We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Thai!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sai Thai

Sai Thai
Johann-Sebastian-Bach-Platz 4, 91522 Ansbach, Bavaria, Germany
0981/9778295
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 70 Restaurants in Ansbach
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Davenport, Iowa
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Authentic Thai!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Sai Thai is authentic Thai food (I lived in Bangkok for a few years), reasonably priced, good value. The owners, a German husband and Thai wife, are very friendly and helpful. You can order in German, English or Thai with no problems. Ingredients are fresh, curries fresh, and all the Thai staples are served, including a good sam tam (green papaya) salad and laab (meat salad), dishes that other local places don't usually have. They will make dishes as bland or as SPICY as you want! Although the restaurant looks small when you walk in, there is nicer seating upstairs, too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fast and Fantastic, finally Thai I like in this town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have lived here for about 3 years. I have tried many Thai places in town and none has reminded me of the excellent ones I've had in the states or in Asia. This is as close as it gets in Ansbach for sure. And FINALLY, Pad Thai is on the menu! We did takeout and it was FAST! Highly recommend. You can even request the spice level on some of the dishes. I will be going there at least a few times a month for sure. I would not want them to leave!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Thai food ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I read other reviews that this Thai place was a must try - and how right they were! I had the chicken pad thai and I am still dreaming about it!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansbach, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Ansbach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I never liked Thai food until I ate here. The ingredients are very fresh and the food is excellent! It is run by a husband/wife and they are friendly and helpful. It is a smaller place so if going on a peak night, either get there early or make a reservation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Crikey its good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I have never had Thai food as good as this back home. If you are lucky enough to visit Ansbach do yourself a favour and go to this place. The food is the best I have ever had and great value. Having since returned home to Australia I will not be able to visit our regular Thai restaurants as I now know what real Thai food should taste like. Cannot wait to return.,

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sai Thai also viewed

Ansbach, Middle Franconia
Ansbach, Middle Franconia
 
Ansbach, Middle Franconia
Ansbach, Middle Franconia
 

Been to Sai Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sai Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.