We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastehaus Brigitte

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gastehaus Brigitte to your Saves list
Gastehaus Brigitte
St. Martin Strasse 40, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Astoria, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed in the single room and only for one night but I had a great experience. The staff was very friendly even when I got there right at 6pm for check-in, which on my confirmation is listed as the end of the check-in period. Breakfast was included which made the already great price of the room even better. The room was the size I expected for a single room but had some nice touches to make it feel welcoming. The room had a private bathroom and everything was very clean. Good location near some restaurants and local shops. You never know what you're going to get with a guesthouse but this was one of the nicer guesthouses I stayed at in Germany. I would recommend this place to others and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HausBrigitte, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastehaus Brigitte, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Madame,

Thank you for your very positive review. We are happy that you liked it, even if your stay in our house was very short.

Hope we can welcome you again if you ever visit Garmisch again.

Kind regards,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
39
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great location, friendly helpful people, clean rooms with good facilities. I couldn't fault Gasthaus Brigitte. Excellent value for money and motor bike friendly. Thank you. Highly recommended. Good breakfast, nice coffee.

Room Tip: If you're on a motor bike, park it under the deep roof overhang at the back of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HausBrigitte, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Gastehaus Brigitte, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our house. Thank you for your great review even if you stayed in our most compact single room.

Hope you had a nice trip on your moto-bike despite the fact of too much rain in that period....

Kind regards,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mystic, ct
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Gastehaus Brigitte is a charming small hotel garni in Garmisch Partenkirchen. It is a couple of blocks to the center of Garmisch, and within walking distance of the Hausberg cable car, Zugspitzbahn and the train station. many of the accommodations have kitchens as well as living rooms and balconies. brigette is a charming woman welcoming to all who come to her establishment. we have been staying here for many years and enjoy the charm and comfortable feeling as well as the morning breakfast served in a lovely dining area. highly recommend this guest house with a lovely view of the mountains, a charming owner, reasonable rates and breakfast daily.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HausBrigitte, Inhaber at Gastehaus Brigitte, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Hello Sandra,

Thank you very much for your charming review. It was a pleasure to welcome you in our house. It always makes us happy to welcome guests like you in our house. Looking forward to see you all soon again in Garmisch.

Kind regards,

Brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkadelphia, AR
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Gastehaus Brigitte is wonderful--excellent location, spotlessy clean, great breakfast, delightful hostess/owner. Bigitte speaks excellent English and is very helpful with information and suggestions. A great Affordable find. We hope to return soon and many times.

Room Tip: ask for a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HausBrigitte, Inhaber at Gastehaus Brigitte, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you very much for your charming review. It was a great pleasure having you all to stay with us and we are more than happy that you enjoyed it. We look forward to welcoming you back again one day - any person of your group.

Best regards,

Brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

My husband and I had rented a car and were driving around Bavaria for a few days. We started in Munich, and next went to G-P. We arrived at about 4:00pm without a place to stay. We found B&B Brigette in the Michelin Guide Book we were using, and decided to check it out. Considering we were travelers showing up unannounced, our reception was mostly friendly and welcoming. The owner (I forget her name now) welcomed us in and gave us a gorgeous little room. We soon realized we were the ONLY ones staying in a 3-story B&B with probably over 20 rooms. I imagine she gets pretty busy in the winter, for the skiing attractions in the area. But as it was May, we found ourselves the only patrons in the B&B. The room she gave us was very spacious, on the third floor, with its own bathroom, which was also very clean. Very comfy and clean beds, also equipped with a kitchenette, which we didn't use but would be nice if staying longer.

That night we headed out around 5:00pm and walked around the town a bit, it is within walking distance from the center (Marienplatz)and had some dinner around 6:00, since everything closes EARLY in G-P (all of Bavarian countryside, really), and returned around 8:00pm. We were going to ask about the internet-wifi, but owner was nowhere to be found. And we hadn't asked for a way to contact her, as I think English was limited when we first met. That's ok though, because she ended up giving us the wifi password, and didn't charge, probably because we were checking out in a few hours, but I think it's only $2E or $3E anyway.

Well, like I said, we were the only patrons there, but still she set up a full breakfast for us the next morning, with all kinds of breads and jams, and a full pot of coffee. She was quiet, but kind, and I don't know if the service would be different with the place full of customers, but to us she was very nice.

***I'm always hesitant about reviews where people say the owner was mean or rude, because most of the time these people need to treat others with respect to deserve respect back; just be a friendly patron, and most of the time you will have a friendly host. Don't expect every host to speak perfect English, just because they work in the hotel business, maybe since you're the one visiting THEIR country, you should make an effort with their language!

Room Tip: We just showed up, but that was in May, off-season, so we had no trouble getting a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HausBrigitte, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Gastehaus Brigitte, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you very much for your nice review.
Just to correct you and to avoid confusion for our other guests: Our guesthouse is much smaller as you described it (over 20 rooms) :-) we have only 9 rooms (4 app, 4 double-rooms and one single room). Wi-Fi is always free for our guests, but password protected. And yes May was off-season time.

Best regards,

Brigitte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena, Italy
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

Two friends and myself stayed at the Guest House Brigitte for a week in Aug11. The location is right on the main road, close to bus stops, downtown Garmisch and the mountain walks. The apartment was big, with bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and living room. To be honest, the rooms were much better than shown on their homepage. We stayed at number 4 and I sleeped in a third bed in the living room - facing the backyard. Parking was included outside the apartment as well.

Don't expect luxury but it's clean. cheap and the place to stay right in the middle of Garmisch. We did have not pay additional fee for the third bed because we stayed longer than usual. Breakfast is great. . The breakfast was a rich buffet plus cold meat and cheese as much as we wanted... Brigitte is a very nice person and speaks fair English and was very helpfull. The son of Brigitte explained us everything we wanted to know about special locations and walking trips.
All in all a great base to stay in Garmisch and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HausBrigitte, Manager at Gastehaus Brigitte, responded to this review, December 4, 2013
Dear Sirs,

It was a pleasure to welcome you in our house.

You are always welcome to visit us again.

Best wishes,

Mirko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I booked my parents in this Guesthouse/B&B at 70euros per night and the room was nice: average standard in Garmisch, not luxurious just spacious with a private kitchen and separate balcony (no view). The staff although trusting is not welcoming, friendly or even willing. In addition, the room was not cleaned for 2 days. I will go back to Garmisch but not to this place.

Room Tip: if you're allergic to feathers make sure there's an alternative duvet+pillows before you res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gastehaus Brigitte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gastehaus Brigitte

Address: St. Martin Strasse 40, 82467 Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Garmisch-Partenkirchen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our "Bad and Breakfast" guesthouse is located about 5 minutes from downtown Garmisch (Marienplatz). All double-rooms and apartments are cozy equipped and have a bathroom or a shower with toilet, TV and balcony or terrace. Apartments do also have a kitchen. Very close located to: indoor swimming-pool, ice-stadium, miniature-golf, health park, congress-center, mountain-trains, ski lifts, tennis-courts and walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gastehaus Brigitte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastehaus Brigitte, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.