We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming, warm and pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Il Calabrese Pizzeria

Ristorante Il Calabrese Pizzeria
Konigsseer Strasse 15, Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
49 8652/656995
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 64 Restaurants in Berchtesgaden
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Welcoming, warm and pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were recommended here by our hotel, whose own restaurant was closed. Warm and welcoming atmosphere (it was cold and dank outside), plenty of children in the restaurant playing cards happily, big wooden furniture in the front part which makes it feel very homely. Food was tasty, especially the tomato salad and there are two pages each of pasta and pizza choices, as well as specials on the wall (which included a lot of fish). Wine was very drinkable, we ordered a bottle of the house red, it was also very reasonable. House white wine was apparantly not as good as the red.

Atmosphere is pleasantly relaxed, service friendly, felt family run (I have no idea if it actually is). More than happy to recommend this one.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    11
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

In simple words: a quirky decor, a welcoming staff, a smile with the service, an attention to detail, a great chef, tasty food whatever you choose and a nice selection of wine...a true heart warming experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very good pizza in Germany!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very nice pizza restaurant. The waiter was very attentive and pleasant. Had the Proscuitto Pizza which was awesome. Nice atmosphere in the restaurant, front dining room is a traditional Italian decor, while the back is kind of a German beer hall decor. Quite a few locals dine here, plus the phone was ringing off the hook for deliveries. I will be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“nice pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

The restaurant is just over the road from the information centre. I stopped in there with 2 friends after a tour of the Eagles Nest. It looks like a one man band operation but it may just ahve been early. There are a few seats outside which given the weather we should have gone for, it was very hot and humid inside with no air conditioning which led to us leaving earlier than maybe we would have if it was a little more comfortable. The service was friendly and the pizza very tasty, and my 2 companions reported their meals were every bit as good. If you are a pizza freak like me then you wont be disappointed. The beer was reasonably priced and cold. If it's hot sit outside if you can.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Il Calabrese Pizzeria also viewed

Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
Berchtesgaden, Upper Bavaria
 

Been to Ristorante Il Calabrese Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Il Calabrese Pizzeria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.