We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very sad but historic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Obersalzberg

Obersalzberg
Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very sad but historic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

The Dokumentation Obersalzberg (Documentation Centre) was very interesting. The audio tour is a must (especially if you don't speak and read German) but it is very sad to see how the Nazi's negatively affected Germany, and the world. You will need several hours to see and hear it all.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    43
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Informative n Fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

The tour was fun.. wearing the salt miners coveralls to taking the trains through the tunnels, slides etc. The mirror lake was awesome, we could not understand that there was water in the lake, such was the clarity of the water, until we went near to board the boat. Some of the light effects were amazing.

The only con was that the tour guide did not seem too enthusiastic, spoke a lot less than the usual tour guides, he had some very few words to say like come this way, stand there etc.

But anyways, we enjoyed our trip in the salt mines, it is definitely a must do!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logatec, Slovenia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

With daughters I went to holidays in Spain and because I have a plain from Munchen we decided to go fist to see Kehlsteinhaus - faumus Hitler residence.
It was I nice trip, excellent view.. You have a big parking, than a bus drives you on the top of the mountain, than you go with lift to the residence. Unfortunately, we could not be able to see the inside of the residence. But it was a great view..

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passaic, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Transcendental views...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We went there for the historical reasons, but we were nicely surprised by the history's gone, replaced by the really transcendental views of the bavaria mountains, and a restaurant. Take a bus up the mountain, then through the corridor to the, used to be gold plated elevator, to the house on the edge of the mountain. Don't forget to go up the hill to the rocky edge. Sit down on the very end, look up and just relax. I felt human again. I wanna go back there again...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Gorgeous area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Our hotel, the Intercontinental, was situated here in Obersalzberg right next door to the busses that take you up to the Eagle's nest.

You can see why Hitler (as horrible as he was) chose this area for one of his summer homes. It is spectacular!

If you are in the Berchtesgaden area, you should take the easy drive here. There are some perfect areas to bike and hike as well.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Obersalzberg also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Obersalzberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Obersalzberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.