We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab-u-lous! There are not many places I would return to, but this is one of them.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Gablerhof

Save Saved
You added Hotel Gablerhof to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Gablerhof
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nonn 55, 83435 Bad Reichenhall, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Bad Reichenhall
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fab-u-lous! There are not many places I would return to, but this is one of them.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

The location, hotel service, accommodation and food were wonderful. The location is stunning - so quiet and tranquil, yet within easy walking distance to the lovely town of Bad Reichenhall. Heidi our host made us very welcome. The rooms were well equipped, a great size, brilliant view from the balcony (overlooking the lake and mountains), comfy beds, exceptionally clean, brilliant night's sleep. The buffet style breakfast was very good - lots of choice. The evening meals were of a very high standard - comparable, if not better, than top restaurants / hotels. A real find and it more than deserves it's excellent Trip Advisor rating.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    6
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
20
37
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights in early June, and while we were not able to enjoy the wonderful scenery until the last day due to rain, we did enjoy the wonderful hospitality of Heidi and Georg Eichner. It is a small, family-run Gasthaus which is very clean, comfortable and welcoming. This was our favorite hotel of our trip.

Our room, overlooking the lake, was spacious with a comfortable bed and sufficient storage including a room safe, a sitting area with flat screen TV, mini bar and a large bathroom with double sinks and heated floor tiles. They have free internet service available in the hotel lobby and free onsite parking.

The daily breakfast buffet was fantastic with a good range of hot and cold food available. Dinner is served every night except Tuesday from 6:00 – 7:30 p.m. and is cooked by Georg. We enjoyed dinner there on two nights. George is a very good chef and Heidi was the perfect hostess. She has excellent English and made every guest feel welcomed and special, nothing was ever too much. The service was superb! All meals are served in the dining room with lovely views from the windows on one side.

We also enjoyed a lovely meal at the Schwabenbrau in Bad Reichenhall. (Good German food, great beer, good service and reasonably priced.)

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I found this pension on the internet and called to inquire about rtes, etc. The co-owner spoke fluent English, was very friendly, helpful, down-to-earth and accomodating. The area and the views are breath-taking. The breakfast and dinners were quite delicious. It's amazing how much variety there is for breakfast which is included in the rate. I couldn't believe how reasonable the daily rate is, especially given how nice the rooms were, how delicious the food was and how nice the restaurant was. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking to explore this area, do outdoor activities, have a romantic weekend or even as a business traveler (I brought my netbook and had no problem with internet access from hotel room). I came via train and brought my mountain bike. This pension is a peaceful change from the more bustling atmosphere of Berchtesgaten which can feel a bit too touristy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2009

This was the last hotel of 6 we stayed in on a driving tour of Germany and it was by far the best in every possible way. The room (with its own balcony) was enormous and well equipped with separate seating area and spacious bathroom with twin sinks and shower. There was plenty of storage and a room safe and minibar which the owners would fill for you on request. You can even go fishing in their own lake!
What made this hotel so outstanding was the welcome from the owners, Mr and Mrs Eichner. Mrs Eichner's perfect English and her friendliness to every guest (making everyone feel welcome as she chatted at breakfast) is one of the top selling points of this hotel and sets it apart from most others we have stayed in. You may get the same standard of facilities and cleanliness elsewhere, but that extra personal touch and warm welcome is harder to find.
The breakfast buffet was fantastic with a good range of hot and cold food available. We had dinner one evening cooked by Mr Eichner and the same standard of excellence showed itself in the preparation and service.
Free internet access and free parking on site together with spectacular views of nearby mountains from the hotel complete what was the perfect stay.
I would not only recommend this hotel to anyone, but I can't wait to stay there again.
PS: if you want to visit Salzburg, forget expensive Austrian city hotels. Stay here, just 10 miles down the road in Bad Reichenhall over the border in Germany. It only takes 30-40 minutes to drive to the city centre.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

My husband and I visited the Gablerhof during the summer of 2008. The accommodations were absolutely lovely. I don't think I've ever been to a place that was as peaceful as the Gablerhof. The room was within a few steps of a beautiful lake with the mountains as the backdrop. It was truly breathtaking. Our hosts, Heidi and George, made sure that we had everything that we needed. Since we didn't speak German, Heidi would translate the dinner menu for us every night. We had reserved our room at the Gablerhof for three nights out of our ten nights in Germany/Austria. It was by far, the most peaceful, warm and friendly place that we stayed. If you stay at the Gablerhof, you will not be disappointed. I am really looking forward to visiting them again soon.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in this charming hotel for 3 days and 4 nights. We chose this hotel based on the wonderful reviews we read on Trip Advisor and the location of the hotel. The hotel was everything we wanted and more!

During our stay at Hotel Gablerhof, we visited the Eagle's Nest, Lake Koenigsee, the Berchtesgaden Salt Mines, King Ludwig's Herrenchiemsee New Palace. We also spent a day in beautiful Salzburg and visited many sites including the Salzburg Cathedral (Dom), the Salzburg Fortress (Festung Hohensalzburg) and the fun and surprising Hellbrunn Castle (Schloss Hellbrun). There is so much to see and do in this part of the region and all of it is only a very short drive away from the hotel. We did so much, yet we barely scratched the surface of fun things to do in the area.

Included in the price of the room was a complete German breakfast, including fresh Brötchen and jams, various types of meat and cheese, fruit, cereal, eggs, juices, etc. Make sure to eat dinner at the hotel if possible. They have some of the best food around and the prices are outstanding! Try the Schweine Schnitzel or the Linzensuppe. The dining hall is surrounded by huge windows and offers a fantastic view of the meadows and surrounding Alps.

Our room was large and clean and both the bed and the relaxing sofa and chair in the sitting area of our room were very comfortable. Our room had a terrace with a beautiful view of the pond which we enjoyed early in the morning. They have free internet service available in the hotel lobby and we used it each day to update our family on our trip.

The service was superb! George is a fantastic chef and Heidi was the perfect hostess. She does it all and always has a smile on her face and a bounce in her step. She makes each guest feel as though they are the most special guest she has at the hotel.

Will we be back to Hotel Gablerhof? You Betcha!!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2009

This hotel is like a bed and breakfast which is included. Run by wife and husband. A little hard to find, but worth the hunt. Beautiful setting. Very clean and casual. Very good food and pleasant service. We would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a restful, clean place with a beautiful setting. Owners speak German and English if that is a consideration. Carol and Joe

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Gablerhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gablerhof

Address: Nonn 55, 83435 Bad Reichenhall, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Upper Bavaria > Bad Reichenhall
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
#1 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Bad Reichenhall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gablerhof 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family hotel near Bad Reichenhall and Salzburg. Large and modern rooms with view over our lake and the mountains. Walking distanze to bus and train 1/2 hour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Gablerhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gablerhof Hotel Bad Reichenhall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Gablerhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.