We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Post Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Post Hotel to your Saves list
Post Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Obermarkt 9, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Mittenwald
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
302 helpful votes 302 helpful votes
“Idyllic town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

For those arriving by car, access is NOT from the pedestrianised road but from the back from another road (not as directed by my satnav!). Although there are signs for the hotel at the back, there is a barrier blocking entry and the first door is for a clinic which is slightly confusing! There is parking in a small car park outside and they didn't charge me for it which was nice. My room was on 3rd floor which is reached by a lift which can only fit about two people so it might be easier to take the stairs given the length of time you had to wait for it! I had a slightly curious room partitioned with beams which, from seeing a few others, was unusual. But I had a small balcony from which I could see the town clock and a few mountains in the distance. The bathroom was large with a wide jacuzzi shape bath and a sink with an enormous sink surround which was very handy. The room had a large flat screen TV with CNN and BBC World which was a treat in comparison to some of the other hotels I stayed at! The room had a small sofa and a safe as well as lots of storage space for clothes. Wifi was only available in the hotel lobby but at least it was free. There was quite a wide range of choice for breakfast: cereals, ham, cheeses, breads, yoghurt, fruit, & pastries and they produced freshly fried eggs when I requested them. The location was perfect, right on the main pedestrianised street with lots of shops and restaurants around as well as those pretty frescoed houses. I walked up into the hills for about 20 mins and came across one beautiful lake and then walked further along to the next one. It was an idyllic spot and I am grateful to TA members who suggested I visit Mittenwald because it had much more charm than my initial choice Garmisch-Parkenkirten.

Room Tip: Maybe one on 1st floor so you dont have to wait so long for the lift. And you might be lucky to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    55
    21
    8
    1
See reviews for
33
51
13
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redfield, South Dakota, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I have spent 65 days in Europe on four separate tours, and I can honestly say that the Post Hotel was the best hotel we stayed in on any of the tours. The staff was extremely friendly. the rooms were beautifully done. And, of course, its location is perfect for a quaint stay in Mittenwald.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The Post Hotel is very centrally located in the quaint little Alpine village of Mittenwald. The hotel is within walking distance from the railway station that services Munich and Innsbruck, (500m). The hotel staff are very friendly and the service is great. The hotel offers a variety of eating options with outdoor rose garden in the hotel ground and alfresco dinning in the main pedestrian zone of the village - adjacent to a nice water feature. The rooms are well appointed and of a good standard, although not up to the level of some of the larger hotel chains. The hotel offers a German style buffet breakfast that would satisfy most guests, however i personally would have preferred a slightly more western fare. Staff are happy to provide fried/poached eggs on request, rather than the standard boiled fare. The village is particularly nice with typical Bavarian/Alpine features such as painted murals on the buildings, church complete with ringing bells. There did not appear to be too many international visitors mainly German/Austrian/Italian. There are alpine mountain walks, lakes, chairlifts and gondolas nearby and sking is available in winter. A wonderful little place to visit and in easy reach of Munich and Innsbruck. Very good value for money.

Room Tip: There are two room studios available - but be aware of the restricted headroom in the bath/shower on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The Post Hotel was pretty much what we expected. Larger than what we normally choose, but nice amentities and authentic decor. It appears they attract the tour bus crowd as the house was full for the night we stayed and the parking lot only half full. Upon checking our assigned room a distinctive sewer aroma was noticed in the bathroom. We were told this was because of the excessive heatwave. To the hotels credit they came to the room immediately with deoderizers and did their best to remedy the situation. It's obvious this wasn't the first time it happened as they seemed to be prepared for it. It helped but not completly. We asked to change rooms but as they were full this was not possible. The odor was still evident the next morning when it was rainy and cool so it seems this may be an ongong issue with aging plumbing. Anyway, we made do and had a very nice room with balcony and view of nearby mouontain. Unfortunately the room overlooked the outdoor patio and a noisy party kept us up later than we would have liked. We chose to eat dinner at a competing hotel next door and were quite pleased. Breakfast was traditional and served in a nice and somewhat formal dining room. Mittenwald is a very interesting little town and we enjoyed walking around and sitting in one of many outdoor gardens having a beer and watching the activities of quite a large number of people as it was a Sunday afternoon.

Room Tip: We actually liked our room with balcony and view of mountain. Downside is it overlooks patio which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Shasta, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Post Hotel in Mittenwald is a very nice and relaxing place to stay. The rooms are clean and comfortable and have great views. It is located right in the center of this very picturesque little town. The breakfast buffet offers good quality food with great choices and a helpful staff. We stayed here with our 11 month old twins and everyone was very accommodating.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Post Hotel is a great hotel in a wonderful position. They have managed to blend old world charm with modern conveniences. My room was large, tastefully decorated and had a fantastic view. The staff were very friendly. I would highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicenza, Italy
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

For the past 35 years, we have stayed in Garmisch and have only come to Mittenwald to eat at the PostKeller Restaurant and to stock up on the wonderful Mittenwalder Beer. (We live in Italy.) Garmisch has lost its charm and "quaintness", so this time, we decided to stay in Mittenwald and chose the Post Hotel for the following reasons: it has private parking and it opens up onto the main pedestrian street. We couldn't have been happier with our choice! The room was modern and cheerful, complete with flatscreen TV and refrigerator, the staff was friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet was one of the best we've eaten in Germany--many choices of meat, cheese, eggs, bread, etc., Next time, we'll try the pool and sauna--another unexpected luxury in this little picturesque town! Our room had a balcony looking toward the mountains and reading there was a very peaceful way to spend an atypically hot and sunny afternoon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Post Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Post Hotel

Address: Obermarkt 9, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Mittenwald
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Mittenwald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Post Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Post Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Post Hotel Mittenwald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Post Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.