We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pension Zwink

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pension Zwink to your Saves list
Pension Zwink
Daisenbergerstrasse 10 | 82487 Oberammergau, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 12 Oberammergau B&B and Inns
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Pension Zwink for 2 nights last month. We really enjoyed our stay there. The rooms were so peaceful and comfortable. Oberammergau was a nice change of pace from Munich and Pension Zwink was just what we needed. The breakfast was very good and the location was great both father and son were very pleasant and made us feel welcome. This guest house gave us that Alpine feel that we were wanting. We would definitely return here again both for price and comfort.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef Z, Owner at Pension Zwink, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We look forward welcoming you again at the Guesthouse Zwink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    7
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
7
16
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pension Zwink is amazing value, such a lovely guesthouse. The double room was spacious and very clean with a lovely little ensuite.
The decor is gorgeous, the hosts very welcoming, the breakfast delicious - I highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef Z, Owner at Pension Zwink, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for this wonderful review. Hope to see you again at Guesthouse Zwink. Kind regards Josef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We visited Oberammergau in August 2012. My old parents and wife.
Very safe and comfortable place. Nice people (son and Dad) who made our stay comfortable and pleasant.
Only two days but nice days. We'd like to stay there next time we are in Bavaria.
Thank you!

Oleg
Moscow
Russia

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef Z, Owner at Pension Zwink, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thanks a lot!
Best wishes, Josef
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Our room was large and very comfortable. There was a kettle so that we could have a hot drink at night (we always carry tea bags/hot chocolate sachets with us). Plenty of hot water, and good water pressure.

What we really liked about this Gausthaus is that the family that runs it have lived in Oberammergau for many years. There are photos of Anton and Josef taking part in each Passion Play hung up on the wall, and Josef took the time to tell us a bit more about the Passion Play.

It is a short walk into the main part of the village.

Hoping to return here one day! Would recommend both staying here and visiting Oberammergau and the nearby places. It is about an hour's drive to Hohenschwangau from here, and about 1.5hrs from Innsbruck/Hall in Tirol.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef Z, Inhaber at Pension Zwink, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Many thanks for your kind review. We look forward to welcoming you again in the Pension Zwink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bruxelles
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

I stayed a week. nice and clean. Good breakfast and a Caring owner :-) It is well located near the church I got a small room but clean and with an autonomus entrance . even the coffe was very good (unexpectedly for germany)
thanks a lot very suggested good and relaxing experience
pierandrea andriulli

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Josef Z, Inhaber at Pension Zwink, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you very much for the friendly recommendation.
We hope to welcome you again at Guesthouse Zwink.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed here when in the town for the Passion Play, being allocated this accomodation. It is on the edge of the town on a fairly busy road so front rooms were a little noisy, but that is not a major problem. It is a bit gloomy and old fashioned but in the context of our visit this added to the atmosphere. The owner's English was adequate and he was able to tell us about the parts he and his family had in the play. We had a large very clean room and bathroom with heavy old fashioned furniture. The breakfast was unexceptional and plentiful.

Now the Play is over the town is still worth a visit; pretty, devoted to tourism and a good centre. The rest of our party all reported good guest houses and tasty food in the places they were allocated.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

My partner and I stayed at this lovely guest house along with 6 others from our church group. We had travelled long from Mannheim to this lovely town to, ultimately, see the Passion Play.
Our group was split into three locations. Ours was Anton Zwink's superb guest house, 10 minutes brisk walk from the theatre. Breakfasts at the quest house were excellent. The rooms were excellent (my partner and I had an en-suite and a veranda) and Anton, himself a participant in the play, was very helpful and spoke very good English. He offered all of us blankets for the second part of the play.
I would have no qualms at all in recommending his guest house to any visitor to Oberammergau. It is ideally situated five minutes walk from the town centre and 20 minutes walk from the Laber mountain cable car which offers fantastic views over the town and surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pension Zwink? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Zwink

Address: Daisenbergerstrasse 10 | 82487 Oberammergau, 82487 Oberammergau, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Oberammergau
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Oberammergau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the obliging hospitality and the warmth of Bavarian people. Enjoy the charm of our historical house, near the centre of the village, but still in a rural peaceful area. A wonderful hideaway to calm down again and get away from the hectic daily life at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pension Zwink reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pension Zwink, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.