We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very kind staff, good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Trifthof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Trifthof to your Saves list
Hotel Trifthof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Triftstrasse 4, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Erlangen, Germany
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very kind staff, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The hotel is in Patenkirchen, so a bit far from Garmisch city center where are lot of restaurants, bars. It about 15 min by walk. The room was a bit old, but our room was a double room, which actually was 2 small rooms and one bathroom in one room, so that was perfekt. The room was clean, the breakfast was fantastic, but the best was the kindness of the staff. This hotel is very good for this price, I would go again if would not find a hotel in Garmisch for the same price.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
26
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed there on Oct 14-18 , 2013 when spending my end holiday in Garmisch Partenkirchen. The hotel location is in Partenkirchen part within 10 -15 min walk from train station. Nice, cozy, tidy and clean room. My single room was no 10 with balcony, back yard garden view and Kramer mountains with its Alpspitze and Zugspitze. Vera, the owner very nice lady and really helpfull. Breakfast is German's standard variety .. You will be enjoyed the hospitalities of this small nice hotel. In the first, i just booked for one night then .. It ends to be 4 nights I stayed there. Will be back to stay here again. The location is in quite residential area but within walking distance to many hot spot like old town Garmisch, old town Partenkirchen, ski jump arena , Partnachklamm, train stat as well you can walk to the foot of Wank mountain by passing through the forest.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The Trifthof is located in Partenkirchen, and everything we needed was within walking distance. The staff is quite friendly, and the room was large, clean and very nice. We had the "superior room" category, I didn't have a look in any of the rooms of the regular category.
Breakfast was of a high quality as well, there was even Weißwurst on Sunday; very Bavarian! The center of Partenkirchen with its restaurants and shops is only a 10-minute walk away. We walked a lot, going to the Partnachklamm, the Wank (it's a mountain) and to various other places, and we never had to use the car - everything was within walking distance.
WLAN was a little flaky, but then we didn't mind - with a view like that we didn't need the internet much.

Room Tip: If you are prepared to spend a little extra, upgrade to the "Superior" category - you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Quiet, relaxing stay with amazing views. Helpful staff. Clean rooms with comfortable beds. Would highly recommend if you plan to visit Garmisch-Partenkirchen. Parking is provided and the included breakfast is a nice spread.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington VA
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We found the Trifthof to be a very nice stop on our trip to the Garmisch area. Partenkirchen is the sleepier side of the twin towns, but it's easy walking to many restaurants. there's a market just steps away. The staff is friendly and helpful. There's a nice 'party room' downstairs with an honor bar for wine and beer. We were four couples on a reunion tour of Germany and were very happy with this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This small family-run hotel is central enough to walk to any venue in GaPa, but on a quiet street that gives an air of complete relaxation. My partner and I spent afternoons and evenings just sitting on our balcony, listening to...the quiet...and taking in the changing mountain landscapes with the setting sun.

Walk 10 minutes in one direction and you're at the Olympic Ski Jump stadium (we were lucky enough to catch a summertime youth competition!), and well on the way to the Partnach Klamm. 10 minutes in another and you're on the scenic and traditional main street of Partenkirchen. 15 minutes a third way and you're in central Garmisch. We walked from and to the train with our bags, without difficulty.

The front-desk greeting is warm and gemütlich, full of as much information and recommendations as you'd like.

The rooms are not deeply luxurious, but they are comfortable, quiet and extremely clean. Besides, who needs a lot in the room when you have the Alps in full splendor from your balcony! The only thing more I could ask would be a chaise lounge with a down comforter for outdoor napping. We never had a chance to use them, but there is a private garden (that's where the chaises are) and a sauna for guest use. Breakfast is diverse and tasty, including very fresh baked goods.

On our arrival, we found Gummi bears on our pillow. That's a pretty good metaphor for the Trifhof - sweet, distinctive, tasty and local!

Room Tip: Every room should have a good view, but the back rooms will have more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Close enough to the railway station to drag your cases (if you are happy to do so). 15 minute, very picturesque stroll to one of the ski lifts. 15 minute stroll into Garmisch centre. Breakfast was plentiful, varied, and very good quality. Hostess extremely friendly, accommodating, and efficient. The room was perfectly comfortable, clean and well furnished; it was certainly warm enough, and this could be easily adjusted. I would not hesitate to go back - to Germany - to Garmisch Partenkirchen - to this hotel. Many thanks...

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Trifthof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trifthof

Address: Triftstrasse 4, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Trifthof 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Trifthof in Garmisch - Partenkirchen is a small, cosy hotel Garni (Bed & Breakfast) in the alpine style and has tastefully and modernly furnished rooms. Our house is quietly and still centrally located: at a few minutes' walk you find the hiking and recreation area, the "Hausberg" ski lift bottom station as an entrance into the Classic Skiing Area, as well as the centre of Garmisch-Partenkirchen with numerous restaurants and traditional inns. The new ski jump is a 10 minutes' walk away, also the railway station. Parking possibilities are available directly at the house. There are bus stops only a few minutes away from the hotel. Extensive meadows with wonderful footpaths are linking the Trifthof with "Eckbauer", "Kochelberg" and "Hausberg". Due to this location the hotel is an ideal starting point for excursions by bycicle, motorcycle and car, as well as for mountain hiking. We, the Hotel Trifthof team will advise you individually according to your wishes and possibilities and do all the best to make your vacation an unforgettable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Trifthof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Trifthof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.