We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Konigssee

Konigssee
83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$118*
and up
Salzburg Super Saver: Bavarian Mountains...
Type: Bodies of Water, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The emerald-green Königssee near Berchtesgaden is surrounded by steep walls of rock, with the 1800-metre east wall of the Watzmann towering above its west shore.
thomson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

My husband and I went to the Konigssee boat ride and it was awesome. The water was so clear and the sites was out of this world. I highly recommend this place for anybody. We would love to go back soon.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    133
    29
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“NIce lake to visit and hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

It is a nice lake to visit while in Berchtesgaden. There are lots of hiking trails. One takes you to a glacier. Visit the tourist information center at St. Bartholomae stop.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana Rose
Top Contributor
525 reviews 525 reviews
212 attraction reviews
Reviews in 137 cities Reviews in 137 cities
269 helpful votes 269 helpful votes
“Very Touristy, Need to take a boat or hike”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This was by far the most touristy, crowded place we visited on our trip - and it was on a Thursday in early May. There is a massively huge parking lot at the end of the road (filled with cars and tour buses) and then, lots of tacky souvenir shops as you walk toward the lake (thus only 4 stars).

The actual lake (the little bit you can actually see) is very beautiful and clear. The setting is gorgeous. To really see the rest you have to either take a boat or take a hike….so make sure you plan for a full day here. The whole area around here is beautiful, so you may prefer to find a smaller, more peaceful place/lake/stream nearby instead.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Breathtaking is right!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

From the silent, electric boat trip to the beautiful hiking this is a wonderful outing. I only wish we had an entire day to explore. After visiting the Eagle's Nest and looking down over the valley and Konigsee we were excited to take the trip on the clear and peaceful water of the Konigsee. Weather was perfect, but I agree with other reviewers and would return no matter the weather. Can't wait to return to Berchtesgarten for a longer stay…maybe an entire summer!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful lake to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Beautiful lake to visit, great hiking around the lake, which will open some great views for a hiker. Bring a jacket.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Konigssee also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Konigssee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Konigssee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.