We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average Room, Spectacular Breakfast” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Maritim Hotel Ulm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Maritim Hotel Ulm to your Saves list
Maritim Hotel Ulm
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Basteistrasse 40, 89073 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ulm
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Below Average Room, Spectacular Breakfast”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed one night in this hotel while travelling in Germany on business. Rooms were just average for a high rise hotel. Carpet very worn. Swiping your room key "buzzes" you into your room - so I always knew when my neighbors got to their rooms - that was a bit annoying. Pillows were, well, I've had magazines that would have provided more loft and support under my head. I had to get the extra blanket from the closet and roll it up in order to have support under my head. View of the Danube was spectacular. Breakfast (not included in my room) was EXCELLENT, however, and made up for my disappointment in the room. Plenty of items from which to choose and all of my choices were excellent. If you stay here, don't expect the room to be spectacular, and you'll be fine - and have breakfast in the restaurant for sure!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    85
    64
    13
    1
See reviews for
14
35
19
116
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This time I was privately for one night in Ulm and decided to stay for 130 Euros in the Maritim. It is the biggest Hotel in Ulm, next to the Congress-Center. And if you are "lucky" you find yourselb in the middle of a congress... like me some days ago. Hundreds of "tupperware" - ladies from Bavaria had their annual meeting. The Hotel was allmost 100% booked - but now it comes: The Hotel was really able to manage! Even the totally crowded breakfast-restaurant was managed, nothing was missed (well: tranquillity...). THe rooms are in perfect condition - and having a view-room an the Ulmer Münster is a great thing. So: Yes, it is worth to got to the Maritim... and do not miss the Bar... ;-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I'll make this short and to the point. If you stay here, may it be your very last resort! I ended up staying here for one night with a friend because everything else in the city was fully booked. When we got there the staff tried charging us more than their price online and the price they gave over the phone not 30 minutes earlier. I was appalled. The staff did their "duty" and nothing more, not friendly or helpful. Now for the room, for the EUR140 plus we had to shell out you would think the pillows would be more than a mere fistful of fluff, the internet might be free, some in-room coffee and tea complementary, maybe a breakfast, sheets that fit the bed, and a flexible checkout... but no. This was April 10th, 2013. The tourist season was barely started. The really sad thing is that the room didn't fit the price. I've stayed in really nice hotels that cost less and I've stayed in cheap places that offered more, way more! If you want a nice place to stay, this is not worth your money. The only thing really nice was the view outside the window of the Minster. The next night I spent at The Brickstone Hostel which was totally polar opposite. I'm not staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herzlia, Israel
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was copious with huge variety of foods. Service was courteous. I stayed as part of a convention group and cannot assess the hotel on an individual basis. There were some quirks -- WIFI was not free and the shampoo and soap samples were not replaced daily. I understood that the cost per room was high by local standards, possibly overpriced.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better view over the Danube.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Dated hotel, dated rooms with flowery curtains and dated bathroom, old TV, only 2 channels in english. No wifi available for the room. The hotel needs a revemp overall. On the plus side, the breakfast is very nice and the restaurant overlook the river which is very pretty. There is a pool, sauna and steam room, very clean but a bit dated like the rest. Overall very clean and close to the center.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This is my third visit Maritim hotel
The hotel is located very near the river and has a nice sidewalk to the center of the city so no taxi needed.
Very nice room and big bedroom ,clean and fancy bathroom.
The dinner room is very very nice and tisty.
Good bar in the lobby.
The only thing i can thunk that is not good is that thy dont offer free internet or internet at all, you need to connect by your self to Telkom

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Stayed here for a few days, using as a base for legoland and the bavarian castles. Suite we had was as big as i have ever seen, two very large bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, wrap around balcony, really amazing. it also was the type of place you would be comfortable with in for alonger period Food in restaurant on top floor very good, little stuffy. Very good breakfast room with great food on ground floor. Nice and kid friendly pool/spa area, which was nice.
just off the beaten track in Ulm, which means a 10 min walk to the centre, great location close to river and conference hall. btw Ulm itself is a lovely town, very reasonable to eat in, some very good sights (Grossmunster)
well worth a visit

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maritim Hotel Ulm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritim Hotel Ulm

Address: Basteistrasse 40, 89073 Ulm, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Ulm
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Ulm
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maritim Hotel Ulm 4*
Number of rooms: 287
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maritim Hotel Ulm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ulm Maritim Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maritim Hotel Ulm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.