We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming, helpful and relaxed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaststatte am Kurpark

Gaststatte am Kurpark
Ludwig-Murr-Str. 34, 82481 Mittenwald, Bavaria, Germany
08823 - 12 90
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 49 Restaurants in Mittenwald
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming, helpful and relaxed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Lovely place, great value "menu meal" and a extensive a la carte selection of local foods to choose from. Thursdays are "pig foot" special nights. Looks amazing but my daughter would not let me try it... Local dark lager on draft (v.cheap) perfectly matches the hearty food. Very friendly fellow diners (locals/tourists from other parts of Germany? almost exclusively which was just what we were looking for) - everyone says hello to each other as they come in and bye when they leave. We felt very privileged to be part of this happy atmosphere. Great value experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    9
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Bavarian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was a cool night so the restaurant was crowded but we were offered a table for 1 1/2 hours only as they had a reservation for it later in the evening. That was fine with us as we'd been hiking all day and were tired. The food came quickly and was delicious. I'd highly recommend this restaurant. I do speak German but the waitress also spoke to me in some English.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Still the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We ate here 5 times during our 2 week holiday in Mittenwald, basically because the food is superb and the service is excellent. There is a fantastic value 3 course meal available every night for around €12 – soup, a small main course and a small sweet or coffee. This 3 course menu changes daily, and the a la carte menu has many reasonably priced regional choices too. The service is superb with friendly waitresses.

The restaurant is very busy, especially between 6 and 7:30 pm so booking is advisable. If you are considering a visit to Mittenwald, make sure you eat in this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Best in Mittenwald”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The Gaststatte am Kurpark is situated outside of Mittenwald centre, but is worth the walk. The food and drink is very Bavarian, and extremely good value. As a family, we ate here three times in our holiday and on every occasion there was a 3 course set menu for €11, plus many other excellent regional choices. The restaurant also sells the local Mittenwald beer.

The staff are extremely helpful, and on our first visit, because the restaurant was extremely busy, we were given the stammtisch and shared our meal the owners!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achel
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“gute bürgerliche Küchen”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2009

if you like a real bavarian meal in a local place for a good price, then we recommend this.
and we really enjoyed the white franken wine!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gaststatte am Kurpark also viewed

 
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
Mittenwald, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Gaststatte am Kurpark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaststatte am Kurpark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.