extra in Garmisch especially with children, but the gorge seemed to fill a morning...
The gorge we first visited in Summer and well worth the walk, the rocks hang high above you the river runs fast below, there are views for photographing at every turn. Onve we got to the far end there were many people playing in the river.
It is well worth passing this busy place and carry on up the track into the trees, when you get to the top you are into iconic high pastures with views over the whole valley. There are also a few resteraunts that you can sit and have a lazy, beer or food!
Went again in the winter....even more magical like walking through an Ice cavern!!!
But COLD!!
Well worth the visit.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte NC
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We arrived late, around 4:30pm and hired a carriage to take us to the start. This was February and it was very cold, but we had a great time hiking along The Edge and seeing the ice everywhere. We all got some great photographs of the water and ice.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well worth the hike”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Wow, I toured this at night and then again the next morning. Unbelievable! Every turn showed an even more awesome view.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Partnach Gorge also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Partnach Gorge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Partnach Gorge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Partnach Gorge to your Saves list