We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise in the mountains” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof to your Saves list
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Richard-Voss-Strasse 30, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 31 Hotels in Berchtesgaden
Suffolk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Paradise in the mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Visited in July with our 13 year old son and 80 something parents. This is a hotel that works for all generations The pool area is large and spotless and it was easy to find an opportunity to have the pool to yourself .
We took full advantage of the activities including table tennis - table football - pool and tennis.
The food was great and more varied than expected including Asian influenced dishes. My son has never eaten so many vegetables / fruit / salad.
The staff were without fail helpful and cheerful. The owner was often around and obviously took great pride in maintaining high standards.
The area surrounding the hotel was beautiful and there were many places of interest to visit.
We would not hesitate to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    36
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
94
160
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

This place is pretty hard to fault. It is located out of the town but there is a bus service and taxis. We did not have a car but easily saw the main attractions such as Jenner, Königssee, the salt mines, Obersatlzberg etc.

The room was ideal for our family of four with more than enough space for everyone.

The kids loved the pool and playing in the meadow.

The food was almost too good. It was hard to stop going back for more.

The best part was probably the staff who all seemed to have pride in their hotel and went out of their way to help guest always with a smile.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Booked The Alpenhof on the basis of the excellent reviews on Tripadvisor, didn't believe it could really be that good. But it is!!!! Everything everyone says is true, plus there are so many lovely touches, like the basket to take your stuff down to the pool, the newsletter on your table every morning (even if my German didn't stretch to a full translation!!!) to the fact that everything from hiring tennis racquets to the pin ball machine in the games room is included in the price of your stay. Travelled with husband and 2 kids and we all loved it. Setting is glorious. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Just returned from a week long stay at the Alpenhof and we cannot recommend it enough. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel that our business was appreciated. Our suite was perfect for a family of 5- two bedrooms and two bathrooms. We opted for the half board option and found it perfect - always something to suit everyone and good value . The afternoon cake buffet was a real treat! The pools were lovely and warm - even the outdoor one. The location is ideal for sightseeing and hiking .The outdoor and indoor play areas provided great entertainment for the children in the evening after Dinner. There was also a very pleasant walk around the grounds. We found the staff to be outstanding - every one of them were prepared to do all they could to make our stay enjoyable. We particularly appreciated being able to check out late and use the pool until we had to leave for our evening flight on our final day. We look forward to returning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Lovely small quaint boutique hotel. Easy to find the property. Check in was easy, very efficient and we were given maps and brochures in English explaining all of the local highlights that we might want to see. Our bags were taken to our room as there is no elevator. Our room was lovely, large, clean, beautifully appointed, nice balcony over looking the pool and mountain. I asked for a lighter duvet and it was changed immediately. Dinner was fantastic the first night but the second night there was a buffet and the food quality was not as good but acceptable. Very good service. Breakfast was lovely. The internet was good high speed and included in room price. The fitness center has all the equipment needed for my workout and it has large windows to open for fresh air. Our room was located above the pool area and during the day it is a little noisy with kids playing in the pool. This property is ocated close to the main attractions but outside of the city in a very quiet country setting. Slept very well; comfortable bed fresh air and it is very quiet at night. Would definitely return again this property is good value..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rouen, France
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at the Alpenhof again (I think it was the sixth time). This time we stayed for 2 weeks. As always the service and food were first class. Every year that we go back there are incremental improvements in the facilities provided. We have little to add to our previous reviews. Service levels, quality of food and facilities remain as high as ever. The fitness and massage facilities are excellent.

We have already booked for another 2 weeks for next year. The Alpenhof provides everything we need, superb scenery, excellent food, great facilities and a friendly, family atmosphere.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the garden and meadow with a view of Mount Watzmann. The second floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We fully enjoyed they stay. The hotel is located in quiet location out of the city/village itself on a meadow, which makes it absolutely tranquil and peaceful. Car is needed as the nearby bus runs just 3 times a day, but having it you easily reach all the attractions and parking places for hiking. As the hotel has its indoor and outdoor swimming pool and wellness, there is in good weather really a lot to do - stay at the pool, hiking, mounting bikes (perfectly prepared and free - just mention that you need to go steep uphill back to hotel). Hotel itself is made by few connected houses, a bit a mixture the architecture, but still nice.
We had comfort room Edelweiss, which is highly recommendable - sunny, above the pool, overlooking meadow and Watzmann view (nearly all the rooms seem to face that direction). All what we expect from such type of hotel and room was there (even the big safe where laptop could be stored). Free wifi was available in rooms.
Food was all excellent - starting from plentiful breakfast, ending with dinner (choose half-board as it is worth it).
It would deserve more description, but I put it short: All service in hotel and restaurant was excellent - and always smiling and helpful.

The only minus during out stay was ongoing smelly fertilizing in neighborhood (which I understand is independent on the hotel and one must count with in countryside).

Overall very recommendable hotel and stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof

Address: Richard-Voss-Strasse 30, 83471 Berchtesgaden, Bavaria, Germany
Phone Number:
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Berchtesgaden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Romantic Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Family Hotel in Berchtesgaden
#1 Luxury Hotel in Berchtesgaden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are already existing many extravagant 4-star hotels. And all of them outdo each other in architecture and facilities. The Alpine hotel Alpenhof falls out of the ordinary with its exeptional offers and its special familiar ambiance. The special way to relax and enjoy makes the Alpenhof to an outstanding place of rest and peace. We call LUXURY our unique location and the dreamlike tranquility. We wish you a lot of fun while exploring our on-line offer and do not hesitate to ask us any open questions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alm- And Wellnesshotel Alpenhof
Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden
Alpenhof Hotel Berchtesgaden

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alm- & Wellnesshotel Alpenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.