We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel in excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Alte Post

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Alte Post to your Saves list
Hotel Alte Post
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dorfstrasse 19, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Hotels in Oberammergau
Certificate of Excellence 2014
HoppinGlad
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Charming hotel in excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

We visited Oberammergau in advance of a 2010 trip to see the famous Passion Play. What a darling town and great hotel. We had a wonderful meal on the patio outside after exploring the village. The hotel was updated and clean. Very nice. The staff was incredibly kind and patient and helpful. We really enjoyed our stay and wished that we had more time to spend here. The breakfast spread in the morning was impressive.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    27
    13
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
47
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We have been returning to the Alte Post for 10 years, normally for the Christmas period. Unable to make Christmas this year we decided on a weekend break in Jan. The hotel is superb. Run by Frau Preisinger and her son, they provide a perfect level of service, fantastic food and comfortable warm rooms, at very reasonable prices (only the current sterling to euro exchange rates have a negative impact). We have stayed in the apartmenst and the main building. The apartments are good for young families but the main building has been recently renovated and is fresh and attractive. The meals are typical Bavarian fare, substantial, well cooked and delicious. The 'house plate' is a feast to behold. Breakfast offers a great choice. Service across the board is impeccable. Beware, the restaurant closes relatively early. When the bar is closed, drinks are available from a vending machine on the first floor and include beer and wine. We love the town and would recommend the Wellenberg pool comples, a walk to the cable car and lunch on the top of the mountain.... can not recommend highly enough.... Going back this Christmas!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2010

My husband and I have been visiting this region and staying in this hotel for six years, and I cannot say enough good things about it. We've also stayed at several of the other hotels in this charming little town, but the Alte Post is THE place to stay in Oberammergau. The service is out-of-this-world friendly; the price is just right; and the rooms are charming, not to mention the location is the best. I also love the restaurant. The food is always good and the breakfast hits the spot. If you're looking for a charming home away from home in this wonderful little Bavarian town, the Alte Post is definitely the place for you. I can't wait to stay there again in a couple of months!!!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield,IL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2009

While we did not overnight at the hotel, we did eat there everyday while in Oberammergau.
The food was delicious, moderatly priced and the staff was friendly.

Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2009

It has been 47 years since I stayed at the Alte Post. The renovation to make the interior modern and comfortable was great. Our 11 year old loved the loft bed and the room was spacious and the bathroom large. Free parking in a gated lot made the stay seem safer.
Location was right in the middle of town. The hotel Restaurant is still wonderful with good service and excellent food. The Kloster Ettal Beer is one of the few remaining local beers I could find and was excellent. The Hotel is no longer run by "Jesus" of the Passion play, but by his grandson who plays "Caiaphas". Wonderful to have dinner outside and watch the hanggliders over the valley.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winfield, Kansas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

Quintisential Bavarian hotel at a great price. We checked in without a reservation after we pulled into town and loved the accomodations so much that we later extended our 3-night stay to 4. Very comfortable and great food. Wonderful complimentary breakfast. Perfect location. Large and beautifully decorated rooms are witness to the hotel's wonderful history.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

My wife and I drove into Oberammergau early evening during off-peak travel (November). After walking through the entire village, the Alte Post family welcomed us with an amazing rate and one of their best rooms overlooking the middle of the village and the hills surrounding. The food in their dinner restaurant was excellent and truly Bavarian. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Alte Post? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alte Post

Address: Dorfstrasse 19, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alte Post 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its first-rate facilities, the Hotel Alte Post is theperfect accomodation for all visitors to Oberammergau,whether for vacation or business.There are many sightseeing activities nearby, the Passionplaytheater is a five-minute walk away and there are a variety of shops in the pedestrian zone right outside the front door.Day trips to the nearby castles of Linderhof andNeuschwanstein bring the royal flair of Ludwig II tothe present. The cheese dairy and distillery in Ettal Abbey are definitely worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Alte Post reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alte Post Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Alte Post, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.