We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Baita

La Baita
Zugspitzstr. 16, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
+49 8821 78777
Improve this listing
Price range: $11 - $46
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Heidelberg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Was very happy with the service at this restaurant. I didn't much care for the salad (it was pretty much the head of lettuce in a bowl) but the Minestrone soup was good and my husband's Calzone was great. We would visit this restaurant again, if we had the chance.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    75
    30
    9
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waynesville, Missouri
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very good food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

Again, we've been repeat customers of this restaurant but I've just now gotten around to reviewing it. If you like home made Italian food I recommend you give this place a try. It's located on the main stretch through Garmisch on the right side if you are heading towards the Edelweiss. The owners are always friendly and they speak good English. We always get the pizzas and pasta. The last time I ordered a pasta with spargel (white asparagus) pesto. It was out of this world! The portions are big and you won't leave hungry! They also take VISA which is convienant .

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Italian restaurant in Garmisch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I tried three different Italian restaurants while in Garmisch, and this is my favorite one. I found myself returning here every time I visited downtown Garmisch. I tried many things on the menu and everything was great. The service is fast and good. I will be eating here again!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Family-friendly and true Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

You can speak German, Italian or English here. And they are seemingly alweays open and very welcoming to families with precocious children...like mine...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“Excellent Italian”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

We have visited La Baita a couple of time now and never yet been disappointed. Very friendly, helpful and make the children welcome too which is so important to us.
The food is genuine Italian fare and of a very good standard, not the most expensive place and worthy of a visit

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Baita also viewed

Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to La Baita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Baita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.