We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great setting near hiking, walking, and Eagles's Nest” 5 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Berchtesgaden Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added InterContinental Berchtesgaden Resort to your Saves list
InterContinental Berchtesgaden Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Hintereck 1, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great setting near hiking, walking, and Eagles's Nest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Very clean hotel with spacious rooms. Huge bathroom with large walk in shower and separate soaking tub. Heated floors were a bonus. Incredible views and excellent service throughout hotel. We had a room with a fireplace, but that took away from view as it was almost centered in room. Spa is very nice as is indoor outdoor pool. Definitely need a car if staying here. Internet and parking are extra. Others complained about price of brunch and while it was expensive it was very good.Overall this hotel is expensive and you can stay in area for a lot less if you're okay with giving up on luxury, but if you want to indulge then stay here. Pool, spa and gym all included and open late.

Room Tip: Fireplace limits window view in rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    433
    115
    28
    18
    8
See reviews for
119
320
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

This hotel has everything. The scenery could not be better, Alpine meadows and huge craggy peaks. The hotel can't take credit for the natural beauty, but they can for the stunning modern architecture, which combines understated, yet elegant, modernity and beautiful natural materials, which work so well in the setting. The rooms are large and comfortable, all with views. Among the many facilities on offer, my favourite was the heated, outdoor pool, where even on a chilly day you can lie out looking up at the Kehlstein in all it's sever majesty. I read a couple of reviews that were critical of the hotel staff. I have to say this was far from my experience. In fact we remarked on just how well trained, pleasant and efficient they are. We didn't eat in all the restaurants, but the main restaurant had excellent food and the snacks at the bar were also good. I most certainly will be back and I hope quite soon.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

This was my third visit to this hotel, and I will certainly return. It surely is on of the most amazing mountain resorts. The setting is stunning, and hotel does it full justice. Amazing place to spend holidays.
Although several years old, it still feels like recently build. Everything is really in perfect order. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. We were staying in the executive studio, which I would recommend, as they face mountains and provide amazing views. (deluxe rooms face inner courtyard). There are three types of studios, all basically the same, the difference being, that ones on the first floor have large balconies, while the ones on second and third floor have either fully panoramic windows, or panoramic windows with an extra fireplace located in front of the glass wall.
The hotel charges rooms on the third floor extra for supposedly better views, but generally there is no difference between second and third floors. Rooms on the third floor also come with a fireplace (although are officially called panoramic). I've stayed in all of these rooms, and it basically depends on your preference. In any case the views from the rooms are stunning, though rooms in the west wing come with slightly better views.`
This is a resort, which means that hotel provides enough amenities for guest not to have to leave the property. There is an amazing spa, together with both indoor and a smaller heated outdoor pool; fitness, several restaurants, golf course, mountain bikes for rent, segway tours, organized hiking tours, library, even helicopter tours directly from the hotel.
However, it is also perfectly located to explore the stunning Berchtesgaden/Salzburg region, which has so much to offer. And we used it as a great place to stay during Salzburg festival.
Due to it's secluded location high in the mountains, one does need a car to move around, anything else would be very impractical.
Although I highly recommend this place, there are several drawbacks: the breakfast room is definitely not large enough the handle the number of guest staying in the hotel, this becomes really problematic on summer weekends, when hotel is usually fully booked. The same applies to sun deck, on warm days it's really difficult to find a place around the pool. We also had a problem when checking out on Sunday having to wait for our car and luggage for almost half an hour.
Although "private dining" comes with very nice service, the food is not very exciting (tried it couple of times, and never really enjoyed it fully)
What also slightly spoiled my stay was that as Intercontinental Ambassador, I was "upgraded" only to find out, that this upgrade meant moving from second to third floor (this I found to be one of the best upgrade scams I've experienced so far). Apart from that, wifi was not working properly in our room, once reported, we were told that we will not have to pay for it. At the check out I was presented the bill with 60 EUR for internet (instead of 90) - I was told that I was charged for partial usage. This I found almost insulting.
However, I still recommend this place and will certainly return myself

Room Tip: Look for executive rooms on west side. Have better views, and better connection to both restaurants...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

great hotel,fast check in-check out, comfortable staty,very helpful concierge,the staff is amazing,the out door activity is more than amazing,the room is huge and comfortable,the restaurant is good,the mountain spa is really really great you must try it, the room service is fast,the housekeeper is also fast and they put a great touch such as chocolate when they clean , definitely will come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2011

We have been to this Hotel about 6 times, we even spent New Years Eve there once, but they just don't get it. It is a beautiful hotel in a great setting. But the service is really not up to the standard and the food gets worse. We went to the bar to have lunch there and waited for 20 minutes for a waiter to come. The fist day I found a dead fly in our shower. I thought that maybe it flew in after the room was prepared so I placed it in a corner to see what happens. And guess what? It was still there the next day. Also 25€ per day for WLAN is highly overpriced. So I think, this was the last time we went there. Next time it's back to Schloss Elmau.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at InterContinental Berchtesgaden Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2011
Dear Eddala2004,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused you. We strive to exceed our guests’ expectations and create memorable experiences. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.

Once again, we appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional details about your experience.

Sincerely,

CJ
Case Manager
IHG Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

This was our third stay. 5 star with a personality of a luxury lodge. The rooms more like a junior suite beautifulky decorated with private terrace looking into the valley. Caring and personal service with food and beverage to match. 8 times a year they stage a lobby concert which we enjoyed immensely. Drinks around the huge centre fire place can't be more romantic. Refreshing sleep with the pure mountain air and pure mineral water from their own well.
All of thie onay 2 hours from Munich and 25 minutes from Salzburg.

Room Tip: Stay when they stage the complimentary concerts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at the Intercontinental for 4 days in May for a business meeting and could not have been more pleased with the experience. The hotel has great style, and I felt like I was staying in a chic mountain lodge. The rooms and bathrooms were gorgeous. The setting was really incredible, and the staff helped indicate where I could go on trail runs in the morning, I had some spectacular views. The restaurant was consistently amazing, even when food was served buffet style. But what impressed me most of all is that for such a large hotel, they have been able to achieve the personalization of a boutique hotel - I felt that as a guest, I was very important and customer service penetrated down to every small interaction that I had with any member of the staff. This really made me feel special and I would return to the Intercontinental at any opportunity!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to InterContinental Berchtesgaden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Berchtesgaden Resort

Address: Hintereck 1, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#3 Luxury Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#4 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#4 Spa Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Berchtesgaden Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blending harmoniously into its natural environs, InterContinental Berchtesgaden Resort lies 1,000 metres (3,281 feet) above sea level on Eckerbichl. Views of the Alps stretch in every direction, with Mount Watzmann striking an impressive pose. Lake Königssee, the historic Dokumentation Obersalzberg and the city of Salzburg are a short drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your InterContinental Berchtesgaden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Berchtesgaden Hotel Berchtesgaden
Intercontinental Hotel Berchtesgaden
Intercontinental Berchtesgaden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Berchtesgaden Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.