We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class food right next to the airport” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant Trollinger im Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport

Restaurant Trollinger im Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport
Flughafenstr. 50, 70629 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
0711-553449028
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 980 restaurants in Stuttgart
Price range: $22 - $44
Cuisines: German, Swiss, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Trollinger is in the Mövenpick Hotel at Stuttgart?s busy airport. The restaurant has a charming interior décor. There is a successful contrast between modern interior design and traditional chandeliers, creating a stylish oasis of calm. This is a place where you can dine splendidly - and socialise. As you would expect from a Mövenpick Hotel, the cuisine is ambitious offering a mixture of traditional Swiss dishes and local Swabian specialities. Typical dishes such as Maultaschen (a type of ravioli with a meat and spinach filling) or Flädlesuppe (clear soup with pancake strips) are also on the menu. The service is friendly and efficient and offers expert advice when it comes to choosing from the fabulous wine list.
Galway, Ireland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“First class food right next to the airport”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I stayed here due to its proximity to the airport as I had an early flight next morning. I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality dining experience and friendliness of all the staff who all had excellent multilingual skills. Not just basic English but advanced understanding of the Celtic nuances! The steak tartar was excellent and the large portions are exactly that! I would dine here again without hesitation.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moevenpickhotel1, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Restaurant Trollinger im Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your feedback about your experience in our restaurant as well!

Our dishes are mainly prepared with regional and seasonal products and we are very happy that we could surprise you with the quality of our food.

The restaurant team is very pleased about your rewarding comment and is looking forward to welcoming you soon again in the restaurant Trollinger.

Go raimh maith agat

Kind regards

Christine Müller
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    42
    22
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Gorgeous 32€ Buffet and eat as you can”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

During fairs at the Messe is compulsory to book your dining table otherwise you will be obliged to eat at the airport! If you prefer to choose from the menu you can start from a buffet antipasti small at 9.8€ or regular at 12.5 and then choose the temperature of cooking of your meat. The beef tartare is super fresh and you can order it mild, normal or spicy with cognac, whisky or worchester. Every dish is prepared in two versions: small or normal with logical prices. Vegetarian/low calories dish 400cal, wines by the glass from 10cl, 20cl, 50cl and a candle and a fresh flower waiting for you. Waiters are very quick and smiling and the best tables are by the window.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moevenpickhotel1, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Restaurant Trollinger im Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Alex,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to give us your feedback about your experience in our restaurant as well!

The restaurant and kitchen team have been delighted to read that you enjoyed the food selection and its quality as well as the service provided by our team!
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at the restaurant “Trollinger”.

In the meanwhile, the whole Mövenpick team wish you all the best!

Best regards

Christine Müller
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A great place to grab a bite before your flight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Situated just across the road from Stuttgart Airport the food and service is good if you have a few extra minutes before your flight leaves. The formal restaurant has both a buffet and al a carte and the bar has a sort order menu thats worth a look.

Friendly staff and speedy service make it worth considering rather than to grab a roll airside and be disappointed. This has become a regular watering hole and is worth making time to eat here.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moevenpickhotel1, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Restaurant Trollinger im Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Likesmifood,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us a review about your recent stay with us.

We are glad to read that we could met your expectations and that you had such a good time before your flight.
Thank you as well for your nice feedback regarding our staff. I already passed your nice words to the restaurant team.

The Mövenpick Team is looking forward to welcome you very soon again.

Best regards

Christine Müller
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

When I stayed at the Movenpick for business, we chose the easy option of eating at the hotel's own restaurant as it saves time you need to prepare for meetings and presentations.

I was very impressed with the service, the layout of the restaurant, and the quality of food.

Even though it was over a year ago, I still remember very fondly how pleasant the main course was.

I fancied fish, so I chose to eat seabass. It was cooked perfectly, and presented on a lovely layer of spinach, and surrounded by boiled new potatoes - also perfectly cooked. The combination of the vegetables with the fish was delicious, and i remember leaving the restaurant very content and satisfied.

The prices were not too much of an issue because I was on expenses - and even though i thought at first that they were not cheap, they were fully justified with the excellent service from the friendly yet professional waiters, and the way the food was both presented and tasted.

Try any of the desserts too, I remember between us we almost ordered all of them, and not a single one was disappointing. They were well presented too but not "small" as most posh places like to present desserts.

I strongly recommend all guests to try it, although you might need to book, as I am certain that the restaurant's reputation has been spread enough to make it popular for those who are not staying at the hotel!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moevenpickhotel1, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Restaurant Trollinger im Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Francesco G,

thank you very much for give as as well a review about your stay at our Restaurant Trollinger!

We´re happy that you liked the atmosphere and design of our Restaurant and we are very delighted that you were so satisfied with our food selection.
Also I thank you for the positive feedback for our waiters.
Such a positive comment means a lot to us and we really appreciate it.
Please be sure that I will share it with our entire team!

We´re looking forward to welcome you soon back in Stuttgart!

Best regards

Christine Müller
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Makes it unnecessary to eat elsewhere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I like to think that I appreciate good food and drinks. In our party were several people who are quite choosy but we all agreed that this was an excellent place for meals. Service is fantastic.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moevenpickhotel1, Manager at Restaurant Trollinger im Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Peterbilt_Wanderer,

Thank you so much for your positive review .
Your feedback is very rewarding and has been very much appreciated by our team.

We are glad that you and your entourage had a good time with us and that you enjoyed the quality of the food as well as of the service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you soon again in Stuttgart!

Kind Regards
Tiaré de Vries
Online reputation manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Trollinger im Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport also viewed

Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg
 

Been to Restaurant Trollinger im Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant Trollinger im Movenpick Hotel Stuttgart Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.