We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accomodation at the village outskirts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Enzianhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pension Enzianhof to your Saves list
Pension Enzianhof
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Ettalerstrasse 33, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Oberammergau B&B and Inns
Rishon
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation at the village outskirts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We spent there 2 enjoyable nights.Very quiet,
There is free parking available and free wifi is offered.
The breakfast was very tasty, with fresh and varied food.
The room was large clean, with a comfortable bedding.
The hotel is wholly refurbished.

.

Room Tip: The hotel is built over ground plus 2 other levels, without elevator. Perhaps you ask a lower level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
5
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

6 nights there in Sept 12. Nice clean and large room although shower a bit reluctant to give any hot water. Breakfast very nice but same each day so can get repetitive after 6 mornings there! Internet a bonus although a bit variable and goes off at night and not on again until 7am which is a real pain. All in all a very nice guest house and very good value indeed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I'd like to update my review and upgrade it by one. In my previous review my main reason for the downgrade was "value." I've stayed here again and I looked around at other area hotels, and we came back to Enzianhof! I think that it is the best value in the local area, with one of the best breakfasts we have had in any non-five star hotel. We had a different room this time and we traveled with family. The shower did have a larger glass than the first room we had (so better to avoid water on the floor). The rooms are clean and VERY comfortable and roomy. The TV had English news channels (to include CNN and BBC). Parking is an issue if the hotel is full, but you can park on the street. I still wish that they would allow free WiFi.

I've stayed here a total of six nights now, and I would stay here again if visiting Oberammergau or the area Ludwig Castles. I would recommend it to others as well.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

My mom and I were pleasantly surprised by this quaint town of Oberammergau where we spent one night but wish we did more! This B&B is a bit off the town center, but the walking is so nice in this not-so-big town so it didn't bother us. We walked around the neighborhood and found it beautiful, peaceful, quiet, and very flowery (like all over in Bavaria).

Though Pension Enzianhof's staff were not always around (when we first arrived there was greeting us, a guy joined us looking for assistance, too), it didn't bother us much we quickly found our way around. Our room is just at the corner of two streets so it could get noisy sometimes, but not too bad. The breakfast room was small, but cozy. Food was basic but fresh, delicious and sufficient.

Parking right by the building was very convient. The hotel is reasonably priced, too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nice owners, and very comfortable and charming rooms. We got there late, but they called and told us where to find a key. Room was very large and comfortable, and we had two teenage girls with us. In-room safe, TV (with some English channels). Breakfast is very good, organic and local, but it does get repetitive if you stay longer! Bathroom was large, but since most Americans like to shower, note that this is an "older" European set-up where there is just a small glass pull-out and then the shower head. You have to be careful not to have water everywhere (but there is a drain in the floor outside of the shower). Superb location in Oberammergau; price could be better, but it is a town that thrives off of tourism. WiFi is not free, 2 Euros per day. Parking is VERY limited and on a slope--could be a problem if you go in winter. Solid, and I would stay there again, but I would also look around for other "values."

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

I stayed here the last week of June and found the room to have what was needed and comfortable. The room was good size and the bed was good. Breakfast was okay as well. If you are looking for a quiet place to say at a good price this establishment delivers. it is in easy walking to everything and the staff was friendly to me.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Part of package w/Passion Play Tickets. Reception was luke-warm. Lady seemed put out by our arrival. In their defence, I believe that she was not the proprieter, but ran the attached massage facility and was filling in. Internet service was turned off unless you located her and asked her to turn it on (again, rather grudgingly). Food was passable and plentiful.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Enzianhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Enzianhof

Address: Ettalerstrasse 33, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pension Enzianhof 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pension Enzianhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Enzianhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.