We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, but isolated?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel One Stuttgart

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Motel One Stuttgart to your Saves list
Motel One Stuttgart
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   Heilbronner Strasse 325, 70469 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 153 Hotels in Stuttgart
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, but isolated?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

I led a group tour of Central German Auto Attractions, and of course Stuttgart is one of the central cities to visit. While I have been to Germany several times previously, the previous locations I stayed at either could not accommodate our group or weren't terribly convenient location-wise for this particular itinerary. Based upon favorable reviews I selected the City Center Motel One location.

The hotel is just fine in and of itself - good breakfast included in the stay, clean rooms and helpful staff. The one thing we all found as difficult was that there are no restaurant choices nearby to speak of. And no restaurant within the hotel either. You can get very simple (but very limited) bar food offerings, and there were several options for having food delivered (pizza, burgers, etc.). Granted there's an extremely convenient train stop immediately at the hotel which we availed to get to the Volksfest. If you expect to dine nearby however you will be hard pressed to find even fast-food.

I would return to this hotel, however I would be sure to have a very solid dining plan made and not rely upon the environs surrounding the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    123
    22
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
61
35
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
aarschot
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Ideal medium-priced hotel to discover Stuttgart.
Large comfortable lobby inviting to lounge & dito terrace.
Very nicely furnished rooms with a good design.
Great breakfast buffet.
Park outside or under the building and forget your car.
The tramway in front of the hotel takes you every 10 minutes or so to the city centre.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are probably more quiet. At the front: a lot of traffic (great car races) and tram...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed for two nights. The rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, the breakfast is good. U-Bahn (underground) stop 20m away which is great. The problem is dinner; no restaurants close by. We ate in a turkish restaurant catering for the local community; its a few blocks away. Basic but good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

hotel has modern and clean public areas but nothing fancy of course , U bahn stop infront of the hotel takes you to hauptbahnhof in 10-12 mins where you can exit to konigsstrasse and schlossplatz , there's a mcdonald's 5 mins walk to the left of the hotel , and some good supermarkets and dining options 15 mins walk away at stuttgarter strasse , didnt try neither breakfast nor the bar so cant tell ya much about those .
the room was very clean , comfy bed , a plasma screen TV ,no telephone , no mini fridge, clean and modern bathroom , but limited storage areas and NO closets , so i think 2 ppl with more than 2 pieces of luggage might struggle to find space in this room , but it was OK for me as a solo traveller , also the staff were exremely friendly and spoke very good english , i can recommend this hotel if you're not having high expectations , but i think the other motel one hbf is newer and at a better location but it was more expensive and already fully booked at my check in time .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
108 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

The hotel is beside a main road and in the north of Stuttgart city. It's about 10 minutes drive from the city center. There's a free parking lot behind the hotel but we're too late to find an available place. Another parking option is the underground parking lot which costs 6 EUR per day.

The room is standard for a budget hotel, small but enough. The blue color of the room is delightful. Unfortunately, we had a fly in our room and failed to get it away which bothered me the whole night. Our room is facing the main road and there are noise from tram and trucks.

The hotel staff is nice and friendly. Didn't try the buffet breakfast but it looks nice.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, avoid the rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Staff is friendly, rooms are small but smart. Everything you need is there. Atmosphere is relaxed. Wifi is very good. Public transport in front of the hotel takes you into the city cenre in a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

What you see on the website is exactly what you're going to get. Our room was compact, but very functional. Nice bedding. Thin but firm and surprisingly comfortable mattress. Funky aquarium comes on the TV when you pop your hotel key in to the light switch. The bathroom is tiny, but very modern. Quiet, too. We parked for free in the gravel lot behind the hotel (designated parking for this hotel). We opted for breakfast, since there aren't many breakfast options close by. It's better than your average North American, continental breakfast...that's for sure. Lots of ready to eat options and a make-your-own coffee machine. The entire first floor is a lounge with funky furniture and light fixtures...a really nice place to hang out. The price was right...and it's right on the LRT line so you can get to downtown Stuttgart easily. The hotel staff were patient with our (very) limited German and were able to give us directions in English. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel One Stuttgart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel One Stuttgart

Address: Heilbronner Strasse 325, 70469 Stuttgart, Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Location: Germany > Baden-Wurttemberg > Stuttgart
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Stuttgart
#12 Business Hotel in Stuttgart
#19 Romantic Hotel in Stuttgart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel One Stuttgart 2.5*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Motel One Stuttgart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel One Stuttgart

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel One Stuttgart, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.