We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect German Gasthof” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gasthof Goldener Loewe

Gasthof Goldener Loewe
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Gasthof Goldener Loewe to your Saves list
Gasthof Goldener Loewe
Kulmbacher Strasse 30, 95445 Bayreuth, Bavaria, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Bayreuth
Cold Bay, Alaska
Top Contributor
302 reviews 302 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 148 cities Reviews in 148 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Perfect German Gasthof”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Many, many great things about this place. The restaurant had great Bavarian food at very reasonable prices. The location is a five minute walk to the center of Bayreuth. There is free parking! Breakfast was good and ample. The hotel is located on a busy street, but I did not notice any traffic noise. Our room was big with a double bed and a sofa and a modern bathroom, for 89 euros. You might think the price is a steep but remember that Bayreuth is a hoity-toity town dedicated to Wagner enthusiasts. The staff were friendly.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    21
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
15
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2009

Nice comfortable old style family hotel in the city center, but quiet and has free parking.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed at the Goldener Loewe for 4 nights while attending 2 dress rehearsals for the Wagner Festival. We were very pleased with our choice - booking (via e-mail) was easy and efficient, the price was very reasonable, the hotel was very quiet, our room was very nicely furnished in a modern style (lots of pine, wooden floor) and the food and beer were very good ! Has parking & is conveniently placed just off the ring road so 5 minutes' walk to one end of the pedestrianised main street through the old town. Probably about a 40 minute walk to the Festspielhaus but we never actually walked all the way - the first night we got the bus there intending to walk back but it was raining so we picked up a taxi partway back, the second night we took the car. We noticed a hotel minibus so I daresay they probably offer a shuttle service when the festival proper starts.

Only possible slight drawback - no airconditioning, but we knew beforehand that most hotels in Bayreuth don't have it (I believe only one does and we didn't like the look of that one); but I seem to remember that fans were supposed to be available upon request - we didn't find the room so warm that we needed to ask.

We hope to visit Bayreuth again one day and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2009

We loved our stay at the Brauereigasthof Goldener Löwe! The parking was a real plus for Bayreuth! It was jus a 10 minute wal to the heart of the downtown. The room was so cute with pine furniture. The breakfast was the best we had in 15 days in Germany. They own a restaurant downstairs and so you can imagine how good the breakfast was! The crosisants and lvoely bread rolls were hot! The many kinds of homemeade jam were delicious. We loved the yougurt and the cheeses and cold cuts.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2005

We stayed here for two nights in September 2004. When we arrrived in the early afternoon the hotel was closed, with a sign on the door giving us a number to call, and informing us that the hotel would open at 5pm. I wondered where we had landed. However, we wandered around for an hour or so, and returned to find the hotel open. We were given a warm welcome and shown to our room. The room was furnished in Bavarian style, very clean and tidy - as was the whole hotel. We ate a wonderful Bavarian meal in their restaurant that evening and sampled the good beer. Breakfast was varied and ample. The hotel lies just across the ringroad that used to be the old town wall. So getting into the old town is a matter of five minutes. It is far enough from the road to be away from traffic noise. We slept well.
If you are looking for a small, cosy and friendly hotel as a base for exploring Bayreuth and environs, then the Goldener Löwe is just right.

When we left, we were presented with a small jar of home-made jam. A nice touch.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gasthof Goldener Loewe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gasthof Goldener Loewe

Address: Kulmbacher Strasse 30, 95445 Bayreuth, Bavaria, Germany
Location: Germany > Bavaria > Franconia > Upper Franconia > Bayreuth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Bayreuth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 268
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Gasthof Goldener Loewe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gasthof Goldener Loewe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.